Latest News

Despite the Umbrella for Democratic Change’s (UDC) attempts to s...
The Parliamentary Committee on Finance and Estimates has rejected a cl...
Following a court ruling that dented Kgosi Kgafela Kgafela II and his ...
A savingram from the Director of Public Service Management Goitseone M...

P1 Million Prize Money For Diacore Marathon

The organisers of the annual Diacore Gaborone marathon have raised the bar and set the first prize money at P1 million. This is the highest prize money to have ever been won in local marathons.

Last year the prize money was P25, 000 each for both men and women. The race spokesperson, Thabo Makgato said they have set time that the athletes have to beat in order to win the P1 million.

“The time that has been set is 2:08:00. It applies to both men and women. Anyone who beats that time wins the P1 million,” he said.

Makgato said they have set the standard that is similar to other international marathons.

He said they have one of the fastest routes in the region and breaking the set record is possible.

The race will be held in May 13, 2018.

“In terms of registration, we surpassed the 6, 000 mark. We expect the number to increase as more registrations are still coming through,” Makgato said.

The Gaborone marathon was established in 2010 and in 2012 it

changed its name to Diacore Gaborone marathon.

The marathon was adopted by Diacore as the title sponsor. It has grown from 2,000 to well over 6,000 participants.

He said local runners are expected to give visiting runners tough competition.

“The team has been doing well and we expect them to be on their top game come May 13,” he said. Last year the local runners dominated the 10km and 21km races.

Having only managed to clinch one podium finish in 2016, last year was a different story for the local runners.

In the women’s 10kms, Marea Maano and Gaone Bathoen took gold and bronze respectively.

Onneile Dintwe claimed the 21.1km race followed by Mema Tiango. Sylvester Koko took silver in the men’s 10km race.

Rapula Diphoko won bronze in the 21.1km. Mantshapelo Badumetse took home the bronze in the 42.2km.




Flogging a dead horse

Latest Frontpages

Todays Paper Todays Paper Todays Paper Todays Paper Todays Paper Todays Paper