MPs Assets Bill gazetted

Staff Writer
The long awaited Law forcing MPs, the President and Ministers to declare their assets and liabilities is finally here, after a draft bill was gazetted on October 22 by Minister for Presidential Affairs and Public Administration, Lesego Motsumi, exactly 14 years after parliament first agreed such a law should be enacted.

However punitive actions for MPs who fail to declare their assets or under-report them is only P10,000, or suspension from sitting session of parliament for 30 days, and nothing more.

The ruling Botswana Democratic Party (BDP) refused to be pressured by minority parties in parliament when the Botswana Congress Party leader, Dumelang Saleshando requested to be allowed to draft the law and present it to parliament.

BDP, using its numerical strength stated through vice-president Mompati Merafhe that the law will be drafted and presented at the pleasure of the BDP through the Minister of Presidential affairs and Public Administration, Lesego Motsumi.

In a debate about this law then BDP MP Botsalo Ntuane especially condemned the conduct of then Minister of Defense and Security, Ramadeluka Seretse after the company owned by his wife and close relatives, received tenders from his ministry.

Seretse maintained that while he formed the company he had long resigned from it and had even declared his interests to the President.

He is now facing criminal charges in court and has since resigned from his Ministerial post after learning that a criminal case had been opened against him. The case is ongoing.

The new Bill will be known as the Declaration of Assets and Liabilities of MPs Bill, 2010 and provides that every MP shall make a written declaration of all their assets and liabilities and those of their spouses and dependent children.

The written declaration is to be lodged with the Clerk of the National Assembly who shall be the registrar of Members' interests. On receipt of the written declaration, the Registrar is required to enter it into a register to be established as the register of members' Interests.

The Bill says the declaration of Assets and liabilities shall be made within 90 days of coming into force of the Act and thereafter within 90 days of being sworn in as an MP.

Failure to declare or deliberately making a false declaration would constitute contempt of Parliament.

The Bill also provides for the appointment by the Committee of Selection of parliament

of the committee of Members' Interests. The Registrar of Members' Interests (Clerk of National Assembly), will act as Secretary to the Committee, which will also be responsible for ensuring that MPs comply with the provisions of the Act. The committee is empowered to investigate any allegation of contravention of any provision of the act.

The Bill describes assets as property, moveable and immovable, incomes present and contingent, owned by a Member of Parliament.

According to the proposed Bill every Member of Parliament-the President, the elected and specially elected MPs, the Speaker of National Assembly, shall submit to the registrar a written declaration of their assets and liabilities and those of their spouses, and any unmarried child under the age of 18 years.

The MPS will be required to start declaring their assets within 90 days of the law coming into force and thereafter within 90 days of being sworn into office as an MP. Also any subsequent assets acquired or any liabilities incurred by MP shall be declared within 90 days of the acquisition of the assets or incurring the liabilities, and the register of Members' interests shall accordingly amend the record.

The committee of selection of parliament shall at the commencement of the first session of each parliament, appoint a Standing Committee on Member's Interests. The Deputy Speaker shall be the chairperson of the committee, while the Clerk of National Assembly shall be the Registrar of Members' Interests and shall act as Secretary of the Committee.

The Committee shall be responsible for the enforcement of the law. Penalties include warning or reprimanding the Member, suspending the Member of Parliament who contravenes this law for 30 sitting days of the National Assembly or imposing a fine of up to P10,000. The Bill also provides for the establishment of an Appeal's Committee made up of the Speaker, the Leader of the House, the Leader of Opposition, where any member of the National assembly may appeal the decisions of the Standing Committee. The Appeal's Committee's word is final.


Banners ?>


Mr. Kennafela. What prompted you to be a politician?

Latest Frontpages

Todays Paper Todays Paper Todays Paper Todays Paper Todays Paper Todays Paper
Adana Escort
Adıyaman Escort
Afyon Escort
Ağrı Escort
Aksaray Escort
Amasya Escort
Ankara Escort
Antalya Escort
Antep Escort
Ardahan Escort
Artvin Escort
Aydın Escort
Balıkesir Escort
Bartın Escort
Batman Escort
Bayburt Escort
Bilecik Escort
Bingöl Escort
Bitlis Escort
Bolu Escort
Burdur Escort
Bursa Escort
Çanakkale Escort
Çankırı Escort
Çorum Escort
Denizli Escort
Diyarbakır Escort
Düzce Escort
Edirne Escort
Erzincan Escort
Elazığ Escort
Erzurum Escort
Eskişehir Escort
Giresun Escort
Gümüşhane Escort
Hakkari Escort
Hatay Escort
Iğdır Escort
Isparta Escort
İskenderun Escort
İstanbul Escort
İzmir Escort
İzmit Escort
Karabük Escort
Karaman Escort
Kars Escort
Kastamonu Escort
Kayseri Escort
Kıbrıs Escort
Kırıkkale Escort
Kırklareli Escort
Kırşehir Escort
Kilis Escort
Kocaeli Escort
Konya Escort
Kütahya Escort
Malatya Escort
Manisa Escort
Maraş Escort
Mardin Escort
Mersin Escort
Muğla Escort
Muş Escort
Nevşehir Escort
Niğde Escort
Ordu Escort
Osmaniye Escort
Rize Escort
Sakarya Escort
Samsun Escort
Siirt Escort
Sinop Escort
Sivas Escort
Şırnak Escort
Tekirdağ Escort
Tokat Escort
Trabzon Escort
Tunceli Escort
Urfa Escort
Uşak Escort
Van Escort
Yalova Escort
Yozgat Escort
Zonguldak Escort
Alaçatı Escort
Aliağa Escort
Alsancak Escort
Bornova Escort
Buca Escort
Çeşme Escort
Çiğli Escort
Gaziemir Escort
Karşıyaka Escort
fethiye escort
iskenderun escort
iskenderun escort
iskenderun escort
iskenderun escort
iskenderun escort karataş escort ceyhan escort ankara escort etimesgut escort çankaya escort altındağ escort mamak escort keçiören escort