Mmegi Blogs :: Chief On Friday
<-- END: MMEGI HEADER -->
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Last Updated
Friday 21 September 2018, 15:09 pm.
Fri 21 Sep 2018, 15:09 pm
I made a promise last week that we will be starting on the subject of elections. This week we will be discussing the role of the Judiciary in the electoral process. We sh...
Fri 14 Sep 2018, 13:25 pm
We are approaching the national elections year. Of course the Botswana Democratic Party (BDP) will win. Soon there will be rallies and motorcades everywhere. It’s the e...
Fri 07 Sep 2018, 12:08 pm
We value our wildlife and we have plenty of it. I have had occasion to see the best of my country and I know it is true. We carry ourselves with pride and dignity wherev...
Fri 31 Aug 2018, 13:10 pm
There is pain and disappointment. There is crying and gnashing of teeth. Like death it was all undesired. Yet, it was all foreseeable. The four-year cyclic season of reje...
Fri 24 Aug 2018, 11:27 am
Botswana football is a fraternity into which millions, in taxpayer money, go annually but what does the nation get in return? International publicity? Of course no! We pl...
Fri 17 Aug 2018, 12:42 pm
The period between 2008 and 2018 is most notable for political and judicial controversy. It was in the same period that the subject of judicial appointments took centre s...
Fri 10 Aug 2018, 12:43 pm
Nobody should weep whether the Botswana Democratic Party (BDP) rises or falls. The problem they have to deal with is of their own making. They deserve no sympathy.
Fri 03 Aug 2018, 13:19 pm
We lawyers belong to the only category of people for whom slavery is still legal. Not even CNN give a hoot about us. I mean literally. The Legal Practitioners Act says th...
Fri 27 Jul 2018, 13:48 pm
Somewhere between the Directorate on Commercial and Economic Crimes (DCEC) Director and Directorate of Public Prosecutions (DPP), there is an incorrigible liar.Now that...
Fri 20 Jul 2018, 15:59 pm
A dictator, approximately two metres tall, is leading an African country down the path of reconstruction and economic development. Don’t celebrate just as yet. He is ...
Fri 13 Jul 2018, 15:17 pm
So, one opposition leader is talking duels. If the learned friend had his way, we could wind back the clock to a time when disputes were settled rather fairly.
Fri 06 Jul 2018, 14:07 pm
This week I am ranting over dagga. Make no mistake about it I don't smoke that green stuff. Yes, sometimes I have wondered how it feels to smoke it but I will never smoke...
Fri 29 Jun 2018, 15:43 pm
Some time ago, I ranted, in this column, on the need to fix the defective boy child. Today's boy child, I repeat, is a defective being. Don't say that I am being negative...
Fri 22 Jun 2018, 13:55 pm
The other day, I asked my friends why the African child must struggle with a lingual code in order to access knowledge. At the risk of sounding like a pseudo Pan Africani...
Fri 15 Jun 2018, 12:36 pm
I have represented families in disputes over corpses. In one case, the corpse was still in the mortuary for more than a month because a delinquent husband, who had virtua...
Fri 01 Jun 2018, 13:29 pm
I hope you are doing well, Joao. Been thinking of you since I heard the news that you are no longer allowed to set foot in my country again.
Fri 25 May 2018, 14:11 pm
I was in the sleepy village of Mokobeng, the other day, doing charity work with the Madiba Class of '93 (M'93) alumni society. Oh, what a day it was! We took time out to ...
Fri 18 May 2018, 15:33 pm
Congratulations to Judge Dambe on being appointed the first female Judge of the Court of Appeal. Hopefully we will see more women Court of Appeal judges in the near futur...
Fri 11 May 2018, 15:00 pm
The outgone regime was obsessed with adventure tourism. So deep was the obsession that our President could miss an international summit and be seen riding quads or hiking...
Fri 04 May 2018, 13:42 pm
Around this time, last year, a young life came to a tragic end. In the flower of his youth, Steez closed his eyes forever in death. I look back now, just days past the an...
Fri 27 Apr 2018, 13:40 pm
I am a Motswana. By the way I am no choc-ice. I don’t belong with the Benny comes to town variety. The kind that is brown on the outside and white beneath. My moral con...
Fri 20 Apr 2018, 13:36 pm
Once upon a time, our Court of Appeal (CoA) had to decide an appeal whereof a practising attorney, Maame Baffour-Awuah agreed to be interviewed by a newspaper reporter in...
Fri 13 Apr 2018, 13:20 pm
No. It is not all about Sadique Kebonang and the ministry he used to head. Let no one lie to you. I make no comment on whether anyone did anything wrong. The matter is be...
Fri 06 Apr 2018, 12:28 pm
We are at the crossroads. We can gamble with the issue and risk national embarrassment, or we can put our heads together and find a solution while we still can. Thank God...
Thu 29 Mar 2018, 15:15 pm
By the time I write my next column, Lt. Gen. Ian Khama will no longer be this country’s president. I am waiting for April with bated breath. When Sir Ketumile left, I w...
Banners
Exchange Rates
FOREIGN EXCHANGE: Wednesday, 17 Jan 2018
FOREIGN / PULA
PULA / FOREIGN
1 USD = Pula   9.7656
1 GBP = Pula   13.4590
1 EUR = Pula   11.9617
1 YEN = Pula   0.0882
1 ZAR = Pula   0.7938
1 Pula = USD   0.1024
1 Pula = GBP   0.0743
1 Pula = EUR   0.0836
1 Pula = YEN   11.34
1 Pula = ZAR   1.2597
Subscribe to our Newsletter
have a story? Send us a Tip
Banners
  • Previous
    Next
    Masa Centre
    ::: Monday 24 Sep - Monday 24 Sep :::
  • Previous
    Next
    Riverwalk
    ::: Monday 24 Sep - Monday 24 Sep :::
  • Previous
    The Meg
    Next
    Gamecity
    ::: Friday 10 Aug - Sunday 07 Aug :::
    The Meg
Selefu
BASOP!
Banners
Banners
istanbul escort