Mmegi Blogs :: Etcetera II
<-- END: MMEGI HEADER -->
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Last Updated
Monday 16 April 2018, 13:17 pm.
Mon 16 Apr 2018, 13:16 pm
Even a single word can be of major interest. Take the caption to the Guardian’s front page photo of I. Kgosi together with ex-President, Khama which refers to ‘his sp...
Mon 09 Apr 2018, 17:59 pm
The last ten years as a de facto experimental executive monarchy has now come to an end. It may be open to question as to whether it was explicitly agreed that such a maj...
Mon 26 Mar 2018, 14:29 pm
It is an extraordinary scenario and one with so many interlocking elements that it seems remarkable that it has prompted so little in the way of examination.
Mon 19 Mar 2018, 13:44 pm
This is getting frustrating and baffling. For what seems a long time now I have been banging away about the Kazungula railway bridge without getting even a whisper of a r...
Mon 12 Mar 2018, 18:09 pm
Our public life has totally gone down the drain hasn't it! Consider four of the past week’s newspaper headlines - ‘Councillors Decry Appalling State of Palapye Hospi...
Tue 06 Mar 2018, 15:01 pm
There were two interesting reports about land in the last week. First came Bashi Letsididi�s �Botswana Was Essentially Created for Whites� in the Sunday Standard, w...
Mon 26 Feb 2018, 16:54 pm
Its always one thing to read about the construction or upgrading of a road and something else to see it first-hand. The widening of the Gaborone-Boatle road should have ...
Mon 12 Feb 2018, 17:08 pm
Its been quite a week although for me three events take precedence. First the Grand Tour with the Patriot stating that it had already encompassed 22 settlements with man...
Mon 05 Feb 2018, 13:23 pm
It is, of course, awesome. But not merely awesome, it is also a phenomenon, mystifying, perplexing and fascinating.
Mon 22 Jan 2018, 17:49 pm
I read the three reports of The Midweek Sun (17.1.18) about the water situation in Molepolole with a mix of alarm, dismay and incredulity.
Mon 15 Jan 2018, 17:00 pm
Presumably each year begins where we left off last year.
Mon 18 Dec 2017, 22:41 pm
This remarkable year may be coming to an end but it is doing so in astonishing fashion. Or perhaps in a way that is largely consistent with earlier mind-boggling events.
Mon 11 Dec 2017, 21:33 pm
This is one column (blog) which I regret having to write. I do so, however, because I believe that our recent experience with BOMAID may well be replicated by others and ...
Mon 04 Dec 2017, 17:14 pm
This is one column (blog), which I regret having to write. I do so, however, because I believe that our recent experience with BOMAID may well be replicated by others and...
Mon 27 Nov 2017, 17:19 pm
Without the slightest doubt ,the most extraordinary statement of the week came from the Water Utilities Corpration (WUC) Senior Communications and Public Relations Office...
Mon 13 Nov 2017, 17:30 pm
How does one security vehicle convoy force another off the road?
Mon 06 Nov 2017, 13:17 pm
Another remarkable last few days. Nowadays there are few which are not remarkable. There was Chinas bold decision to eliminate poverty by 2020. Scandinavia did it that...
Mon 30 Oct 2017, 15:50 pm
Having grumped last week about the need nowadays to certify just about everything it is probably not the greatest idea to grump again. Therefore, please note, this is...
Mon 23 Oct 2017, 15:18 pm
The demand (request?) for proof came at us from three different quarters this week from the Land Board, the bank and Botswana Life. The Land Board, that is our Land Boa...
Mon 16 Oct 2017, 16:38 pm
Gasebalwe Seretse, in a recent Weekend Post article, sought to answer the question of someone who hadnt a clue as to who was the Princess Marina after whom the Gaborone ...
Mon 09 Oct 2017, 16:54 pm
At first, I imagined that I must have made a mistake. But there it was, the banner headline of the internet Daily News stating Happy 50th birthday with the article I so...
Tue 03 Oct 2017, 18:24 pm
Four inter-related news items caught my eye last week. Working chronologically backwards, came Mmegi (September 27) with its report on the attack of Dutch tourists, all i...
Mon 25 Sep 2017, 16:46 pm
Believe that and you will believe anything! Nevertheless, press button 1 if you are male. Press button 2 if you are female and press button 3 if you have been waiting so ...
Mon 18 Sep 2017, 16:25 pm
In the Guardian last week there appeared an article headed, Cry Our Beloved Press Council by Sello Motseta who was identified as a member of this same Press Council.
Mon 11 Sep 2017, 16:54 pm
Hurricanes, tornadoes, earthquakes, fires, floods, the melting ice caps, the rising sea level, tsunamis, drought, mud slides, unprecedented temperatures and mass migratio...
Banners
Exchange Rates
FOREIGN EXCHANGE: Wednesday, 17 Jan 2018
FOREIGN / PULA
PULA / FOREIGN
1 USD = Pula   9.7656
1 GBP = Pula   13.4590
1 EUR = Pula   11.9617
1 YEN = Pula   0.0882
1 ZAR = Pula   0.7938
1 Pula = USD   0.1024
1 Pula = GBP   0.0743
1 Pula = EUR   0.0836
1 Pula = YEN   11.34
1 Pula = ZAR   1.2597
Subscribe to our Newsletter
have a story? Send us a Tip
Banners
  • Previous
    Rampage
    Next
    Masa Centre
    ::: Friday 13 Apr - Thursday 19 Apr :::
    Rampage
    Here Comes the Grump
    7 Days in Entebbe
    Tyler Perry's Acrimony
    Black Panther
  • Previous
    Rampage
    Next
    Riverwalk
    ::: Friday 13 Apr - Thursday 19 Apr :::
    Rampage
    Midnight Sun
    Black Panther
    Tyler Perry's Acrimony
  • Previous
    Here Comes the Grump
    Next
    Gamecity
    ::: Friday 13 Apr - Thursday 19 Apr :::
    Here Comes the Grump
    Rampage
    Midnight Sun
    Tyler Perry's Acrimony
    Pacific Rim: Uprising
    Black Panther
Selefu
Welcome to Selebi Phikwe
Banners
Banners
istanbul escort