Mmegi Blogs :: Etcetera II
<-- END: MMEGI HEADER -->
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Last Updated
Friday 22 June 2018, 13:55 pm.
Mon 18 Jun 2018, 18:52 pm
Wishful thing, I suppose, because I had kidded myself into believing that the controversy over the Gripen fighter jet was over and done with. Sadly, last week's Gazette m...
Mon 11 Jun 2018, 14:04 pm
It really does seem like a 'I didn't know'last week. Take, for instance, the curious business of the plastic bags with a local newspaper reporting that soon first-time us...
Mon 04 Jun 2018, 13:41 pm
Just imagine. There must have been many people there who had never previously attended a Presidential press conference. They would have had little idea what to expect. Ol...
Mon 28 May 2018, 14:14 pm
Is this the lull before the storm or the lull before the lull? The Kgosi saga is all set to go on and on as with the sordid NPF affair. But is there anything more on the ...
Mon 21 May 2018, 15:26 pm
Some say that it was the man, some the law and others, the oversight bodies. Of course, no one can know what did happen in those Councils and Committees.
Mon 14 May 2018, 14:16 pm
That word 'euphoria' has come into unusual prominence in the last few weeks. We have been reminded that the Zims discovered that their euphoria at the overthrow of Mugab...
Mon 07 May 2018, 14:03 pm
First came the Presidential helicopter, so we were told, then the beginnings of new relationships with the press, the unions and the Chinese. Then came the volcanic erupt...
Mon 30 Apr 2018, 13:46 pm
Of the two, I knew Jerry particularly well. He had arrived in Mochudi in perhaps 1962 to teach at the National School at a monthly salary of something like R6.00. He was ...
Mon 23 Apr 2018, 14:56 pm
The question may seem ridiculous. But consider. Dikgosi are civil servants paid by central government as are District Councillors whilst Land Board members are paid by th...
Mon 16 Apr 2018, 13:16 pm
Even a single word can be of major interest. Take the caption to the Guardian’s front page photo of I. Kgosi together with ex-President, Khama which refers to ‘his sp...
Mon 09 Apr 2018, 17:59 pm
The last ten years as a de facto experimental executive monarchy has now come to an end. It may be open to question as to whether it was explicitly agreed that such a maj...
Mon 26 Mar 2018, 14:29 pm
It is an extraordinary scenario and one with so many interlocking elements that it seems remarkable that it has prompted so little in the way of examination.
Mon 19 Mar 2018, 13:44 pm
This is getting frustrating and baffling. For what seems a long time now I have been banging away about the Kazungula railway bridge without getting even a whisper of a r...
Mon 12 Mar 2018, 18:09 pm
Our public life has totally gone down the drain hasn't it! Consider four of the past week’s newspaper headlines - ‘Councillors Decry Appalling State of Palapye Hospi...
Tue 06 Mar 2018, 15:01 pm
There were two interesting reports about land in the last week. First came Bashi Letsididi�s �Botswana Was Essentially Created for Whites� in the Sunday Standard, w...
Mon 26 Feb 2018, 16:54 pm
Its always one thing to read about the construction or upgrading of a road and something else to see it first-hand. The widening of the Gaborone-Boatle road should have ...
Mon 12 Feb 2018, 17:08 pm
Its been quite a week although for me three events take precedence. First the Grand Tour with the Patriot stating that it had already encompassed 22 settlements with man...
Mon 05 Feb 2018, 13:23 pm
It is, of course, awesome. But not merely awesome, it is also a phenomenon, mystifying, perplexing and fascinating.
Mon 22 Jan 2018, 17:49 pm
I read the three reports of The Midweek Sun (17.1.18) about the water situation in Molepolole with a mix of alarm, dismay and incredulity.
Mon 15 Jan 2018, 17:00 pm
Presumably each year begins where we left off last year.
Mon 18 Dec 2017, 22:41 pm
This remarkable year may be coming to an end but it is doing so in astonishing fashion. Or perhaps in a way that is largely consistent with earlier mind-boggling events.
Mon 11 Dec 2017, 21:33 pm
This is one column (blog) which I regret having to write. I do so, however, because I believe that our recent experience with BOMAID may well be replicated by others and ...
Mon 04 Dec 2017, 17:14 pm
This is one column (blog), which I regret having to write. I do so, however, because I believe that our recent experience with BOMAID may well be replicated by others and...
Mon 27 Nov 2017, 17:19 pm
Without the slightest doubt ,the most extraordinary statement of the week came from the Water Utilities Corpration (WUC) Senior Communications and Public Relations Office...
Mon 13 Nov 2017, 17:30 pm
How does one security vehicle convoy force another off the road?
Banners
Exchange Rates
FOREIGN EXCHANGE: Wednesday, 17 Jan 2018
FOREIGN / PULA
PULA / FOREIGN
1 USD = Pula   9.7656
1 GBP = Pula   13.4590
1 EUR = Pula   11.9617
1 YEN = Pula   0.0882
1 ZAR = Pula   0.7938
1 Pula = USD   0.1024
1 Pula = GBP   0.0743
1 Pula = EUR   0.0836
1 Pula = YEN   11.34
1 Pula = ZAR   1.2597
Subscribe to our Newsletter
have a story? Send us a Tip
Banners
  • Previous
    Ocean
    Next
    Masa Centre
    ::: Friday 22 Jun - Thursday 28 Jun :::
    Ocean's Eight
    Isle of Dogs
    Incredibles 2
    Hereditary
    Jurassic World: Fallen Kingdom
  • Previous
    Incredibles 2
    Next
    Riverwalk
    ::: Friday 22 Jun - Thursday 28 Jun :::
    Incredibles 2
    Ocean's Eight
    Jurassic World: Fallen Kingdom
    Breaking In
  • Previous
    Isle of Dogs
    Next
    Gamecity
    ::: Friday 22 Jun - Thursday 28 Jun :::
    Isle of Dogs
    Ocean's Eight
    Hereditary
    Incredibles 2
    Jurassic World: Fallen Kingdom
    Breaking In
Selefu
UDC defections
Banners
Banners
istanbul escort