Mmegi Blogs :: Etcetera II
<-- END: MMEGI HEADER -->
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Last Updated
Monday 12 February 2018, 17:08 pm.
Mon 12 Feb 2018, 17:08 pm
It’s been quite a week although for me three events take precedence. First the Grand Tour with the Patriot stating that it had already encompassed 22 settlements with man...
Mon 05 Feb 2018, 13:23 pm
It is, of course, awesome. But not merely awesome, it is also a phenomenon, mystifying, perplexing and fascinating.
Mon 22 Jan 2018, 17:49 pm
I read the three reports of The Midweek Sun (17.1.18) about the water situation in Molepolole with a mix of alarm, dismay and incredulity.
Mon 15 Jan 2018, 17:00 pm
Presumably each year begins where we left off last year.
Mon 18 Dec 2017, 22:41 pm
This remarkable year may be coming to an end but it is doing so in astonishing fashion. Or perhaps in a way that is largely consistent with earlier mind-boggling events.
Mon 11 Dec 2017, 21:33 pm
This is one column (blog) which I regret having to write. I do so, however, because I believe that our recent experience with BOMAID may well be replicated by others and ...
Mon 04 Dec 2017, 17:14 pm
This is one column (blog), which I regret having to write. I do so, however, because I believe that our recent experience with BOMAID may well be replicated by others and...
Mon 27 Nov 2017, 17:19 pm
Without the slightest doubt ,the most extraordinary statement of the week came from the Water Utilities Corpration (WUC) Senior Communications and Public Relations Office...
Mon 13 Nov 2017, 17:30 pm
How does one security vehicle convoy force another off the road?
Mon 06 Nov 2017, 13:17 pm
Another remarkable last few days. Nowadays there are few which are not remarkable. There was China’s bold decision to eliminate poverty by 2020. Scandinavia did it – that...
Mon 30 Oct 2017, 15:50 pm
Having grumped last week – about the need nowadays to certify just about everything – it is probably not the greatest idea to grump again. Therefore, please note, this is...
Mon 23 Oct 2017, 15:18 pm
The demand (request?) for proof came at us from three different quarters this week – from the Land Board, the bank and Botswana Life. The Land Board, that is our Land Boa...
Mon 16 Oct 2017, 16:38 pm
Gasebalwe Seretse, in a recent Weekend Post article, sought to answer the question of someone who hadn’t a clue as to who was the Princess Marina after whom the Gaborone ...
Mon 09 Oct 2017, 16:54 pm
At first, I imagined that I must have made a mistake. But there it was, the banner headline of the internet Daily News stating ‘Happy 50th birthday’ with the article I so...
Tue 03 Oct 2017, 18:24 pm
Four inter-related news items caught my eye last week. Working chronologically backwards, came Mmegi (September 27) with its report on the attack of Dutch tourists, all i...
Mon 25 Sep 2017, 16:46 pm
Believe that and you will believe anything! Nevertheless, press button 1 if you are male. Press button 2 if you are female and press button 3 if you have been waiting so ...
Mon 18 Sep 2017, 16:25 pm
In the Guardian last week there appeared an article headed, ‘Cry Our Beloved Press Council’ by Sello Motseta who was identified as a member of this same Press Council.
Mon 11 Sep 2017, 16:54 pm
Hurricanes, tornadoes, earthquakes, fires, floods, the melting ice caps, the rising sea level, tsunamis, drought, mud slides, unprecedented temperatures and mass migratio...
Mon 28 Aug 2017, 16:52 pm
Last week it was all about confusion. This week for me it’s more about the need for information than anything else, the first concern, the Kazangula Bridge, is one that I...
Mon 21 Aug 2017, 16:31 pm
In a week or so of such extraordinary confusion, it really comes down to taking one’s pick. But let’s start with the Makwala affair where the Sunday Standard (August 13),...
Mon 14 Aug 2017, 16:07 pm
This week’s trick question? What do I have in common with Isaac Makwala? Nothing at all, you would instantly say, as must be obvious. After all, Makwala last week became,...
Mon 07 Aug 2017, 16:53 pm
The ways of the bureaucracy are invariably a cause of wonderment, the latest instance for me being a posted statement from the Kgatleng Land Board which stated that the a...
Mon 31 Jul 2017, 17:06 pm
What an extraordinary mix! The standard fare of the recent past has continued with China, the Dalai Lama, the Directorate of Security Intellgence, the Botswana Democratic...
Mon 24 Jul 2017, 15:59 pm
I turned on Sky News this morning (Friday) and was treated to news about an exhibition at Buckingham Palace in London of some of the gifts that have been presented to the...
Wed 19 Jul 2017, 13:58 pm
That term ‘fake news’ has been used so often recently that many of us may soon become totally adrift and unable to distinguish between the fake and the genuine.
Banners
Exchange Rates
FOREIGN EXCHANGE: Friday, 16 Feb 2018
FOREIGN / PULA
PULA / FOREIGN
1 USD = Pula   9.4251
1 GBP = Pula   13.3156
1 EUR = Pula   11.8203
1 YEN = Pula   0.0891
1 ZAR = Pula   0.8135
1 Pula = USD   0.1061
1 Pula = GBP   0.0751
1 Pula = EUR   0.0846
1 Pula = YEN   11.22
1 Pula = ZAR   1.2292
have a story? Send us a Tip
Banners
  • Previous
    Next
    Masa Centre
    ::: Saturday 17 Feb - Saturday 17 Feb :::
  • Previous
    Next
    Riverwalk
    ::: Saturday 17 Feb - Saturday 17 Feb :::
  • Previous
    Next
    Gamecity
    ::: Saturday 17 Feb - Saturday 17 Feb :::
Selefu
Out of miry clay
Banners
Banners
istanbul escort