Mmegi Online :: Chinese businessman becomes a chief in Nigeria
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Last Updated
Monday 20 May 2019, 16:33 pm.
Banners
Chinese businessman becomes a chief in Nigeria

A leader of the Chinese community in northern Nigeria has been crowned, or "turbaned", as a chief by the Emir of Kano, Sanusi Lamido Sanusi.
By BBC.COM Thu 25 Apr 2019, 15:24 pm (GMT +2)
Mmegi Online :: Chinese businessman becomes a chief in Nigeria








The emir holds a lot of influence and is a religious and cultural leader in the region. 

At a traditional ceremony in Kano Mike Zhang took the title of Wakilin Yan China, meaning the leader of the Chinese residents, as his head was wrapped in a turban. 

This ceremony is a recognition of the growing importance of the

Banners

Chinese community in Kano, the largest city in northern Nigeria, BBC Hausa editor Jimeh Saleh says.

There are a lot of Chinese businesses and traders in the city who are sometimes accused of taking other people's jobs and engaging in unfair competition.

Mr Zhang will be a vital link between the Chinese community and the locals.

Subscribe to our Newsletter
Banners
Banners
Banners


World
Thu 25 Apr 2019, 15:24 pm
Thu 25 Apr 2019, 14:16 pm
Wed 27 Mar 2019, 15:15 pm
Wed 13 Feb 2019, 17:17 pm
Wed 06 Feb 2019, 16:48 pm
Thu 17 Jan 2019, 16:31 pm
Mon 14 Jan 2019, 12:14 pm
Thu 10 Jan 2019, 09:08 am
Thu 06 Dec 2018, 11:08 am
Wed 05 Dec 2018, 13:58 pm
Wed 28 Nov 2018, 14:33 pm
Tue 20 Nov 2018, 13:41 pm
Wed 07 Nov 2018, 11:08 am
Tue 06 Nov 2018, 11:36 am
Thu 01 Nov 2018, 12:03 pm
Wed 24 Oct 2018, 15:19 pm
Thu 11 Oct 2018, 14:40 pm
Tue 09 Oct 2018, 18:24 pm
Tue 25 Sep 2018, 17:16 pm
Tue 25 Sep 2018, 11:43 am
Tue 18 Sep 2018, 13:00 pm
Fri 14 Sep 2018, 12:30 pm
Tue 11 Sep 2018, 13:38 pm
Fri 31 Aug 2018, 15:33 pm
Mon 27 Aug 2018, 16:05 pm
Banners
Banners
Subscribe to our Newsletter
have a story? Send us a Tip
Banners
  • Previous
    Next
    Masa Centre
    ::: Monday 20 May - Monday 20 May :::
  • Previous
    Next
    Riverwalk
    ::: Monday 20 May - Monday 20 May :::
  • Previous
    Next
    Gamecity
    ::: Monday 20 May - Monday 20 May :::
Selefu
All is fair in love and politics
Banners
Banners