Mmegi Online :: Cholera 'confirmed in Mozambique'
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Last Updated
Friday 23 August 2019, 14:57 pm.
Banners
Cholera 'confirmed in Mozambique'

The Mozambican authorities say that cholera has emerged in the aftermath of Cyclone Idai, AFP news agency reports.
By BBC.COM Wed 27 Mar 2019, 15:15 pm (GMT +2)
Mmegi Online :: Cholera 'confirmed in Mozambique'








"We have five cases of cholera which have been confirmed. This is in Beira and the area around," Mozambique's Environment Minister Celso Correia is quoted by AFP as saying.

More than 450 people in Mozambique died as a result of the cyclone, which ripped up buildings and submerged parts of Beira and much of the land nearby. 

The Reuters

Banners

news agency has been speaking to Ussein Isse, a senior Mozambican health official, who expressed concern about what might happen next. 

"[Cholera] will spread. When you have one case, you have to expect more cases in the community," he is quoted as saying.

The World Health Organization is sending 900,000 doses of a cholera vaccine, Reuters reports.

Subscribe to our Newsletter
Banners
Banners
Banners


World
Wed 27 Mar 2019, 15:15 pm
Wed 13 Feb 2019, 17:17 pm
Wed 06 Feb 2019, 16:48 pm
Thu 17 Jan 2019, 16:31 pm
Mon 14 Jan 2019, 12:14 pm
Thu 10 Jan 2019, 09:08 am
Thu 06 Dec 2018, 11:08 am
Wed 05 Dec 2018, 13:58 pm
Wed 28 Nov 2018, 14:33 pm
Tue 20 Nov 2018, 13:41 pm
Wed 07 Nov 2018, 11:08 am
Tue 06 Nov 2018, 11:36 am
Thu 01 Nov 2018, 12:03 pm
Wed 24 Oct 2018, 15:19 pm
Thu 11 Oct 2018, 14:40 pm
Tue 09 Oct 2018, 18:24 pm
Tue 25 Sep 2018, 17:16 pm
Tue 25 Sep 2018, 11:43 am
Tue 18 Sep 2018, 13:00 pm
Fri 14 Sep 2018, 12:30 pm
Tue 11 Sep 2018, 13:38 pm
Fri 31 Aug 2018, 15:33 pm
Mon 27 Aug 2018, 16:05 pm
Mon 27 Aug 2018, 06:54 am
Sat 18 Aug 2018, 12:07 pm
Banners
Banners
Subscribe to our Newsletter
have a story? Send us a Tip
Banners
  • Previous
    Next
    Masa Centre
    ::: Saturday 24 Aug - Saturday 24 Aug :::
  • Previous
    X-Men: Dark Phoenix
    Next
    Riverwalk
    ::: Monday 17 Jun - Saturday 17 Jun :::
    X-Men: Dark Phoenix
  • Previous
    Next
    Gamecity
    ::: Saturday 24 Aug - Saturday 24 Aug :::
Selefu
Masisi, Khama
Banners

gramstalker

Banners