The Monitor :: Let’s Intensify Education On How Citizens Can Protect Themselves
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Last Updated
Thursday 23 May 2019, 16:27 pm.
Banners
Let’s Intensify Education On How Citizens Can Protect Themselves

Tricksters continue to rob Batswana of their hard earned cash, under a disguise that they are either prophets or traditional healers, something that the Botswana Police Service (BPS) have and continue to warn the nation about.
By Monitor Editor Mon 04 Mar 2019, 11:42 am (GMT +2)
The Monitor :: Let’s Intensify Education On How Citizens Can Protect Themselves








Just last week, the police released yet another warning to the public regarding fraudsters who use known tricks to swindle money from unsuspecting victims. An elderly woman from Manyana shared her story with The Monitor, of how two scammers parading as prophets managed to take half a million from her, over a period of five months.

  The police also revealed that yet another elderly woman was swindled of P198, 000, by fraudsters claiming that they will help her cast evil spirits. These are some of the oldest tricks in the book, but amazingly, these thugs still continue to make a kill at the expense of law-abiding citizens, who worked hard for their money. The police have repeatedly warned the public, even using their edutainment drama, Itshireletse to educate Batswana at large about these scammers, who seem to think the have the right to other people’s money and property. Most of these scammers are lazy individuals who don’t want to work for themselves, but rather prefer stealing from those who have work hard to

Banners

secure a comfortable retirement. 

It is easy to blame, the victims, and point accusatory fingers at them for not being careful enough, but we have to be aware that not all of us will see things the same way. Fraudsters who one might say steal people’s money in a somewhat sophisticated way, as it normally does not involve any violence, usually get off with a slap on the wrist, hence many of them go back and do it to more and more people. In all the cases, a common occurrence is that victims are usually told not to breath a word of the transactions to anyone.

Why is that? Simply because, they do not want anyone to advise their target differently and risk not getting their way with the target. A true prophet will not tell the people they are prophesying to keep the prophecy a secret. These thugs are on a mission and they need to be stopped soon, because now they are showing a desperate trend of going after elderly people.

Subscribe to our Newsletter
Banners
Banners
Banners


Editorial
Mon 04 Mar 2019, 11:42 am
Mon 25 Feb 2019, 11:32 am
Mon 18 Feb 2019, 11:10 am
Mon 11 Feb 2019, 11:56 am
Mon 04 Feb 2019, 17:22 pm
Mon 28 Jan 2019, 11:12 am
Mon 21 Jan 2019, 11:11 am
Mon 14 Jan 2019, 11:49 am
Mon 17 Dec 2018, 12:11 pm
Mon 10 Dec 2018, 11:12 am
Mon 03 Dec 2018, 11:30 am
Mon 26 Nov 2018, 11:22 am
Mon 19 Nov 2018, 11:15 am
Mon 12 Nov 2018, 11:36 am
Mon 05 Nov 2018, 11:17 am
Mon 29 Oct 2018, 11:27 am
Mon 22 Oct 2018, 11:41 am
Mon 15 Oct 2018, 11:03 am
Mon 08 Oct 2018, 11:32 am
Mon 24 Sep 2018, 11:05 am
Mon 17 Sep 2018, 10:50 am
Mon 10 Sep 2018, 11:52 am
Mon 03 Sep 2018, 10:27 am
Mon 27 Aug 2018, 11:58 am
Mon 20 Aug 2018, 11:03 am
Banners
Banners
Subscribe to our Newsletter
have a story? Send us a Tip
Banners
  • Previous
    Next
    Masa Centre
    ::: Friday 24 May - Friday 24 May :::
  • Previous
    Next
    Riverwalk
    ::: Friday 24 May - Friday 24 May :::
  • Previous
    Next
    Gamecity
    ::: Friday 24 May - Friday 24 May :::
Selefu
Your excellency
Banners
Banners