Mmegi Online :: Zimbabwe 'to scrap repressive media law'
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Last Updated
Monday 25 March 2019, 13:36 pm.
Banners
Zimbabwe 'to scrap repressive media law'

Zimbabwe’s cabinet has promised to repeal a controversial law long used to suppress the media.
By BBC.COM Wed 13 Feb 2019, 17:17 pm (GMT +2)
Mmegi Online :: Zimbabwe 'to scrap repressive media law'








The Access to Information and Protection of Privacy Act has been the leading weapon in stifling media freedom.

During former President Robert Mugabe’s rule it was used to arrest journalists and shut down newspapers.

It places restrictions on media ownership and who can be employed as a journalist.

Parliament is expected to introduce

Banners

three new laws to replace it.

The change is part of the package of political reforms that President Emmerson Mnangagwa’s government has promised to implement to improve relations with the West.

Critics says the government has dragged its feet in changing laws that violate the constitution adopted in 2013.

Subscribe to our Newsletter
Banners
Banners
Banners


World
Wed 13 Feb 2019, 17:17 pm
Wed 06 Feb 2019, 16:48 pm
Thu 17 Jan 2019, 16:31 pm
Mon 14 Jan 2019, 12:14 pm
Thu 10 Jan 2019, 09:08 am
Thu 06 Dec 2018, 11:08 am
Wed 05 Dec 2018, 13:58 pm
Wed 28 Nov 2018, 14:33 pm
Tue 20 Nov 2018, 13:41 pm
Wed 07 Nov 2018, 11:08 am
Tue 06 Nov 2018, 11:36 am
Thu 01 Nov 2018, 12:03 pm
Wed 24 Oct 2018, 15:19 pm
Thu 11 Oct 2018, 14:40 pm
Tue 09 Oct 2018, 18:24 pm
Tue 25 Sep 2018, 17:16 pm
Tue 25 Sep 2018, 11:43 am
Tue 18 Sep 2018, 13:00 pm
Fri 14 Sep 2018, 12:30 pm
Tue 11 Sep 2018, 13:38 pm
Fri 31 Aug 2018, 15:33 pm
Mon 27 Aug 2018, 16:05 pm
Mon 27 Aug 2018, 06:54 am
Sat 18 Aug 2018, 12:07 pm
Thu 16 Aug 2018, 17:19 pm
Banners
Banners
Subscribe to our Newsletter
have a story? Send us a Tip
Banners
  • Previous
    Cold Pursuit
    Next
    Masa Centre
    ::: Friday 22 Mar - Thursday 28 Mar :::
    Cold Pursuit
    Escape Room
    Wonder Park
    What Men Want
    What Men Want
  • Previous
    If Beale Street Could Talk
    Next
    Riverwalk
    ::: Friday 22 Mar - Thursday 28 Mar :::
    If Beale Street Could Talk
    Cold Pursuit
    Wonder Park
    Captain Marvel
    What Men Want
  • Previous
    Escape Room
    Next
    Gamecity
    ::: Friday 22 Mar - Thursday 28 Mar :::
    Escape Room
    Cold Pursuit
    Wonder Park
    Captain Marvel
Selefu
BDP Disciplinary Committee
Banners
Banners