Mmegi Online :: Humans first, animals follow
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Last Updated
Friday 20 September 2019, 16:30 pm.
Banners
Humans first, animals follow

As climate change sweeps over our corner of the planet, playing havoc with rainfall and temperatures, the battle between humans and animals for survival is also heightening.
By Mmegi Editor Fri 08 Feb 2019, 11:20 am (GMT +2)
Mmegi Online :: Humans first, animals follow








Like we said before, cattle ranchers in the west fought for rapidly declining, drought ravaged pastures with the safari industry which argued that wildlife brought revenues of a more sustainable and less fickle nature.

In those years in the north, the little yield crop farmers were expecting was imperilled by the encroachment of elephants, desperate for nourishment in a difficult year. Predators such as lions, hyenas and leopards routinely raided livestock resulting in high losses for farmers.

The interaction of wildlife and livestock also increased the threat of disease outbreaks, such as Foot and Mouth and Newcastle diseases. It is clear for many how droughts escalate the human/animal conflict, as wildlife and livestock compete for limited space and pasture. Ironically, good rains can also contribute to heightened tensions between farmers and animals. Plentiful rains obviously boost populations and survival rates of both wildlife and livestock, but there is more to the story.

In periods of drought, waterholes for wildlife are few and far between, meaning various species congregate in the few available water bodies. In periods of plentiful rain, wildlife are more spread out hunting and accessing water, often leading to more instances of contact with farmers and their reinvigorated livestock which are equally enjoying more lush pasture and

Banners

water. We share our environment with these animals and have done so since time immemorial. Conflicts are natural and standing between both sides is government policy, as enforced by the officials engaged and equipped for the very purpose.

Increasingly, however, Batswana are complaining that the Problem Animal Control units around the country appear ineffectual in protecting farmers and their produce.Farmers do receive some meagre compensation for crop losses and infrastructure damage, but the opportunity costs associated can never be replaced.

It is common cause that the Problem Animal Control units are “very busy” across the country and thus, are stretched thin. In the meantime, Batswana have found themselves face to face with troublesome animals and some have taken the law into their own hands receiving heavy censure in the process.

There are no easy solutions and many attempts such as sponsoring farmers to diversify away from a reliance on agriculture, are having limited success. Other efforts have focussed on helping farmers repel wildlife without resorting to lethal methods.

Whatever the case, as the national dialogue on this continues, it is clear that more needs to be done to protect communities from the wild neighbours around them.

 

Today’s thought 

“Unless the local community signs up, wildlife won’t survive” 

– Jochen Zeitz

Subscribe to our Newsletter
Banners
Banners
Banners


Editorial
Fri 08 Feb 2019, 11:20 am
Fri 01 Feb 2019, 11:30 am
Fri 25 Jan 2019, 11:01 am
Fri 18 Jan 2019, 11:40 am
Fri 11 Jan 2019, 11:28 am
Fri 21 Dec 2018, 13:19 pm
Fri 14 Dec 2018, 11:48 am
Fri 07 Dec 2018, 11:28 am
Fri 30 Nov 2018, 11:44 am
Fri 23 Nov 2018, 11:38 am
Fri 16 Nov 2018, 11:58 am
Fri 09 Nov 2018, 11:07 am
Fri 02 Nov 2018, 11:04 am
Fri 26 Oct 2018, 11:45 am
Fri 19 Oct 2018, 11:59 am
Fri 12 Oct 2018, 11:47 am
Fri 05 Oct 2018, 11:26 am
Fri 28 Sep 2018, 11:16 am
Fri 21 Sep 2018, 11:37 am
Fri 14 Sep 2018, 11:20 am
Fri 07 Sep 2018, 10:58 am
Fri 31 Aug 2018, 11:05 am
Fri 24 Aug 2018, 10:19 am
Fri 17 Aug 2018, 11:31 am
Fri 10 Aug 2018, 11:21 am
Banners
Banners
Subscribe to our Newsletter
have a story? Send us a Tip
Banners
  • Previous
    Next
    Masa Centre
    ::: Sunday 22 Sep - Sunday 22 Sep :::
  • Previous
    X-Men: Dark Phoenix
    Next
    Riverwalk
    ::: Monday 17 Jun - Saturday 17 Jun :::
    X-Men: Dark Phoenix
  • Previous
    Next
    Gamecity
    ::: Sunday 22 Sep - Sunday 22 Sep :::
Selefu
Mama! Mama!
Banners

gramstalker

Banners