The Monitor :: Let’s Have A Safe, Fun Festive Season
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Last Updated
Wednesday 19 June 2019, 09:48 am.
Banners
Let’s Have A Safe, Fun Festive Season

Fatal road accidents have been steadily increasing towards the end of November and the beginning of December. While holidays look to excite people, Christmas and New Year seem to take that excitement to a whole new level.
By Monitor Editor Mon 17 Dec 2018, 12:11 pm (GMT +2)
The Monitor :: Let’s Have A Safe, Fun Festive Season








Last Saturday four people lost their lives in four different accidents, and there were many more accidents on the roads, which were not fatal.  While it is not wrong to have fun, it is each and every individual’s responsibility to ensure that they do so in a safe manner. 

Driving on the city roads at night nowadays has turned into a nightmare because some of the drivers, especially those who choose to drive after having one too many, do so recklessly, and some even lose their sensibilities on public roads, thus putting other people’s lives at risk.

The Botswana Police Services has consistently been alerting the public of the dangers of driving under the influence of alcohol, and other substances that may cause their cognitive skills to be delayed, but the information seems to fall upon deaf ears.

As humans we have a tendency to believe that certain things can only happen to some people or as some usually say, ‘I can handle my alcohol or I am usually extra careful when I drive drunk’; all these are just lame excuses,

Banners

which we should all throw out the window, and start behaving like responsible adults.

There are many factors that contribute to road accidents, but driving under the influence is one of the major factors, and sadly one that can be avoided.

People driving under the influence have endangered and sometimes taken many lives, because they could not control their vehicles due to being in a state of drunkenness.

Let’s protect ourselves and the lives of others by making sure that we do not get behind the steering wheel after taking one too many alcoholic beverages.

There are many options of having fun in a safe and responsible way, and these include staying home and relaxing with your drinks or making sure that you find a designated driver to take you home safely.

We have many cab companies country wide, which can be used as a mode of transport to avoid driving under the influence. Let’s all listen to the police and take care of ourselves.

On that note The Monitor team wishes its readers, advertisers and the nation at large Happy Holidays!

Subscribe to our Newsletter
Banners
Banners
Banners


Editorial
Mon 17 Dec 2018, 12:11 pm
Mon 10 Dec 2018, 11:12 am
Mon 03 Dec 2018, 11:30 am
Mon 26 Nov 2018, 11:22 am
Mon 19 Nov 2018, 11:15 am
Mon 12 Nov 2018, 11:36 am
Mon 05 Nov 2018, 11:17 am
Mon 29 Oct 2018, 11:27 am
Mon 22 Oct 2018, 11:41 am
Mon 15 Oct 2018, 11:03 am
Mon 08 Oct 2018, 11:32 am
Mon 24 Sep 2018, 11:05 am
Mon 17 Sep 2018, 10:50 am
Mon 10 Sep 2018, 11:52 am
Mon 03 Sep 2018, 10:27 am
Mon 27 Aug 2018, 11:58 am
Mon 20 Aug 2018, 11:03 am
Mon 13 Aug 2018, 11:17 am
Mon 06 Aug 2018, 11:21 am
Mon 30 Jul 2018, 11:22 am
Mon 23 Jul 2018, 11:14 am
Mon 09 Jul 2018, 11:51 am
Mon 25 Jun 2018, 16:12 pm
Mon 18 Jun 2018, 11:24 am
Mon 11 Jun 2018, 11:29 am
Banners
Banners
Subscribe to our Newsletter
have a story? Send us a Tip
Banners
  • Previous
    X-Men: Dark Phoenix
    Next
    Masa Centre
    ::: Monday 17 Jun - Thursday 20 Jun :::
    X-Men: Dark Phoenix
    Rocketman
    Godzilla: King of the Monsters
    Aladdin
    John Wick: Chapter 3 - Parabellum
  • Previous
    John Wick: Chapter 3 - Parabellum
    Next
    Riverwalk
    ::: Monday 17 Jun - Thursday 20 Jun :::
    John Wick: Chapter 3 - Parabellum
    X-Men: Dark Phoenix
    Godzilla: King of the Monsters
    Aladdin
  • Previous
    Aladdin
    Next
    Gamecity
    ::: Monday 17 Jun - Thursday 20 Jun :::
    Aladdin
    X-Men: Dark Phoenix
    John Wick: Chapter 3 - Parabellum
    Godzilla: King of the Monsters
Selefu
Republic of South Africa
Banners

gramstalker

Banners