The Monitor :: Let’s Join Childline In Protecting Our Future
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Last Updated
Friday 22 March 2019, 13:01 pm.
Banners
Let’s Join Childline In Protecting Our Future

Childline Botswana has embarked on a fund-raising fun run titled 'Run11611', which is an effort to raise awareness about the new Childline Crisis Line; 11611, and to solicit funds to support Childline programmes and expansion ambitions. The event is scheduled for end of November.
By Monitor Editor Mon 24 Sep 2018, 11:05 am (GMT +2)
The Monitor :: Let’s Join Childline In Protecting Our Future








Childline Botswana Trust is a registered Non-Governmental Organisation (NGO). It was founded in 1990 in response to escalating number of child abuse cases in the country.  The NGO’s primary role is to help abused children and their families through various activities, amongst them public education, counselling, casework and alternative care programmes. 

The initiative to raise awareness by Childline is a welcome one because first of all, there are many people who still do not know the mandate of the organisation, including the very children who are supposed to benefit from its services. 

It is each and every child’s right to enjoy a childhood free of abuse and violence. While, this may be one of those topics that people usually shy away from discussing, child abuse is one of the biggest societal ills facing the country. A good number of children undergo different forms of abuse at the hands of strangers, relatives, and legal guardians etc.  

Some of the abuses are disguised under culture, where adults will sometimes misinterpret certain practices to suit their own twisted minds. There is a common saying in many communities that a child should not talk back at an adult, and while there might be some good reason in this notion, there are those who use

Banners

it for evil purposes to abuse children. 

There are even some members of the community, who out of lack of understanding, have come across being against Childline, and depicting it as an organisation that seeks to encourage lawlessness in children. 

These factors make it extremely important for corporate Botswana and other stakeholders to join hands with Childline to ensure that all children have a good chance at a bright future and also protection from harm. Let us support Childline’s ‘Run11611’ and participate in protecting our children from harm. 

Many people usually turn a blind eye when they see a child or children being abused, giving an excuse that they do not want to interfere, but the truth of the matter is that it is our responsibility to ensure that every child is protected, hence the need to have such crisis line that both children and adults can use to report abuse or seek help on whatever challenges they may be facing. 

The growing use of social media has also exposed the extent to which child abuse is prevalent, at least more and more people are posting for advice on where they can report cases of child abuse. Let us all commit to ensuring that our children are protected!

 

Subscribe to our Newsletter
Banners
Banners
Banners


Editorial
Mon 24 Sep 2018, 11:05 am
Mon 17 Sep 2018, 10:50 am
Mon 10 Sep 2018, 11:52 am
Mon 03 Sep 2018, 10:27 am
Mon 27 Aug 2018, 11:58 am
Mon 20 Aug 2018, 11:03 am
Mon 13 Aug 2018, 11:17 am
Mon 06 Aug 2018, 11:21 am
Mon 30 Jul 2018, 11:22 am
Mon 23 Jul 2018, 11:14 am
Mon 09 Jul 2018, 11:51 am
Mon 25 Jun 2018, 16:12 pm
Mon 18 Jun 2018, 11:24 am
Mon 11 Jun 2018, 11:29 am
Mon 04 Jun 2018, 11:47 am
Mon 28 May 2018, 11:47 am
Mon 21 May 2018, 11:41 am
Mon 14 May 2018, 11:56 am
Mon 07 May 2018, 11:38 am
Mon 30 Apr 2018, 11:01 am
Mon 23 Apr 2018, 11:55 am
Mon 16 Apr 2018, 11:01 am
Mon 09 Apr 2018, 15:52 pm
Mon 26 Mar 2018, 11:49 am
Mon 19 Mar 2018, 11:16 am
Banners
Banners
Subscribe to our Newsletter
have a story? Send us a Tip
Banners
  • Previous
    Cold Pursuit
    Next
    Masa Centre
    ::: Friday 22 Mar - Thursday 28 Mar :::
    Cold Pursuit
    Escape Room
    Wonder Park
    What Men Want
    What Men Want
  • Previous
    If Beale Street Could Talk
    Next
    Riverwalk
    ::: Friday 22 Mar - Thursday 28 Mar :::
    If Beale Street Could Talk
    Cold Pursuit
    Wonder Park
    Captain Marvel
    What Men Want
  • Previous
    Escape Room
    Next
    Gamecity
    ::: Friday 22 Mar - Thursday 28 Mar :::
    Escape Room
    Cold Pursuit
    Wonder Park
    Captain Marvel
Selefu
BDP Disciplinary Committee
Banners
Banners