Mmegi Online :: South Africa's highest court legalises dagga use
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Last Updated
Thursday 21 March 2019, 10:51 am.
Banners
South Africa's highest court legalises dagga use

South Africa's highest court has legalised the use of cannabis by adults in private places.
By BBC.COM Tue 18 Sep 2018, 13:00 pm (GMT +2)
Mmegi Online :: South Africa's highest court legalises dagga use








Pro-marijuana activists cheered in the public gallery and chanted "Weed are free now" when the Constitutional Court gave its landmark ruling.

In a unanimous ruling, judges also legalised the growing of marijuana for private consumption. 

South Africa's government's had opposed its legalisation, arguing the drug was "harmful" to people's the health.

Three cannabis users who had faced prosecution for using cannabis brought the case, saying the ban "intrudes unjustifiably into their private spheres".

In his judgement, Deputy Chief Justice Raymond Zondo said: "It will not be a criminal offence for an adult person to use or be in possession of cannabis

Banners

in private for his or her personal consumption."

It will, however, remain illegal to use cannabis in public, and to sell and supply it.

The Cannabis Development Council of South Africa welcomed the ruling, and called on the government to drop charges against people found in possession of the drug.

Jeremy Acton, the leader of the Dagga Party, which campaigns for the use of cannabis, said the ruling should have gone further to legalise the carrying of marijuana in public.

Cannabis is referred to as "dagga" in South Africa.

Subscribe to our Newsletter
Banners
Banners
Banners


World
Tue 18 Sep 2018, 13:00 pm
Fri 14 Sep 2018, 12:30 pm
Tue 11 Sep 2018, 13:38 pm
Fri 31 Aug 2018, 15:33 pm
Mon 27 Aug 2018, 16:05 pm
Mon 27 Aug 2018, 06:54 am
Sat 18 Aug 2018, 12:07 pm
Thu 16 Aug 2018, 17:19 pm
Wed 15 Aug 2018, 15:12 pm
Tue 31 Jul 2018, 14:49 pm
Mon 30 Jul 2018, 11:22 am
Tue 24 Jul 2018, 16:46 pm
Thu 05 Jul 2018, 17:35 pm
Wed 27 Jun 2018, 10:00 am
Wed 20 Jun 2018, 15:35 pm
Wed 20 Jun 2018, 11:19 am
Mon 18 Jun 2018, 10:57 am
Tue 12 Jun 2018, 17:17 pm
Sun 10 Jun 2018, 17:07 pm
Tue 05 Jun 2018, 15:42 pm
Fri 01 Jun 2018, 13:00 pm
Tue 29 May 2018, 16:45 pm
Thu 19 Apr 2018, 05:25 am
Wed 11 Apr 2018, 18:03 pm
Tue 10 Apr 2018, 16:26 pm
Banners
Banners
Subscribe to our Newsletter
have a story? Send us a Tip
Banners
  • Previous
    Wonder Park
    Next
    Masa Centre
    ::: Friday 15 Mar - Thursday 21 Mar :::
    Wonder Park
    Captain Marvel
    A Madea Family Funeral
    What Men Want
  • Previous
    Captain Marvel
    Next
    Riverwalk
    ::: Friday 15 Mar - Thursday 21 Mar :::
    Captain Marvel
    Wonder Park
    A Madea Family Funeral
    What Men Want
  • Previous
    Wonder Park
    Next
    Gamecity
    ::: Friday 15 Mar - Thursday 21 Mar :::
    Wonder Park
    Captain Marvel
    A Madea Family Funeral
    What Men Want
Selefu
BDP Disciplinary Committee
Banners
Banners