Mmegi Online :: Hurricane Florence: Life-threatening storm lashes US coast
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Last Updated
Friday 21 September 2018, 15:09 pm.
Banners
Hurricane Florence: Life-threatening storm lashes US coast

Tens of thousands of homes are without power and sea water is sloshing through coastal streets as Hurricane Florence begins lashing the US East Coast.
By BBC.COM Fri 14 Sep 2018, 12:30 pm (GMT +2)
Mmegi Online :: Hurricane Florence: Life-threatening storm lashes US coast








The hurricane is moving towards land with maximum sustained wind speeds of 90mph (150 km/h).

It lost power as it approached North and South Carolina, but officials warn it could still kill "a lot of people" amid risks of "catastrophic" flooding.

Evacuation warnings are in place for more than a million people.

The governor of North Carolina, where Florence is expected to make landfall later on Friday local time, said surviving the storm would be a test of "endurance, teamwork, common sense, and patience".

"The first bands of the storm are upon us but we have days more to go," Roy Cooper said.

National Weather Service forecaster Brandon Locklear said North Carolina is likely to see eight months' worth of rain in two to three days.

 

What are the dangers?

Conditions deteriorated throughout Thursday. Some areas of North Carolina saw almost a foot of rain just a few hours, and footage showed sea levels begin to surge in land. 

At 23:00 local time (03:00 GMT) the National Hurricane Centre (NHC) said wind speeds had slightly lowered, making it a category one hurricane.

The NHC says that despite the gradual lowering in wind strength, the storm remains extremely dangerous because of the high volume of rainfall and storm surges predicted.

"Inland flooding kills a lot of people, unfortunately, and that's what we're about to see," said Brock Long, head of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (Fema).

He said that people living near rivers, streams and lowland areas in the region were most at risk.

 

How are

Banners

people coping?

More than a million people have been ordered to leave the coasts of the Carolinas and Virginia, with more than 12,000 taking refuge in emergency shelters.

Asked what she was most worried about, Monica Scott, a young mother who had brought her children to a shelter in North Carolina, said: "Not having a place to go home to, or a job."

Not everyone though has obeyed the warnings.

Queues were reported outside a branch of Waffle House in the port city of Wilmington, North Carolina. The restaurant is used as a measure of how bad storms are.

A man in North Carolina said he would stay with his dog, since shelters were not taking pets. "I'm not leaving him here," Antonio Ramirez told the AFP news agency,

More than 150,000 people already without power, but energy companies warn up to three million homes and businesses could also lose power.

Officials have warned restoring electricity could take days or even weeks.

Petrol stations in the area are reporting shortages.

Over 1,400 flights have been cancelled, according to FlightAware.com, as most of the coastal region's airports are closed to ride out the storm. 

Emergency workers are arriving from other parts of the US to aid in rescues.

How long will this last?

Latest predictions show the storm slowing to a near standstill as it pummels the coast with "copious amounts of rain" from Thursday night to Saturday.

Wind speeds are only expected to weaken on Saturday as the storm moves slowly across land.

Subscribe to our Newsletter
Banners
Banners
Banners


World
Fri 14 Sep 2018, 12:30 pm
Tue 11 Sep 2018, 13:38 pm
Fri 31 Aug 2018, 15:33 pm
Mon 27 Aug 2018, 16:05 pm
Mon 27 Aug 2018, 06:54 am
Sat 18 Aug 2018, 12:07 pm
Thu 16 Aug 2018, 17:19 pm
Wed 15 Aug 2018, 15:12 pm
Tue 31 Jul 2018, 14:49 pm
Mon 30 Jul 2018, 11:22 am
Tue 24 Jul 2018, 16:46 pm
Thu 05 Jul 2018, 17:35 pm
Wed 27 Jun 2018, 10:00 am
Wed 20 Jun 2018, 15:35 pm
Wed 20 Jun 2018, 11:19 am
Mon 18 Jun 2018, 10:57 am
Tue 12 Jun 2018, 17:17 pm
Sun 10 Jun 2018, 17:07 pm
Tue 05 Jun 2018, 15:42 pm
Fri 01 Jun 2018, 13:00 pm
Tue 29 May 2018, 16:45 pm
Thu 19 Apr 2018, 05:25 am
Wed 11 Apr 2018, 18:03 pm
Tue 10 Apr 2018, 16:26 pm
Thu 05 Apr 2018, 15:30 pm
Banners
Banners
Exchange Rates
FOREIGN EXCHANGE: Wednesday, 17 Jan 2018
FOREIGN / PULA
PULA / FOREIGN
1 USD = Pula   9.7656
1 GBP = Pula   13.4590
1 EUR = Pula   11.9617
1 YEN = Pula   0.0882
1 ZAR = Pula   0.7938
1 Pula = USD   0.1024
1 Pula = GBP   0.0743
1 Pula = EUR   0.0836
1 Pula = YEN   11.34
1 Pula = ZAR   1.2597
Subscribe to our Newsletter
have a story? Send us a Tip
Banners
  • Previous
    Next
    Masa Centre
    ::: Saturday 22 Sep - Saturday 22 Sep :::
  • Previous
    Next
    Riverwalk
    ::: Saturday 22 Sep - Saturday 22 Sep :::
  • Previous
    The Meg
    Next
    Gamecity
    ::: Friday 10 Aug - Sunday 07 Aug :::
    The Meg
Selefu
Maruping go a boelwa.
Banners
Banners
istanbul escort