Mmegi Online :: Wi-fi could be used to detect weapons and bombs
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Last Updated
Wednesday 19 September 2018, 14:07 pm.
Banners
Wi-fi could be used to detect weapons and bombs

Ordinary wi-fi could be used to detect weapons and explosives in public places, according to a study led by the Rutgers University in New Jersey.
By BBC.COM Wed 15 Aug 2018, 15:12 pm (GMT +2)
Mmegi Online :: Wi-fi could be used to detect weapons and bombs








Wireless signals can penetrate bags to measure the dimensions of metal objects or estimate the volume of liquids, researchers claim.

Initial tests appeared to show that the system was at least 95% accurate. 

It could provide a low-cost alternative to airport-style security, researchers said.

The team behind the research tested 15 types of objects and six types of bags. 

The wi-fi system had success rates of 99% for recognising dangerous objects, 98% for metal and 95% for liquids. 

When objects were wrapped inside bags, the accuracy rate dropped to about 90%.

The low-cost system requires a wi-fi device with two or three antennas and can be integrated into existing wi-fi networks. 

The system works by analysing what happens when wireless signals penetrate and bounce off objects and materials. 

It could be utilised

Banners

in museums, stadiums, theme parks and schools or wherever there is a perceived public risk.

"In large public areas, it's hard to set up expensive screening infrastructure like what is in airports," said Yingying Chen, co-author and a professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering in Rutgers-New Brunswick School of Engineering.

"Manpower is always needed to check bags and we wanted to develop a complementary method to try to reduce manpower."

She added: This could have a great impact in protecting the public from dangerous objects. There's a growing need for that now." 

The peer-reviewed study received a best paper award at the 2018 IEEE Conference on Communications and Network Security on cyber-security.

It included engineers at Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis (IUPUI) and Binghamton University.

Subscribe to our Newsletter
Banners
Banners
Banners


World
Wed 15 Aug 2018, 15:12 pm
Tue 31 Jul 2018, 14:49 pm
Mon 30 Jul 2018, 11:22 am
Tue 24 Jul 2018, 16:46 pm
Thu 05 Jul 2018, 17:35 pm
Wed 27 Jun 2018, 10:00 am
Wed 20 Jun 2018, 15:35 pm
Wed 20 Jun 2018, 11:19 am
Mon 18 Jun 2018, 10:57 am
Tue 12 Jun 2018, 17:17 pm
Sun 10 Jun 2018, 17:07 pm
Tue 05 Jun 2018, 15:42 pm
Fri 01 Jun 2018, 13:00 pm
Tue 29 May 2018, 16:45 pm
Thu 19 Apr 2018, 05:25 am
Wed 11 Apr 2018, 18:03 pm
Tue 10 Apr 2018, 16:26 pm
Thu 05 Apr 2018, 15:30 pm
Mon 02 Apr 2018, 16:27 pm
Sat 31 Mar 2018, 14:07 pm
Thu 22 Mar 2018, 12:59 pm
Thu 15 Mar 2018, 16:18 pm
Tue 13 Mar 2018, 18:49 pm
Mon 12 Mar 2018, 09:00 am
Fri 09 Mar 2018, 13:50 pm
Banners
Banners
Exchange Rates
FOREIGN EXCHANGE: Wednesday, 17 Jan 2018
FOREIGN / PULA
PULA / FOREIGN
1 USD = Pula   9.7656
1 GBP = Pula   13.4590
1 EUR = Pula   11.9617
1 YEN = Pula   0.0882
1 ZAR = Pula   0.7938
1 Pula = USD   0.1024
1 Pula = GBP   0.0743
1 Pula = EUR   0.0836
1 Pula = YEN   11.34
1 Pula = ZAR   1.2597
Subscribe to our Newsletter
have a story? Send us a Tip
Banners
  • Previous
    The Predator
    Next
    Masa Centre
    ::: Friday 14 Sep - Thursday 20 Sep :::
    The Predator
    The Nun
    Mile 22
    Crazy Rich Asians
    Hotel Transylvania 3: A Monster Vacation
  • Previous
    The Nun
    Next
    Riverwalk
    ::: Friday 14 Sep - Thursday 20 Sep :::
    The Nun
    The Predator
    Hotel Transylvania 3: A Monster Vacation
    The Equalizer 2
  • Previous
    The Meg
    Next
    Gamecity
    ::: Friday 10 Aug - Sunday 07 Aug :::
    The Meg
    Sgt. Stubby: An American Hero
    The Predator
    The Nun
    Mile 22
    Hotel Transylvania 3: A Monster Vacation
    The Equalizer 2
Selefu
Maruping go a boelwa.
Banners
Banners
istanbul escort