Mmegi Online :: A leopard can’t change its spots
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Last Updated
Wednesday 15 August 2018, 15:48 pm.
Banners
A leopard can’t change its spots

There was bloodshed in the streets of Harare, the capital of Zimbabwe following violent protests by supporters of the opposition Movement for Democratic Change (MDC) Alliance on Wednesday.
By Mmegi Editor Fri 03 Aug 2018, 11:13 am (GMT +2)
Mmegi Online :: A leopard can’t change its spots








Before the results were announced the youthful leader of the MDC Alliance Nelson Chamisa pre-ejaculated and declared himself the winner of the historic elections that were held on Monday without the participation of the ousted former Zimbabwean president Robert Mugabe.

Chamisa’s supporters violently took to the streets on Wednesday and protested that the ruling Zanu-PF, which is leading by a huge margin in the National Assembly polls, rigged the elections. They claimed that with the help of the Zimbabwe Electoral Commission (ZEC), Zanu-PF led by the veteran hardliner Emmerson Mnangagwa stole the votes.

The tactless, inexperienced and immature Chamisa is partly to blame for this mayhem. His social media posts enthused his diehard supporters to violently protest the elections. He did not even provide proof why he claimed he was a winner. Typical of poor political party supporters, his followers did not engage their brains before they toyi-toyied in the Harare streets; damaging innocent people’s hard earned properties.

The security forces typically responded in kind. What happened was not only barbaric but also extreme. Instead of using rubber bullets and other means of controlling the crowds, the Zimbabwe Defence Forces (ZDF) unleashed live ammunition on the protesters and three were

Banners

reported dead.

This is the same army that unlawfully removed Mugabe from power by inciting the masses to revolt against him and replaced him with his fellow killing machine Mnangagwa. Chamisa should have known better that ZDF would do anything to protect their man, Mnangagwa. He should have known that they would harp on the incitement argument that he started the ‘war’.

Mnangagwa learnt from the best in the business of massacre against innocent people; that is Mugabe. Mnangagwa was instrumental in the violence that followed the 2008 elections that Mugabe lost. We had hoped that this was still fresh in Chamisa’s mind. After all he participated in that disputed elections.

Brutal force was employed to force the MDC to boycott the presidential election run-off.

Four years after the country’s independence in 1980, he is blamed for the Gukurahundi massacres that over 20,000 people mainly AmaNdebele got killed in what he now calls “a bad patch”. His predecessor called the massacres “a moment of madness”. Mnangagwa will always resort to violence when he is under threat, as a leopard never changes its spot.

 

Today’s thought

“There is no explanation whatsoever for the brutality that we saw today.” 

–  MDC Alliance spokesperson

Subscribe to our Newsletter
Banners
Banners
Banners


Editorial
Fri 03 Aug 2018, 11:13 am
Fri 27 Jul 2018, 11:47 am
Fri 20 Jul 2018, 11:35 am
Fri 13 Jul 2018, 11:14 am
Fri 06 Jul 2018, 11:13 am
Fri 29 Jun 2018, 11:34 am
Fri 22 Jun 2018, 11:40 am
Fri 15 Jun 2018, 11:29 am
Fri 08 Jun 2018, 11:25 am
Fri 01 Jun 2018, 11:12 am
Fri 25 May 2018, 11:53 am
Fri 18 May 2018, 11:31 am
Fri 11 May 2018, 11:43 am
Fri 04 May 2018, 11:13 am
Fri 27 Apr 2018, 11:30 am
Fri 20 Apr 2018, 11:22 am
Fri 13 Apr 2018, 11:09 am
Fri 06 Apr 2018, 11:02 am
Sat 31 Mar 2018, 06:00 am
Fri 23 Mar 2018, 17:50 pm
Fri 16 Mar 2018, 10:12 am
Fri 09 Mar 2018, 09:34 am
Fri 02 Mar 2018, 17:33 pm
Fri 23 Feb 2018, 09:30 am
Fri 16 Feb 2018, 14:57 pm
Banners
Banners
Exchange Rates
FOREIGN EXCHANGE: Wednesday, 17 Jan 2018
FOREIGN / PULA
PULA / FOREIGN
1 USD = Pula   9.7656
1 GBP = Pula   13.4590
1 EUR = Pula   11.9617
1 YEN = Pula   0.0882
1 ZAR = Pula   0.7938
1 Pula = USD   0.1024
1 Pula = GBP   0.0743
1 Pula = EUR   0.0836
1 Pula = YEN   11.34
1 Pula = ZAR   1.2597
Subscribe to our Newsletter
have a story? Send us a Tip
Banners
  • Previous
    The Meg
    Next
    Masa Centre
    ::: Friday 10 Aug - Thursday 16 Aug :::
    The Meg
    Christopher Robin
    The Darkest Minds
    Hotel Artemis
    Mission: Impossible - Fallout
  • Previous
    Charming
    Next
    Riverwalk
    ::: Friday 10 Aug - Thursday 16 Aug :::
    Charming
    The Meg
    The Darkest Minds
    Mission: Impossible - Fallout
  • Previous
    Christopher Robin
    Next
    Gamecity
    ::: Friday 10 Aug - Thursday 16 Aug :::
    Christopher Robin
    Skyscraper
    The Meg
    Charming
    The Darkest Minds
Selefu
Scuttling the BDP boat
Banners
Banners
istanbul escort