The Monitor :: Under Pressure BOPEU Must Put House In Order
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Last Updated
Tuesday 18 September 2018, 23:51 pm.
Banners
Under Pressure BOPEU Must Put House In Order

Labour unions are a necessity for employees across all sectors of the economy, but ironically, controversy seems to haunt unions, not just in Botswana, but in other countries as well.
By Monitor Editor Mon 30 Jul 2018, 11:22 am (GMT +2)
The Monitor :: Under Pressure BOPEU Must Put House In Order








Botswana Public Employees Union (BOPEU) seems to have had its own share of challenges, which intensified last year when the labour organisation decided to kick out its former president, who at the time was employed as the executive chairperson of BOPEU’s business wing, Babereki Investments. Many, of course might have thought that the dust will slowly settle, even though the organisation still has a number of court cases pending, but it looks like troubled waters at BOPEU are here to stay, if the weekend’s events are anything to go by. Unexpectedly, within roughly a year, yet another attempt was made to overthrow senior members of BOPEU, including its president, Masego Mogwera.

The meeting held at Cresta Lodge, suspended the president alongside general secretary Topias Marenga, first deputy president, Martin Gabobake, deputy secretary, Kethapeleng Karabo, and treasurer general, Aba Gabaike. The five members were allegedly suspended to observe articles 53.1 and 53.2, which address issues of secondment and remuneration of office bearers (president and treasure general), as well as sanctioning the implementation of the new BOPEU structure.

This constant bickering between

Banners

BOPEU leadership is not doing the labour organisation nor its members any good. It actually has a potential to dismantle, disgruntle and demotivate its members, and in the process maybe lose some to other unions. These wars will most likely, damage BOPEU’s reputation, and perhaps cause uncertainty and lack of trust amongst its members. The union has a number of objectives, which will appeal to any employee, but of late, those objectives seem to have taken a back seat, as bickering and back-biting appear to dominating the union’s business.

The union needs to live up to its mandate and ensure that members’ interests are a top priority. Members pay subscriptions from their hard-earned salaries, and as such they deserve the best representation. One of the  labour union’s main objectives is “to represent employees on labour matters, which include negotiation, collective bargaining, enforcement of collective agreements, health and safety standards and safeguarding human rights”. Perhaps, the union should go easy on internal politics, and concentrate more on ensuring that they deliver on all its promises to its members.

Subscribe to our Newsletter
Banners
Banners
Banners


Editorial
Mon 30 Jul 2018, 11:22 am
Mon 23 Jul 2018, 11:14 am
Mon 09 Jul 2018, 11:51 am
Mon 25 Jun 2018, 16:12 pm
Mon 18 Jun 2018, 11:24 am
Mon 11 Jun 2018, 11:29 am
Mon 04 Jun 2018, 11:47 am
Mon 28 May 2018, 11:47 am
Mon 21 May 2018, 11:41 am
Mon 14 May 2018, 11:56 am
Mon 07 May 2018, 11:38 am
Mon 30 Apr 2018, 11:01 am
Mon 23 Apr 2018, 11:55 am
Mon 16 Apr 2018, 11:01 am
Mon 09 Apr 2018, 15:52 pm
Mon 26 Mar 2018, 11:49 am
Mon 19 Mar 2018, 11:16 am
Mon 12 Mar 2018, 17:54 pm
Mon 05 Mar 2018, 17:58 pm
Mon 26 Feb 2018, 14:26 pm
Mon 19 Feb 2018, 14:50 pm
Mon 12 Feb 2018, 11:52 am
Mon 05 Feb 2018, 11:36 am
Mon 29 Jan 2018, 06:27 am
Mon 22 Jan 2018, 16:42 pm
Banners
Banners
Exchange Rates
FOREIGN EXCHANGE: Wednesday, 17 Jan 2018
FOREIGN / PULA
PULA / FOREIGN
1 USD = Pula   9.7656
1 GBP = Pula   13.4590
1 EUR = Pula   11.9617
1 YEN = Pula   0.0882
1 ZAR = Pula   0.7938
1 Pula = USD   0.1024
1 Pula = GBP   0.0743
1 Pula = EUR   0.0836
1 Pula = YEN   11.34
1 Pula = ZAR   1.2597
Subscribe to our Newsletter
have a story? Send us a Tip
Banners
  • Previous
    The Predator
    Next
    Masa Centre
    ::: Friday 14 Sep - Thursday 20 Sep :::
    The Predator
    The Nun
    Mile 22
    Crazy Rich Asians
    Hotel Transylvania 3: A Monster Vacation
  • Previous
    The Nun
    Next
    Riverwalk
    ::: Friday 14 Sep - Thursday 20 Sep :::
    The Nun
    The Predator
    Hotel Transylvania 3: A Monster Vacation
    The Equalizer 2
  • Previous
    The Meg
    Next
    Gamecity
    ::: Friday 10 Aug - Sunday 07 Aug :::
    The Meg
    Sgt. Stubby: An American Hero
    The Predator
    The Nun
    Mile 22
    Hotel Transylvania 3: A Monster Vacation
    The Equalizer 2
Selefu
Botswana
Banners
Banners
istanbul escort