Mmegi Online :: 'Night in Mandela cell' removed from auction
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Last Updated
Monday 24 June 2019, 16:33 pm.
Banners
'Night in Mandela cell' removed from auction

The organisers of an online charity auction in South Africa which offered the chance to spend a night in Nelson Mandela’s former prison on Robben Island have deleted it from their website.
By BBC.COM Thu 05 Jul 2018, 17:35 pm (GMT +2)
Mmegi Online :: 'Night in Mandela cell' removed from auction








CEO Sleepout was planning the event to mark the day Mandela, who died in 2013 at the age of 95, would have turned 100 - 18 July.

Bidders are instead being given the opportunity to stay the night in Liliesleaf farm, a property owned by the late president and anti-apartheid leader. Opening

Banners

bids start at $11,000 (£8,300), and the charity says the farm can host up to 400 people.

The raid on the farm, which was an ANC hideout, led to the Rivonia Trial - which saw Mandela and other anti-apartheid activists jailed. The farm opened as a museum in 2013.

Subscribe to our Newsletter
Banners
Banners
Banners


World
Thu 05 Jul 2018, 17:35 pm
Wed 27 Jun 2018, 10:00 am
Wed 20 Jun 2018, 15:35 pm
Wed 20 Jun 2018, 11:19 am
Mon 18 Jun 2018, 10:57 am
Tue 12 Jun 2018, 17:17 pm
Sun 10 Jun 2018, 17:07 pm
Tue 05 Jun 2018, 15:42 pm
Fri 01 Jun 2018, 13:00 pm
Tue 29 May 2018, 16:45 pm
Thu 19 Apr 2018, 05:25 am
Wed 11 Apr 2018, 18:03 pm
Tue 10 Apr 2018, 16:26 pm
Thu 05 Apr 2018, 15:30 pm
Mon 02 Apr 2018, 16:27 pm
Sat 31 Mar 2018, 14:07 pm
Thu 22 Mar 2018, 12:59 pm
Thu 15 Mar 2018, 16:18 pm
Tue 13 Mar 2018, 18:49 pm
Mon 12 Mar 2018, 09:00 am
Fri 09 Mar 2018, 13:50 pm
Thu 01 Mar 2018, 07:00 am
Wed 28 Feb 2018, 13:00 pm
Wed 21 Feb 2018, 17:14 pm
Mon 19 Feb 2018, 12:00 pm
Banners
Banners
Subscribe to our Newsletter
have a story? Send us a Tip
Banners
  • Previous
    Toy Story 4
    Next
    Masa Centre
    ::: Friday 21 Jun - Thursday 27 Jun :::
    Toy Story 4
    Booksmart
    Men in Black: International
    X-Men: Dark Phoenix
  • Previous
    X-Men: Dark Phoenix
    Next
    Riverwalk
    ::: Monday 17 Jun - Saturday 17 Jun :::
    X-Men: Dark Phoenix
    Men in Black: International
    Toy Story 4
    John Wick: Chapter 3 - Parabellum
    X-Men: Dark Phoenix
  • Previous
    Booksmart
    Next
    Gamecity
    ::: Friday 21 Jun - Thursday 27 Jun :::
    Booksmart
    Toy Story 4
    Men in Black: International
Selefu
Botswana Patriotic Front
Banners

gramstalker

Banners