Mmegi Online :: Pension fund investments fall P6.7bn
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Last Updated
Friday 22 March 2019, 13:01 pm.
Banners
Pension fund investments fall P6.7bn

The value of assets held by the country’s pension funds locally and externally fell by P6.7 billion between January and February 2018, latest figures from the Bank of Botswana indicate.
By Mbongeni Mguni Wed 04 Jul 2018, 11:36 am (GMT +2)
Mmegi Online :: Pension fund investments fall P6.7bn








According to the data, the slump was due mainly to a 40% drop in the value of bonds held offshore by the local pension funds. The value of bonds held offshore fell to P5.8 billion in February, a month in which most other asset classes invested in by the pension funds were also weaker. 

The central bank’s numbers indicate that offshore equities remain the most popular asset class for local pension funds, with 51% of their total

Banners

assets of P76 billion invested there. The value of local pension fund assets invested in offshore equities fell by P1.8 billion in February, while holdings of domestic equities fell by P65 million to P14.3 billion.

Local pension funds have come under increased scrutiny in recent months due to the highly publicised legal troubles around the Botswana Public Officers Pension Fund (BPOPF).  The BPOPF accounts for the lion’s share of pension fund assets in Botswana.

Subscribe to our Newsletter
Banners
Banners
Banners


Business
Wed 04 Jul 2018, 11:36 am
Fri 29 Jun 2018, 18:00 pm
Fri 29 Jun 2018, 14:58 pm
Fri 29 Jun 2018, 14:56 pm
Fri 29 Jun 2018, 14:56 pm
Fri 22 Jun 2018, 18:00 pm
Fri 22 Jun 2018, 12:42 pm
Fri 22 Jun 2018, 12:36 pm
Fri 22 Jun 2018, 12:30 pm
Thu 21 Jun 2018, 15:16 pm
Wed 20 Jun 2018, 14:59 pm
Tue 19 Jun 2018, 15:22 pm
Fri 15 Jun 2018, 18:00 pm
Fri 15 Jun 2018, 12:35 pm
Fri 15 Jun 2018, 12:34 pm
Fri 15 Jun 2018, 12:33 pm
Fri 15 Jun 2018, 12:30 pm
Wed 13 Jun 2018, 16:58 pm
Tue 12 Jun 2018, 17:33 pm
Fri 08 Jun 2018, 18:00 pm
Fri 08 Jun 2018, 15:51 pm
Fri 08 Jun 2018, 15:50 pm
Fri 08 Jun 2018, 11:42 am
Fri 01 Jun 2018, 18:00 pm
Fri 01 Jun 2018, 13:28 pm
Banners
Banners
Subscribe to our Newsletter
have a story? Send us a Tip
Banners
  • Previous
    Cold Pursuit
    Next
    Masa Centre
    ::: Friday 22 Mar - Thursday 28 Mar :::
    Cold Pursuit
    Escape Room
    Wonder Park
    What Men Want
    What Men Want
  • Previous
    If Beale Street Could Talk
    Next
    Riverwalk
    ::: Friday 22 Mar - Thursday 28 Mar :::
    If Beale Street Could Talk
    Cold Pursuit
    Wonder Park
    Captain Marvel
    What Men Want
  • Previous
    Escape Room
    Next
    Gamecity
    ::: Friday 22 Mar - Thursday 28 Mar :::
    Escape Room
    Cold Pursuit
    Wonder Park
    Captain Marvel
Selefu
BDP Disciplinary Committee
Banners
Banners