Mmegi Online :: Independent Police Complaints Commission needed
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Last Updated
Thursday 15 November 2018, 14:12 pm.
Banners
Independent Police Complaints Commission needed

With rising complaints from members of the public about the manner in which the police conduct themselves, this calls for a need to establish an Independent Police Complaints Commission.
By Mmegi Editor Fri 29 Jun 2018, 11:34 am (GMT +2)
Mmegi Online :: Independent Police Complaints Commission needed








The police establishment exists to serve the public and if the same are not happy, something needs to be done and urgently for that matter.

The existence of an oversight body will help to stabilise the manner in which the police work with members of the public.

It does not only come in as a measure to protect the people from the police, but it also functions as a protective armour for the police from the people.

There are mysterious incidents in this country where people have died in police custody.

As we are aware, every life matters and that is the reason why the police oversight body must be established sooner than later.

The police exist to protect the community in instances where the latter feel unsafe or are undone by the police, they could send their pleas to the oversight body once it is in existence.

Sometimes in their line of duty, the police can become totally blinded of the fact of our Constitution.

The Constitution is the basic fundamental foundation for all laws in any country including our own.

Every law is established taking the Constitution into account.

It is these fundamental rights that need

Banners

to be protected and this is something that the police often overlook in their line of duty.

In this country, there are so many people who are qualified to staff the commission.

There are many retired police officers who would want to function in this commission in order to save the integrity of the organisation they served for so long.

It is their legacy at stake because at their time there were less cases of abuse of power. They would not only bring their police service experience with them, rather they would advise on the issues of law.

The commission would function in a similar fashion as the board of other parastatals. We know that the police are accountable to the minister responsible for their portfolio.

The minister in this case acts as employer, judge and prosecutor. The commission, which will largely be filled by men and women who have a clear understanding of police work, would help bridge the growing rift between the public and the police. 

Today's thought 

“Whatever the range of opinions may be, it is fairly safe to say that nobody believes the police should have no accountability.” 

– Alaina Varvaloucas

Subscribe to our Newsletter
Banners
Banners
Banners


Editorial
Fri 29 Jun 2018, 11:34 am
Fri 22 Jun 2018, 11:40 am
Fri 15 Jun 2018, 11:29 am
Fri 08 Jun 2018, 11:25 am
Fri 01 Jun 2018, 11:12 am
Fri 25 May 2018, 11:53 am
Fri 18 May 2018, 11:31 am
Fri 11 May 2018, 11:43 am
Fri 04 May 2018, 11:13 am
Fri 27 Apr 2018, 11:30 am
Fri 20 Apr 2018, 11:22 am
Fri 13 Apr 2018, 11:09 am
Fri 06 Apr 2018, 11:02 am
Sat 31 Mar 2018, 06:00 am
Fri 23 Mar 2018, 17:50 pm
Fri 16 Mar 2018, 10:12 am
Fri 09 Mar 2018, 09:34 am
Fri 02 Mar 2018, 17:33 pm
Fri 23 Feb 2018, 09:30 am
Fri 16 Feb 2018, 14:57 pm
Fri 09 Feb 2018, 12:25 pm
Fri 02 Feb 2018, 15:55 pm
Fri 26 Jan 2018, 16:03 pm
Fri 19 Jan 2018, 15:22 pm
Fri 12 Jan 2018, 13:59 pm
Banners
Banners
Subscribe to our Newsletter
have a story? Send us a Tip
Banners
  • Previous
    Halloween
    Next
    Masa Centre
    ::: Wednesday 07 Nov - Thursday 15 Nov :::
    Halloween
    Peppermint
    The Nutcracker and the Four Realms
    Nobody's Fool
    Goosebumps 2: Haunted Halloween
  • Previous
    Peppermint
    Next
    Riverwalk
    ::: Wednesday 07 Nov - Thursday 15 Nov :::
    Peppermint
    Halloween
    The Nutcracker and the Four Realms
    Nobody's Fool
  • Previous
    The Nutcracker and the Four Realms
    Next
    Gamecity
    ::: Wednesday 07 Nov - Thursday 15 Nov :::
    The Nutcracker and the Four Realms
    Halloween
    Peppermint
    Nobody's Fool
    Goosebumps 2: Haunted Halloween
    Venom
Selefu
Tla gae! Ke sharpo.
Banners
Banners
istanbul escort