The Monitor :: Farewell Mother Of The Nation
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Last Updated
Wednesday 21 November 2018, 15:42 pm.
Banners
Farewell Mother Of The Nation

Saturday marked a sad day for the media fraternity, friends and the family of The Voice Newspaper publisher, Beata Kasale.
By Monitor Editor Mon 25 Jun 2018, 16:12 pm (GMT +2)
The Monitor :: Farewell Mother Of The Nation








The shocking and sad news of her passing broke on Monday, and many went through the week in disbelief hoping that it was untrue. However, Saturday confirmed the great loss of Botlhoko Beata Kasale-Kabango, affectionately called by many as AusiB, and the end to an illustrious career.

Mourners, attended the funeral to give support to her family, and many spoke highly of the woman who has worn different hats throughout her professional life.

AusiB touched many lives in many different ways be it in gender issues, human rights activism, women’s empowerment, development of and fighting for a free press. Shockingly, as competitor to other publishers, she often times managed to put her interests aside to bring media houses together to discuss pertinent issues that affect the industry.

She was very instrumental in the development of the Botswana Media Gender Policy, where she worked with representatives from different media houses to formulate the policy.

Kasale, as speakers at her funeral passionately described her, would selflessly engage representatives from different media houses to get their views.

She very much believed in consultation, and she was always eager to hear

Banners

other people’s views. She not only believed that one never stops learning, but also actually practised that. AusiB enjoyed engaging different people on a variety of issues.

She was always eager to assist, and was gifted with being a problem-solver. She always had time for others, and she has helped many journalists to better their skills by either advising them, or encouraging them to enter training programmes such as the World of Newspapers and News Publishers’ (WAN-IFRA) Women In News (WIN) programme. 

She tirelessly worked with many journalists from different publications, all in an effort to encourage them to progress to greater levels.

When coordinating the training, AusiB would treat all participants equally, with no ounce of favouritism towards those who were in her publication’s employ.

She was firm and gentle at the same time, and was not shy to reprimand those who veered off course.

Most beautifully, Kasale wanted to see people succeed in their ventures, and always put other people’s needs before her own.

 She was really the mother of the nation and will be dearly missed.

May Beata Kasale’s soul rest in eternal peace.

Subscribe to our Newsletter
Banners
Banners
Banners


Editorial
Mon 25 Jun 2018, 16:12 pm
Mon 18 Jun 2018, 11:24 am
Mon 11 Jun 2018, 11:29 am
Mon 04 Jun 2018, 11:47 am
Mon 28 May 2018, 11:47 am
Mon 21 May 2018, 11:41 am
Mon 14 May 2018, 11:56 am
Mon 07 May 2018, 11:38 am
Mon 30 Apr 2018, 11:01 am
Mon 23 Apr 2018, 11:55 am
Mon 16 Apr 2018, 11:01 am
Mon 09 Apr 2018, 15:52 pm
Mon 26 Mar 2018, 11:49 am
Mon 19 Mar 2018, 11:16 am
Mon 12 Mar 2018, 17:54 pm
Mon 05 Mar 2018, 17:58 pm
Mon 26 Feb 2018, 14:26 pm
Mon 19 Feb 2018, 14:50 pm
Mon 12 Feb 2018, 11:52 am
Mon 05 Feb 2018, 11:36 am
Mon 29 Jan 2018, 06:27 am
Mon 22 Jan 2018, 16:42 pm
Mon 15 Jan 2018, 17:09 pm
Mon 18 Dec 2017, 15:23 pm
Mon 11 Dec 2017, 16:15 pm
Banners
Banners
Subscribe to our Newsletter
have a story? Send us a Tip
Banners
  • Previous
    Next
    Masa Centre
    ::: Wednesday 21 Nov - Wednesday 21 Nov :::
  • Previous
    Next
    Riverwalk
    ::: Wednesday 21 Nov - Wednesday 21 Nov :::
  • Previous
    Next
    Gamecity
    ::: Wednesday 21 Nov - Wednesday 21 Nov :::
Selefu
When two elephants fight...
Banners
Banners
istanbul escort