The Monitor :: Light At The End Of The Tunnel
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Last Updated
Friday 21 September 2018, 15:09 pm.
Banners
Light At The End Of The Tunnel

The private media has over the years registered concerns about the governmen's reluctance to release information. In those years the private media found it increasingly hard to access information from certain government bodies.
By Monitor Editor Mon 28 May 2018, 11:47 am (GMT +2)
The Monitor :: Light At The End Of The Tunnel








While some took the issue lightly, others did not as this was not only a hindrance to private media in executing its mandate as a watchdog, but also saw it was an injustice to the nation. The government of the day is put there by the people, and it is supposed to represent the people well and make sure each and every citizen has equal rights to access information in order to make more informed fact-based decisions.

 The new Directorate of Intelligence and Security (DIS), Peter Magosi, made a commitment to cultivate a better relationship with the media. The new intelligence boss, who made this promise during a press conference on Friday, had more good news, as he told members of the press in attendance that the DIS would soon employ a public relations officer.

“This is a new beginning. New leadership brings a new culture. This is the beginning, we will engage all stakeholders to redeem the image of the directorate. We have a responsibility to serve the nation diligently. We acknowledge you’re crucial and would like to start this new journey with you,” a representative from the DIS told media personnel at the press conference.

The changes are

Banners

very welcome, especially that the DIS under the former boss, Isaac Kgosi was always in the news for ‘the wrong reasons’, ultimately earning a bad image in the public eye. The good news continues, as President Mokgweetsi Masisi has announced that he, together with his Cabinet ministers, will address a press briefing on government’s road map on Wednesday.

 This is yet another welcome development as the press briefings by presidents accord members of the media to have an opportunity to pose questions to the President and his Cabinet on a variety of issues affecting the nation. This is yet another way of ensuring that information is disseminated to relevant stakeholders. Access to information empowers citizens.

Access to information or freedom of information and the transparency it promotes, has a direct consequence on fighting corruption, which in turn has a tangible impact on development. Access to information not only gives citizens the power to make informed decision, it also ensures that those in power are held accountable for their actions.

It is our hope that this will be the start of cordial relations between the media and government, and that the relationship will benefit the citizenry at large.

Subscribe to our Newsletter
Banners
Banners
Banners


Editorial
Mon 28 May 2018, 11:47 am
Mon 21 May 2018, 11:41 am
Mon 14 May 2018, 11:56 am
Mon 07 May 2018, 11:38 am
Mon 30 Apr 2018, 11:01 am
Mon 23 Apr 2018, 11:55 am
Mon 16 Apr 2018, 11:01 am
Mon 09 Apr 2018, 15:52 pm
Mon 26 Mar 2018, 11:49 am
Mon 19 Mar 2018, 11:16 am
Mon 12 Mar 2018, 17:54 pm
Mon 05 Mar 2018, 17:58 pm
Mon 26 Feb 2018, 14:26 pm
Mon 19 Feb 2018, 14:50 pm
Mon 12 Feb 2018, 11:52 am
Mon 05 Feb 2018, 11:36 am
Mon 29 Jan 2018, 06:27 am
Mon 22 Jan 2018, 16:42 pm
Mon 15 Jan 2018, 17:09 pm
Mon 18 Dec 2017, 15:23 pm
Mon 11 Dec 2017, 16:15 pm
Mon 04 Dec 2017, 16:25 pm
Mon 20 Nov 2017, 17:55 pm
Mon 13 Nov 2017, 15:49 pm
Mon 06 Nov 2017, 10:09 am
Banners
Banners
Exchange Rates
FOREIGN EXCHANGE: Wednesday, 17 Jan 2018
FOREIGN / PULA
PULA / FOREIGN
1 USD = Pula   9.7656
1 GBP = Pula   13.4590
1 EUR = Pula   11.9617
1 YEN = Pula   0.0882
1 ZAR = Pula   0.7938
1 Pula = USD   0.1024
1 Pula = GBP   0.0743
1 Pula = EUR   0.0836
1 Pula = YEN   11.34
1 Pula = ZAR   1.2597
Subscribe to our Newsletter
have a story? Send us a Tip
Banners
  • Previous
    Next
    Masa Centre
    ::: Sunday 23 Sep - Sunday 23 Sep :::
  • Previous
    Next
    Riverwalk
    ::: Sunday 23 Sep - Sunday 23 Sep :::
  • Previous
    The Meg
    Next
    Gamecity
    ::: Friday 10 Aug - Sunday 07 Aug :::
    The Meg
Selefu
Maruping go a boelwa.
Banners
Banners
istanbul escort