The Monitor :: Let's Be Constructive In Our Criticism
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Last Updated
Friday 21 September 2018, 06:00 am.
Banners
Let's Be Constructive In Our Criticism

The fifth President of Botswana, Mokgweetsi Masisi was inaugurated on April 1, 2018. While a section of the population welcomed the new President, there were those, mostly from opposition political parties, who felt President Masisi was not the right candidate for presidency, and there is absolutely nothing wrong with that.
By Monitor Editor Mon 09 Apr 2018, 15:52 pm (GMT +2)
The Monitor :: Let's Be Constructive In Our Criticism








Botswana is considered a democracy, and its citizens enjoy free speech to a certain extent, hence the many analysis, and critical opinions published by different people on various platforms.

Almost all local newspapers published analyses, opinion pieces, before and after the inauguration, and some members of the society decided to voice their opinion via social media platforms, especially Facebook.

Debate is very important in a democracy, and it goes a long in enhancing democracy, and making sure that there is accountability, but it has to be done in a constructive manner. Facebook, since the inauguration has been awash with diverse messages about the new President and his newly appointed cabinet; some of which were congratulatory messages, while others were somewhat bordering on what we might term constructive criticism, and others giving their analysis on the President and his Cabinet.

There is a segment, which however, finds it necessary to be noisemakers that don’t base their opinions on anything perceptible. While social media platforms are a welcome development, there are individuals who have made it a norm to misuse the platform, and use it to insult, belittle, and give out useless opinions, all for the love of likes and social media popularity.

Some of course in their debates make reference to the National Petroleum Fund (NPF) P250 million scandal,

Banners

and there is absolutely nothing wrong with that; we as Batswana have the right to want answers in relation to the allegations thrown at the former President, the new President, and other high ranking officials within the party. But for our demands to be taken seriously and bear fruit, we need to approach the issues in a diplomatic manner.

Our legal system stipulates that someone is ‘innocent until proven guilty’, but certain individuals have chosen to not only be the judges and pass the guilty verdict, they have also taken it upon themselves to throw words such as ‘thieves’ in the process. It is high time we as Batswana wake up and start discussing issues in a healthy intelligent manner.

Insulting those in power without offering doable solutions will continue to render our beautiful country stagnant, and those who get impressed by the insults hurled, with laugh and click the like button, forget about it and go on with their everyday life. It is our duty to hold the government accountable, and make demands to ensure that our resources are used to benefit the nation at large and not a few individuals. Let’s all participate in the growth of our country, and stop wasting time with useless debates that will not take us anywhere.

Subscribe to our Newsletter
Banners
Banners
Banners


Editorial
Mon 09 Apr 2018, 15:52 pm
Mon 26 Mar 2018, 11:49 am
Mon 19 Mar 2018, 11:16 am
Mon 12 Mar 2018, 17:54 pm
Mon 05 Mar 2018, 17:58 pm
Mon 26 Feb 2018, 14:26 pm
Mon 19 Feb 2018, 14:50 pm
Mon 12 Feb 2018, 11:52 am
Mon 05 Feb 2018, 11:36 am
Mon 29 Jan 2018, 06:27 am
Mon 22 Jan 2018, 16:42 pm
Mon 15 Jan 2018, 17:09 pm
Mon 18 Dec 2017, 15:23 pm
Mon 11 Dec 2017, 16:15 pm
Mon 04 Dec 2017, 16:25 pm
Mon 20 Nov 2017, 17:55 pm
Mon 13 Nov 2017, 15:49 pm
Mon 06 Nov 2017, 10:09 am
Mon 30 Oct 2017, 11:01 am
Mon 23 Oct 2017, 15:28 pm
Mon 09 Oct 2017, 11:26 am
Mon 25 Sep 2017, 11:17 am
Mon 11 Sep 2017, 11:52 am
Mon 04 Sep 2017, 11:41 am
Mon 28 Aug 2017, 11:49 am
Banners
Banners
Exchange Rates
FOREIGN EXCHANGE: Wednesday, 17 Jan 2018
FOREIGN / PULA
PULA / FOREIGN
1 USD = Pula   9.7656
1 GBP = Pula   13.4590
1 EUR = Pula   11.9617
1 YEN = Pula   0.0882
1 ZAR = Pula   0.7938
1 Pula = USD   0.1024
1 Pula = GBP   0.0743
1 Pula = EUR   0.0836
1 Pula = YEN   11.34
1 Pula = ZAR   1.2597
Subscribe to our Newsletter
have a story? Send us a Tip
Banners
  • Previous
    Next
    Masa Centre
    ::: Friday 21 Sep - Friday 21 Sep :::
  • Previous
    Next
    Riverwalk
    ::: Friday 21 Sep - Friday 21 Sep :::
  • Previous
    The Meg
    Next
    Gamecity
    ::: Friday 10 Aug - Sunday 07 Aug :::
    The Meg
Selefu
Maruping go a boelwa.
Banners
Banners
istanbul escort