The Monitor :: Open Letter To Pres Khama
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Last Updated
Friday 16 November 2018, 13:42 pm.
Banners
Open Letter To Pres Khama

Outgoing President, Ian Khama launched a scathing attack on the media during the Botswana Democratic Party (BDP) Council held at Maharaja Restaurant in Gaborone on Friday.
By Monitor Editor Mon 19 Mar 2018, 11:16 am (GMT +2)
The Monitor :: Open Letter To Pres Khama








The President described Botswana private media journalists as some of the worst in the world. He actually said ‘fake news’ originated in Botswana. Khama made reference to the National Petroleum Fund (NPF) P250 million saga, saying that he was being fingered by the media, while he did nothing wrong.

Perhaps, the President should have made time to meet with the media during his term, as it could have given him an insight into what its role is. If he knew the role of the media, he would have instead mauled those who submitted his name to court as one of the people who benefitted from the P250m disputed petroleum fund.

The allegations that Khama used the funds to build a house and buy a caravan were presented in court for all present to hear including the media. After all, as per the the country’s Constitution, what transpires inside court is for public consumtion. The only role the media plays is to relay the messages coming out of the courts to Batswana. As much as the Khama has a right to seek recourse where he feels wronged, it should be done in a proper manner, and not this wanton and unprovoked attack on the media. The media is not a scapegoat for the aggrieved, in this case you Mr President, but it is merely a vessel for information captured as it flows through its various channels of relay.  Khama has repeatedly made it clear that he loathes the private 

Banners

and independent media, hence he was never interested in forging a good working relationship with the local private media. For the record, the local private media has covered the President extensively. Many articles on programmes introduced by the government as well as him officiating at different events, have graced the pages of the media. The painful part is that President, even with such good work, he has never once applauded some of these reports, which may be considered positive.

The President has never ever addressed a press conference where the media could ask him questions about issues relating to allegations against him and his government. The bottom line is that since coming into power in 2008, the media has never had it easy with Khama’s administration. Granted, it cannot be deny that at times the media errs while carrying out its duties, but the courts of law are there for the aggrieved to find redress. Khama must accept that the media exists as a watchdog, and those holding the nation’s purse are not an exception.  Mr President, how can you say that government media has the only journalists who are professional in doing their work? Do you by any chance know that some sections of our society accuse government media of bias towards your party? It is our hope that the Mokgweetsi Masisi will resume engagement  with the media as he has been doing so and has not seen nor labelled us the enemy.,

Subscribe to our Newsletter
Banners
Banners
Banners


Editorial
Mon 19 Mar 2018, 11:16 am
Mon 12 Mar 2018, 17:54 pm
Mon 05 Mar 2018, 17:58 pm
Mon 26 Feb 2018, 14:26 pm
Mon 19 Feb 2018, 14:50 pm
Mon 12 Feb 2018, 11:52 am
Mon 05 Feb 2018, 11:36 am
Mon 29 Jan 2018, 06:27 am
Mon 22 Jan 2018, 16:42 pm
Mon 15 Jan 2018, 17:09 pm
Mon 18 Dec 2017, 15:23 pm
Mon 11 Dec 2017, 16:15 pm
Mon 04 Dec 2017, 16:25 pm
Mon 20 Nov 2017, 17:55 pm
Mon 13 Nov 2017, 15:49 pm
Mon 06 Nov 2017, 10:09 am
Mon 30 Oct 2017, 11:01 am
Mon 23 Oct 2017, 15:28 pm
Mon 09 Oct 2017, 11:26 am
Mon 25 Sep 2017, 11:17 am
Mon 11 Sep 2017, 11:52 am
Mon 04 Sep 2017, 11:41 am
Mon 28 Aug 2017, 11:49 am
Mon 14 Aug 2017, 11:02 am
Mon 07 Aug 2017, 10:37 am
Banners
Banners
Subscribe to our Newsletter
have a story? Send us a Tip
Banners
  • Previous
    Next
    Masa Centre
    ::: Saturday 17 Nov - Saturday 17 Nov :::
  • Previous
    Next
    Riverwalk
    ::: Saturday 17 Nov - Saturday 17 Nov :::
  • Previous
    Next
    Gamecity
    ::: Saturday 17 Nov - Saturday 17 Nov :::
Selefu
Tla gae! Ke sharpo.
Banners
Banners
istanbul escort