Mmegi Online :: DCEC better not fool us
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Last Updated
Monday 10 December 2018, 15:12 pm.
Banners
DCEC better not fool us

The corruption-busting agency, the Directorate on Corruption and Economic Crime (DCEC) last Saturday uncovered P50,000 cash at a house belonging to the Minister of Land Management, Water and Sanitation Services, Prince Maele. The money was reportedly found in a dustbin at Maele’s unoccupied house in Block 6, Gaborone.
By Mmegi Editor Fri 16 Mar 2018, 10:12 am (GMT +2)
Mmegi Online :: DCEC better not fool us








This happened days after what appeared like a covert operation that saw DCEC agents camping out at Maele’s house. On Sunday morning, the minister was taken to the DCEC offices to explain the large sums of money found in his yard. Maele has since denied knowledge of the origins of the money and claimed that he was being set-up. He even offered to be finger-printed to absolve himself from the case.

We commend the DCEC for being alert to this issue and following it up because the money could be proceeds of crime. However, without prejudicing the matter, we implore the DCEC to d§o more to get to the bottom of the issue. The DCEC investigations must be broadened because if Maele’s claims of a set up are to believed, this could be bigger than just the P50,000 found in the bin.

With reports that the security fence at the yard was cut and the barbed wire on top of the gate moved and found out of place, this is bigger than we might think. Our sources say that people believed to be security agents had camped out near the house throughout the day and night since Thursday until the raid on Saturday morning. Surely with criminals roaming the Gaborone streets at night, and the security at the place not so good, they might have been tempted to use

Banners

the house, or at least attempted to find something valuable for their mission in the yard.

Maele could be right when he says someone is trying to implicate him. It could be the ruling party internal politics playing out to the gallery. 

The DCEC investigation should be broad to catch and bring to book those who are behind the offence. We believe their informant has also been thoroughly interrogated to clear some of the questions lingering in our minds. Many people ask themselves questions like; Who knew that there was money hidden there and reported the matter?

How did that person find out that there was money in that unoccupied house? Our wish, we repeat, is for DCEC to get to the bottom of this scandal. With the recent case of money laundering with public funds being misused for personal gains at the National Petroleum Fund, one would not be wrong to think that this could also be public funds because no person in their sane mind would risk losing their hard earned cash by stashing it, or hiding it in a rubbish bin in an unoccupied lot.

 

Today’s thought 

“When plunder becomes a way of life for a group of men in a society, over the course of time they create for themselves a legal system that authorises it and a moral code that glorifies it.” 

 – Frédéric Bastiat

Subscribe to our Newsletter
Banners
Banners
Banners


Editorial
Fri 16 Mar 2018, 10:12 am
Fri 09 Mar 2018, 09:34 am
Fri 02 Mar 2018, 17:33 pm
Fri 23 Feb 2018, 09:30 am
Fri 16 Feb 2018, 14:57 pm
Fri 09 Feb 2018, 12:25 pm
Fri 02 Feb 2018, 15:55 pm
Fri 26 Jan 2018, 16:03 pm
Fri 19 Jan 2018, 15:22 pm
Fri 12 Jan 2018, 13:59 pm
Fri 22 Dec 2017, 10:39 am
Thu 21 Dec 2017, 13:51 pm
Wed 20 Dec 2017, 17:33 pm
Tue 19 Dec 2017, 16:23 pm
Fri 15 Dec 2017, 15:16 pm
Thu 14 Dec 2017, 16:40 pm
Wed 13 Dec 2017, 16:29 pm
Tue 12 Dec 2017, 15:42 pm
Thu 07 Dec 2017, 13:37 pm
Wed 06 Dec 2017, 17:21 pm
Tue 05 Dec 2017, 13:12 pm
Fri 01 Dec 2017, 15:17 pm
Thu 30 Nov 2017, 17:37 pm
Wed 29 Nov 2017, 17:28 pm
Tue 28 Nov 2017, 16:18 pm
Banners
Banners
Subscribe to our Newsletter
have a story? Send us a Tip
Banners
  • Previous
    Next
    Masa Centre
    ::: Monday 10 Dec - Monday 10 Dec :::
  • Previous
    Next
    Riverwalk
    ::: Monday 10 Dec - Monday 10 Dec :::
  • Previous
    Next
    Gamecity
    ::: Monday 10 Dec - Monday 10 Dec :::
Selefu
The NPF saga goes on
Banners
Banners
resim yükle