Mmegi Online :: Rwanda: Lightning strike kills 16 people in church
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Last Updated
Tuesday 20 November 2018, 13:46 pm.
Banners
Rwanda: Lightning strike kills 16 people in church

A lightning strike killed at least 16 people and injured dozens more at a Seventh-Day Adventist church in Rwanda on Saturday, an official said.
By BBC.COM Mon 12 Mar 2018, 09:00 am (GMT +2)
Mmegi Online :: Rwanda: Lightning strike kills 16 people in church








Most of the victims died instantly when lightning hit the church in the southern district of Nyaruguru, local mayor Habitegeko Francois told AFP.

Two people died from their injuries, and 140 people were rushed to hospital and health centres.

Lightning also killed a student in the area on Friday, the mayor said.

The weather accident in the mountainous region near the border with Burundi took place around midday on Saturday while parishioners of the town of Gihemvu were at a church service.

"Doctors say that only three [more churchgoers] are in critical condition but they are getting better," Mr Francois told AFP

Banners

on Sunday.

He said that in Friday's incident, lightning struck a group of 18 students in the area, killing one.

Three of the students remain in hospital while the rest have been able to return home, reports say.

The deadly church incident comes less than two weeks after the closure of more than 700 Rwandan churches for failing to comply with building regulations and for noise pollution.

Local news outlet Panor Actu reported (in French) that a number of the closed churches did not have required lightning rods - devices intended to protect a structure from a lightning strike.

Subscribe to our Newsletter
Banners
Banners
Banners


World
Mon 12 Mar 2018, 09:00 am
Fri 09 Mar 2018, 13:50 pm
Thu 01 Mar 2018, 07:00 am
Wed 28 Feb 2018, 13:00 pm
Wed 21 Feb 2018, 17:14 pm
Mon 19 Feb 2018, 12:00 pm
Fri 16 Feb 2018, 09:34 am
Wed 14 Feb 2018, 23:25 pm
Wed 14 Feb 2018, 21:42 pm
Wed 14 Feb 2018, 16:00 pm
Tue 13 Feb 2018, 15:43 pm
Tue 06 Feb 2018, 17:34 pm
Mon 05 Feb 2018, 13:57 pm
Fri 02 Feb 2018, 09:30 am
Thu 01 Feb 2018, 10:14 am
Tue 30 Jan 2018, 14:00 pm
Mon 29 Jan 2018, 17:00 pm
Thu 25 Jan 2018, 18:00 pm
Wed 24 Jan 2018, 16:30 pm
Mon 22 Jan 2018, 18:30 pm
Fri 19 Jan 2018, 13:00 pm
Wed 17 Jan 2018, 23:00 pm
Tue 16 Jan 2018, 12:59 pm
Fri 12 Jan 2018, 10:00 am
Thu 11 Jan 2018, 15:42 pm
Banners
Banners
Subscribe to our Newsletter
have a story? Send us a Tip
Banners
  • Previous
    Next
    Masa Centre
    ::: Wednesday 21 Nov - Wednesday 21 Nov :::
  • Previous
    Next
    Riverwalk
    ::: Wednesday 21 Nov - Wednesday 21 Nov :::
  • Previous
    Next
    Gamecity
    ::: Wednesday 21 Nov - Wednesday 21 Nov :::
Selefu
Judges
Banners
Banners
istanbul escort