The Monitor :: Kudos To Mogobane Junior Secondary School
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Last Updated
Tuesday 20 February 2018, 16:32 pm.
Banners
Kudos To Mogobane Junior Secondary School

News that Mogobane Junior Secondary School is counted amongst top five schools countrywide in terms of pass rate, is very welcome. This piece of good news is one that can serve as motivation to other schools still at the bottom of the barrel.
By Monitor Editor Mon 29 Jan 2018, 06:27 am (GMT +2)
The Monitor :: Kudos To Mogobane Junior Secondary School








Mogobane JSS for many years was counted amongst the worst performing schools. The school even failed to attain a 50% pass rate year after year for a long time.

The school has many challenges, something which is a commonality amongst public schools, especially those in the villages.

The school admits students from Mogobane and surrounding smaller villages such as Lenkwana and Manogeng. Sadly, some of the students have to walk long distances to and from school, something, which is shocking that in this day and age, we still have students who walk close to 22 kilometres to access education.

The school also has challenges of both water and accommodation shortages. It is not only students who have to travel long distances to reach the  school as teachers also travel from Gaborone, Otse, and Ramotswa due to lack of teachers’ housing. The school is a good example of the popular saying, “If life gives you lemons, make lemonade”.

The phrase encourages optimism and a positive attitude in the face of adversity. The school acknowledged that they have challenges, but instead of giving up and taking the ‘there-is-nothing-we-can-do-about-it’ stance, they

Banners

decided to come up with strategies, to improve their results. An outlook that if all of us practiced would have positive results.

The school decided to partner with the community and other stakeholders to ensure good results for the betterment of future leaders. The school in the recently released results, attained a whopping 70.3% pass, something which should be applauded, and encouraged. The school has turned itself into a model that other schools should follow.

It is common knowledge that the public school system has many challenges, some of which are overcrowding in school, lack of teacher’s housing, limited resources, poor working conditions, just to mention a few, but it is imperative for communities to have strong links with schools to ensure that ‘our children’ get a good education.

The partnerships, 1of course should not lead to complacency from the side of government. The very same partnerships, which have made the school a success story, should actually pull their forces to lobby government to resolve the challenges faced by schools in the country. Schools in rural areas seem to be neglected, and that is unacceptable.

Banners
Banners
Banners


Editorial
Mon 29 Jan 2018, 06:27 am
Mon 22 Jan 2018, 16:42 pm
Mon 15 Jan 2018, 17:09 pm
Mon 18 Dec 2017, 15:23 pm
Mon 11 Dec 2017, 16:15 pm
Mon 04 Dec 2017, 16:25 pm
Mon 20 Nov 2017, 17:55 pm
Mon 13 Nov 2017, 15:49 pm
Mon 06 Nov 2017, 10:09 am
Mon 30 Oct 2017, 11:01 am
Mon 23 Oct 2017, 15:28 pm
Mon 09 Oct 2017, 11:26 am
Mon 25 Sep 2017, 11:17 am
Mon 11 Sep 2017, 11:52 am
Mon 04 Sep 2017, 11:41 am
Mon 28 Aug 2017, 11:49 am
Mon 14 Aug 2017, 11:02 am
Mon 07 Aug 2017, 10:37 am
Mon 31 Jul 2017, 11:20 am
Mon 24 Jul 2017, 11:39 am
Mon 10 Jul 2017, 11:19 am
Tue 04 Jul 2017, 16:07 pm
Mon 26 Jun 2017, 11:29 am
Mon 19 Jun 2017, 11:39 am
Mon 12 Jun 2017, 15:23 pm
Banners
Banners
Exchange Rates
FOREIGN EXCHANGE: Tuesday, 20 Feb 2018
FOREIGN / PULA
PULA / FOREIGN
1 USD = Pula   9.5147
1 GBP = Pula   13.2979
1 EUR = Pula   11.7786
1 YEN = Pula   0.0890
1 ZAR = Pula   0.8112
1 Pula = USD   0.1051
1 Pula = GBP   0.0752
1 Pula = EUR   0.0849
1 Pula = YEN   11.24
1 Pula = ZAR   1.2327
have a story? Send us a Tip
Banners
  • Previous
    Next
    Masa Centre
    ::: Tuesday 20 Feb - Tuesday 20 Feb :::
  • Previous
    Next
    Riverwalk
    ::: Tuesday 20 Feb - Tuesday 20 Feb :::
  • Previous
    Next
    Gamecity
    ::: Tuesday 20 Feb - Tuesday 20 Feb :::
Selefu
Change of Guard South Africa
Banners
Banners
istanbul escort