Mmegi Online :: Zimbabwe: Mugabe forgot he fired me
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Last Updated
Friday 23 February 2018, 16:09 pm.
Banners
Zimbabwe: Mugabe forgot he fired me

Zimbabwe's President Emmerson Mnangagwa has said that his predecessor, Robert Mugabe, forgot he had fired him as his deputy as he tried to quell the crisis that eventually led to his being ousted as leader of the country.
By BBC.COM Fri 19 Jan 2018, 13:00 pm (GMT +2)
Mmegi Online :: Zimbabwe: Mugabe forgot he fired me








Mr Mnangagwa made the comments on Thursday during a one-day visit to Mozambique, New Zimbabwe news site reports.

He said that he had a telephone conversation with the 93-year-old leader who asked him why he was out of the country. 

He recounted the conversation while mimicking Mr Mugabe's voice:

"Emmerson. Where are you? 'In South Africa'. What are you doing there? 'You fired me...you fired me last week."

Mr Mnangagwa said that Mr Mugabe then urged him to return to Zimbabwe, but says he replied that "there

Banners

are people who surround you want to eliminate me". 

He said he feared for his life.

Behind the scenes, Mr Mnangagwa had been involved in an intense campaign against First Lady Grace Mugabe to succeed Mr Mugabe as president.

He was subsequently fired as deputy vice-president leading the military to launch a dramatic takeover which ended Mr Mugabe's 37-year rule.

Mr Mnangagwa returned to the country from South Africa and was sworn in as president on 24 November.

Banners
Banners
Banners


World
Fri 19 Jan 2018, 13:00 pm
Wed 17 Jan 2018, 23:00 pm
Tue 16 Jan 2018, 12:59 pm
Fri 12 Jan 2018, 10:00 am
Thu 11 Jan 2018, 15:42 pm
Wed 10 Jan 2018, 16:22 pm
Tue 09 Jan 2018, 15:46 pm
Mon 18 Dec 2017, 22:35 pm
Thu 07 Dec 2017, 15:14 pm
Tue 05 Dec 2017, 20:53 pm
Sun 03 Dec 2017, 13:00 pm
Fri 01 Dec 2017, 17:06 pm
Wed 29 Nov 2017, 09:58 am
Tue 28 Nov 2017, 16:43 pm
Thu 23 Nov 2017, 09:05 am
Tue 14 Nov 2017, 23:45 pm
Mon 13 Nov 2017, 18:06 pm
Tue 07 Nov 2017, 17:02 pm
Wed 25 Oct 2017, 06:57 am
Mon 16 Oct 2017, 16:43 pm
Fri 13 Oct 2017, 14:05 pm
Thu 05 Oct 2017, 06:38 am
Wed 27 Sep 2017, 11:03 am
Thu 21 Sep 2017, 12:09 pm
Tue 05 Sep 2017, 13:18 pm
Banners
Banners
Exchange Rates
FOREIGN EXCHANGE: Friday, 23 Feb 2018
FOREIGN / PULA
PULA / FOREIGN
1 USD = Pula   9.5057
1 GBP = Pula   13.2626
1 EUR = Pula   11.6959
1 YEN = Pula   0.0889
1 ZAR = Pula   0.8142
1 Pula = USD   0.1052
1 Pula = GBP   0.0754
1 Pula = EUR   0.0855
1 Pula = YEN   11.25
1 Pula = ZAR   1.2282
have a story? Send us a Tip
Banners
  • Previous
    Next
    Masa Centre
    ::: Saturday 24 Feb - Saturday 24 Feb :::
  • Previous
    Next
    Riverwalk
    ::: Saturday 24 Feb - Saturday 24 Feb :::
  • Previous
    Next
    Gamecity
    ::: Saturday 24 Feb - Saturday 24 Feb :::
Selefu
UDC CONSTITUENCY ALLOCATION
Banners
Banners
istanbul escort