Mmegi Online :: Time to share infrastructure
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Last Updated
Wednesday 19 September 2018, 14:07 pm.
Banners
Time to share infrastructure

The government has been called to share information and communications technology (ICT) infrastructure with the private sector to increase the latter’s public outreach and create jobs.
By Mmegi Editor Tue 19 Dec 2017, 16:23 pm (GMT +2)
Mmegi Online :: Time to share infrastructure








Such infrastructure as radio and television transmitters is scattered across the country and is underutilised. In some instances, the infrastructure is vandalised because of lack of security.

Private radio stations have in the past appealed to the government to avail radio mast, but without success.  It is regrettable that the government is always preaching citizen empowerment and job creation yet it cannot see opportunities to empower the private sector.

The sharing of infrastructure can be used as a revenue generation channel where the private sector pays a certain fee for using the infrastructure.

The sharing of infrastructure can also be extended to other areas such as lighting equipment that can be rented to filmmakers. 

There is need to change mindsets on how we do things if we are to create sustainable jobs. Another area that needs urgent attention of the authorities is the inclusion of restaurants in government buildings that should be rented to locals or graduates who are unemployed but trained in catering.

This idea will formalise the existing initiative where caterers are allowed to sell food in government buildings.

There are many government buildings such as Rural Administration Centres that are found in many peri-urban centres that should dedicate

Banners

space for restaurants.

This will reduce the amount of time civil servants walk to buy food at nearby stores, or malls and hopefully improve productivity in the long run.

There is urgent need for the government to engage the private sector in many aspects to realise economic growth and prosperity for all.

It has been proven that Public Private Partnerships produce good outcomes because the private sector is more productive and good at saving costs than the government.

The private sector also wants to realise the value for their investment and therefore ensure that infrastructure is always in good condition and that faults are attended to within shortest possible time.

When Botswana Telecommunications Corporation was under government control, it took several months for customers to connect landlines to their residences or businesses, but that has since changed and it takes a few days for that transaction, thanks to privatisation. 

Lastly, the government should liberalise other sectors of the economy such as air transport to allow for competition, more players and job creation.

Today’s thought

“The best partnerships aren’t dependent on a mere common goal but on a shared path of equality, desire, and no small amount of passion.”

 

- Sarah MacLean

Subscribe to our Newsletter
Banners
Banners
Banners


Editorial
Tue 19 Dec 2017, 16:23 pm
Fri 15 Dec 2017, 15:16 pm
Thu 14 Dec 2017, 16:40 pm
Wed 13 Dec 2017, 16:29 pm
Tue 12 Dec 2017, 15:42 pm
Thu 07 Dec 2017, 13:37 pm
Wed 06 Dec 2017, 17:21 pm
Tue 05 Dec 2017, 13:12 pm
Fri 01 Dec 2017, 15:17 pm
Thu 30 Nov 2017, 17:37 pm
Wed 29 Nov 2017, 17:28 pm
Tue 28 Nov 2017, 16:18 pm
Fri 24 Nov 2017, 17:19 pm
Thu 23 Nov 2017, 14:30 pm
Wed 22 Nov 2017, 18:13 pm
Tue 21 Nov 2017, 16:39 pm
Thu 16 Nov 2017, 15:08 pm
Wed 15 Nov 2017, 19:06 pm
Tue 14 Nov 2017, 16:48 pm
Fri 10 Nov 2017, 15:20 pm
Wed 08 Nov 2017, 11:37 am
Tue 07 Nov 2017, 11:55 am
Fri 03 Nov 2017, 10:06 am
Thu 02 Nov 2017, 09:17 am
Wed 01 Nov 2017, 11:38 am
Banners
Banners
Exchange Rates
FOREIGN EXCHANGE: Wednesday, 17 Jan 2018
FOREIGN / PULA
PULA / FOREIGN
1 USD = Pula   9.7656
1 GBP = Pula   13.4590
1 EUR = Pula   11.9617
1 YEN = Pula   0.0882
1 ZAR = Pula   0.7938
1 Pula = USD   0.1024
1 Pula = GBP   0.0743
1 Pula = EUR   0.0836
1 Pula = YEN   11.34
1 Pula = ZAR   1.2597
Subscribe to our Newsletter
have a story? Send us a Tip
Banners
  • Previous
    The Predator
    Next
    Masa Centre
    ::: Friday 14 Sep - Thursday 20 Sep :::
    The Predator
    The Nun
    Mile 22
    Crazy Rich Asians
    Hotel Transylvania 3: A Monster Vacation
  • Previous
    The Nun
    Next
    Riverwalk
    ::: Friday 14 Sep - Thursday 20 Sep :::
    The Nun
    The Predator
    Hotel Transylvania 3: A Monster Vacation
    The Equalizer 2
  • Previous
    The Meg
    Next
    Gamecity
    ::: Friday 10 Aug - Sunday 07 Aug :::
    The Meg
    Sgt. Stubby: An American Hero
    The Predator
    The Nun
    Mile 22
    Hotel Transylvania 3: A Monster Vacation
    The Equalizer 2
Selefu
Maruping go a boelwa.
Banners
Banners
istanbul escort