Mmegi Online :: South Africa's ANC picks Cyril Ramaphosa as leader
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Last Updated
Monday 19 November 2018, 13:52 pm.
Banners
South Africa's ANC picks Cyril Ramaphosa as leader

South Africa's ruling African National Congress (ANC) has selected Cyril Ramaphosa to succeed President Jacob Zuma as the party's leader.
By BBC.COM Mon 18 Dec 2017, 22:35 pm (GMT +2)
Mmegi Online :: South Africa's ANC picks Cyril Ramaphosa as leader








The country's deputy president defeated former cabinet minister Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma, Mr Zuma's ex-wife, after a marathon voting process.

Mr Ramaphosa is in a strong position to become president in 2019 polls.

The leadership battle caused fierce political infighting, raising fears the party might split before the election.

Mr Ramaphosa defeated Ms Dlamini-Zuma

Banners

by 2,440 votes to 2,261, an ANC spokesperson announced.

The result triggered celebrations among party delegates in Johannesburg and also on the streets of the city.

Media reports said earlier that the announcement had been delayed, with Ms Dlamini-Zuma's camp demanding a recount.

The voting process started on Sunday.

Subscribe to our Newsletter
Banners
Banners
Banners


World
Mon 18 Dec 2017, 22:35 pm
Thu 07 Dec 2017, 15:14 pm
Tue 05 Dec 2017, 20:53 pm
Sun 03 Dec 2017, 13:00 pm
Fri 01 Dec 2017, 17:06 pm
Wed 29 Nov 2017, 09:58 am
Tue 28 Nov 2017, 16:43 pm
Thu 23 Nov 2017, 09:05 am
Tue 14 Nov 2017, 23:45 pm
Mon 13 Nov 2017, 18:06 pm
Tue 07 Nov 2017, 17:02 pm
Wed 25 Oct 2017, 06:57 am
Mon 16 Oct 2017, 16:43 pm
Fri 13 Oct 2017, 14:05 pm
Thu 05 Oct 2017, 06:38 am
Wed 27 Sep 2017, 11:03 am
Thu 21 Sep 2017, 12:09 pm
Tue 05 Sep 2017, 13:18 pm
Wed 26 Jul 2017, 09:44 am
Fri 07 Jul 2017, 20:00 pm
Fri 23 Jun 2017, 10:44 am
Fri 16 Jun 2017, 10:17 am
Mon 05 Jun 2017, 11:34 am
Fri 02 Jun 2017, 11:41 am
Thu 18 May 2017, 09:44 am
Banners
Banners
Subscribe to our Newsletter
have a story? Send us a Tip
Banners
  • Previous
    Next
    Masa Centre
    ::: Monday 19 Nov - Monday 19 Nov :::
  • Previous
    Next
    Riverwalk
    ::: Monday 19 Nov - Monday 19 Nov :::
  • Previous
    Next
    Gamecity
    ::: Monday 19 Nov - Monday 19 Nov :::
Selefu
Judges
Banners
Banners
istanbul escort