The Monitor :: We Have 365 Days Of Activism Against Gbv
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Last Updated
Monday 19 November 2018, 06:00 am.
Banners
We Have 365 Days Of Activism Against Gbv

A number of people have now become accustomed to the annual commemoration of 16 Days of Activism Against Gender Based Violence (GBV).
By Monitor Editor Mon 11 Dec 2017, 16:15 pm (GMT +2)
The Monitor :: We Have 365 Days Of Activism Against Gbv








The commemoration, which begins on November 25 and end on December 10, has seen organisations hosting activities, where brave survivors of GBV shared their touching stories, all in an effort to increase awareness about this monster and encourage women not  to suffer in silence when they are being abused.

The campaign, which was started by the first Women’s Leadership Institute in 1991, was an organising strategy by individuals and organisations around the world to call for prevention and elimination of violence against women and girls.

Since, different organisations and non-government organisations have hosted events, where survivors of GBV, and experts in different shared information, all in a concerted to increase awareness and provide a platform for discussions on ending the scourge.

Amongst those who should be applauded are the women who take centre stage and share their painful stories with others, all in an effort to encourage others and to speak out against GBV. What these women do is actually greater than great, as they break the stereotype and stigmatising that societal values place on victims of abuse, whether be it women, children or men.

Certain cultures encourage families not to air their ‘dirty laundry’ in public,

Banners

something Batswana are notorious for, termed go bipa mpa ka mabele. In fact most cultures discourage victims of GBV to speak out, encouraging them to suffer in silence.

Another sad reality is the fact that some members of society who still stigmatise victims of GBV, and utter irresponsible statements of victim blaming.

GBV remains one of the biggest challenges worldwide, including Botswana, hence the need to turn the campaign into a 365-day affair. Yes, the campaign has made some strides in the past years, but fighting GBV on a daily basis will accomplish much more.

It is common knowledge that these campaigns need funds, but the society can come together and come-up with ways of coming up with campaigns, which are less costly, so that the campaign becomes part our daily lives.

The corporate world should also step on board and see how they can help, as issues of GBV is no something anyone can divorce themselves from, it affects the both the rich and the poor, the educated and uneducated, the employed and unemployed.

GBV campaigns should also be taken to rural areas, as villages and cattle-posts also record a high number of GBV cases.

 

Subscribe to our Newsletter
Banners
Banners
Banners


Editorial
Mon 11 Dec 2017, 16:15 pm
Mon 04 Dec 2017, 16:25 pm
Mon 20 Nov 2017, 17:55 pm
Mon 13 Nov 2017, 15:49 pm
Mon 06 Nov 2017, 10:09 am
Mon 30 Oct 2017, 11:01 am
Mon 23 Oct 2017, 15:28 pm
Mon 09 Oct 2017, 11:26 am
Mon 25 Sep 2017, 11:17 am
Mon 11 Sep 2017, 11:52 am
Mon 04 Sep 2017, 11:41 am
Mon 28 Aug 2017, 11:49 am
Mon 14 Aug 2017, 11:02 am
Mon 07 Aug 2017, 10:37 am
Mon 31 Jul 2017, 11:20 am
Mon 24 Jul 2017, 11:39 am
Mon 10 Jul 2017, 11:19 am
Tue 04 Jul 2017, 16:07 pm
Mon 26 Jun 2017, 11:29 am
Mon 19 Jun 2017, 11:39 am
Mon 12 Jun 2017, 15:23 pm
Mon 05 Jun 2017, 17:05 pm
Mon 29 May 2017, 11:57 am
Mon 22 May 2017, 11:11 am
Mon 15 May 2017, 11:57 am
Banners
Banners
Subscribe to our Newsletter
have a story? Send us a Tip
Banners
  • Previous
    Next
    Masa Centre
    ::: Monday 19 Nov - Monday 19 Nov :::
  • Previous
    Next
    Riverwalk
    ::: Monday 19 Nov - Monday 19 Nov :::
  • Previous
    Next
    Gamecity
    ::: Monday 19 Nov - Monday 19 Nov :::
Selefu
Judges
Banners
Banners
istanbul escort