The Monitor :: A Time To Give
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Last Updated
Friday 08 December 2017, 17:25 pm.
Banners
A Time To Give

A number of Batswana have embarked on initiatives that seek to improve or promote the welfare of other members of the society who are less privileged.
By Monitor Editor Mon 04 Dec 2017, 16:25 pm (GMT +2)
The Monitor :: A Time To Give








In recent years, we have seen companies and individuals coming up with different initiatives intended for the betterment of their communities. Different companies which include Orange Botswana, Mascom, Social Dialogue Organisation, Eco-Tswana, Botswana Life, Choppies, Office of the President just to mention a few, have over the years donated a variety of necessities to disadvantaged members of society, which include, but are not limited to houses, groceries, sanitary pads, clothing items and more.

The big companies are not alone in this initiative, as a number of warm-hearted individuals saw the need to jump onto the bandwagon and assist where they could. These individuals include but are not limited to Chandapiwa Baputaki, of the Changing One Life A Million Times, Gogontlejang Phaladi, who started giving a helping hand at a very tender age, Dr. Pinkie Mekgwe, and Mabaila Foundation, founded by Tshepang Mabaila. Another one of these philanthropists is Michelle Phetlhe of ESTeRES Boutique Agency. Phetlhe who over time has been raising funds for different non-profit organisations, recently announced a fresh drive, that is to raise funds for Thuto Boswa Rehabilitation Centre, a centre which enrolls people with different disabilities. The centre’s capacity of 35 students both girls and boys aged between 16 and 35.

With the number of students

Banners

the centre has, it only has one 14-seater school bus, which obviously presents the centre with a challenge when it comes to transporting the students. She saw the need to raise funds to buy the school a second school bus. Phetlhe is looking at raising a total of P100,000 for the sole purpose of buying the school that second vehicle. She has previously donated to the centre in the form of clothing items amongst others. These good deeds should encourage all of us to look at our society’s needs and offer a helping hand. Such individuals should inspire the rest of society to emulate the good work they have done. A helping hand by the way is not restricted to donations only, as community members might assist in a variety of ways, including volunteering.

The society pulling up its efforts will go a long way in improving the welfare of the less privileged members of our society. Some people living with disability require specialised care, which in most cases, can be quite expensive, and if we as a society take the example from others who are doing these incredible selfless  works, we will be able a make a difference in the lives of many others.

Banners
Banners
Banners


Editorial
Mon 04 Dec 2017, 16:25 pm
Mon 20 Nov 2017, 17:55 pm
Mon 13 Nov 2017, 15:49 pm
Mon 06 Nov 2017, 10:09 am
Mon 30 Oct 2017, 11:01 am
Mon 23 Oct 2017, 15:28 pm
Mon 09 Oct 2017, 11:26 am
Mon 25 Sep 2017, 11:17 am
Mon 11 Sep 2017, 11:52 am
Mon 04 Sep 2017, 11:41 am
Mon 28 Aug 2017, 11:49 am
Mon 14 Aug 2017, 11:02 am
Mon 07 Aug 2017, 10:37 am
Mon 31 Jul 2017, 11:20 am
Mon 24 Jul 2017, 11:39 am
Mon 10 Jul 2017, 11:19 am
Tue 04 Jul 2017, 16:07 pm
Mon 26 Jun 2017, 11:29 am
Mon 19 Jun 2017, 11:39 am
Mon 12 Jun 2017, 15:23 pm
Mon 05 Jun 2017, 17:05 pm
Mon 29 May 2017, 11:57 am
Mon 22 May 2017, 11:11 am
Mon 15 May 2017, 11:57 am
Mon 08 May 2017, 11:38 am
Banners
Banners
Exchange Rates
FOREIGN EXCHANGE: Friday, 08 Dec 2017
FOREIGN / PULA
PULA / FOREIGN
1 USD = Pula   10.3734
1 GBP = Pula   14.0252
1 EUR = Pula   12.1951
1 YEN = Pula   0.0915
1 ZAR = Pula   0.7553
1 Pula = USD   0.0964
1 Pula = GBP   0.0713
1 Pula = EUR   0.082
1 Pula = YEN   10.93
1 Pula = ZAR   1.324
have a story? Send us a Tip
Banners
  • Previous
    Next
    Masa Centre
    ::: Monday 11 Dec - Monday 11 Dec :::
  • Previous
    Next
    Riverwalk
    ::: Monday 11 Dec - Monday 11 Dec :::
  • Previous
    Next
    Gamecity
    ::: Monday 11 Dec - Monday 11 Dec :::
Selefu
Out to weed out corruption!
Banners
Banners
istanbul escort