Mmegi Online :: ISPAAD poorly monitored
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Last Updated
Friday 25 May 2018, 14:11 pm.
Banners
ISPAAD poorly monitored

The Minister of Agricultural Development and Food Security, Patrick Ralotsia has finally admitted that the Integrated Support Programme for Arable Agriculture Development (ISPAAD) has failed to achieve its goals.
By Mmegi Editor Thu 30 Nov 2017, 17:37 pm (GMT +2)
Mmegi Online :: ISPAAD poorly monitored








The country, he says is yet to realise the return on investment as the government continues to pour hundreds of millions of pula in the programme that was introduced in 2008 when President Ian Khama took over. Infact, it is one of the President’s flagship programmes.

It is regrettable that programmes of this nature have failed to produce any fruits yet they had good intentions. This clearly shows that there are poor monitoring mechanisms put in place before a programme can be announced in a Kgotla meeting and ultimately implemented in a hurry to appease voters.

Food security has always been our biggest shortcoming as a nation as we have relied on food imports from neighbouring South Africa for many decades. Food items such as maize, sorghum, and beans are part of our staple food menu, but we are struggling to produce enough harvest to meet national demand.

The most disturbing thing about Ralotsia’s admission is the revelation that there is a lot of corruption taking place in the ISPAAD programme, to a point where one company was found distributing expired manure.

As investigations continue, we urge the Minister to also investigate what expired manure can do to a ploughing field. We have gathered that expired manure can cause irreparable damage to ploughing fields and rendering them useless.

“You will agree with me that the investment doesn’t

Banners

match the return because of the abuse that is apparent in ISPAAD. We lose millions of pula every year trying to improve food security of this country.”

These words from the Minister clearly show that corruption is now imbedded in our institutions and will take a rocket scientist to remove it. This is because for the last 10 years, there has never been a conviction of a big fish. The Directorate on Corruption and Economic Crime has diverted all its energy to small offenders who steal little amount whilst those who cause huge damage are hardly chased.

 The Directorate of Public Prosecutions on the other hand find it difficult to prosecute in the absence of enough evidence. It seems our institutions are okay with corruption! It is going to take us many years to return to normalcy if we can’t deal with this problem now - we have to hold these institutions accountable and they should justify why they are in existence. People have become shockingly greedy and government programmes need strong monitoring lest public health is put at risk.

Today’s thought

“Where do the evils like corruption arise from? It comes from the never-ending greed. The fight for corruption-free ethical society will have to be fought against this greed and replace it with ‘what can I give’ spirit.”

 A. P. J. Abdul Kalam

Subscribe to our Newsletter
Banners
Banners
Banners


Editorial
Thu 30 Nov 2017, 17:37 pm
Wed 29 Nov 2017, 17:28 pm
Tue 28 Nov 2017, 16:18 pm
Fri 24 Nov 2017, 17:19 pm
Thu 23 Nov 2017, 14:30 pm
Wed 22 Nov 2017, 18:13 pm
Tue 21 Nov 2017, 16:39 pm
Thu 16 Nov 2017, 15:08 pm
Wed 15 Nov 2017, 19:06 pm
Tue 14 Nov 2017, 16:48 pm
Fri 10 Nov 2017, 15:20 pm
Wed 08 Nov 2017, 11:37 am
Tue 07 Nov 2017, 11:55 am
Fri 03 Nov 2017, 10:06 am
Thu 02 Nov 2017, 09:17 am
Wed 01 Nov 2017, 11:38 am
Tue 31 Oct 2017, 11:24 am
Fri 27 Oct 2017, 11:01 am
Thu 26 Oct 2017, 11:20 am
Wed 25 Oct 2017, 11:49 am
Tue 24 Oct 2017, 11:30 am
Fri 20 Oct 2017, 11:31 am
Thu 19 Oct 2017, 11:59 am
Wed 18 Oct 2017, 11:58 am
Tue 17 Oct 2017, 11:52 am
Banners
Banners
Exchange Rates
FOREIGN EXCHANGE: Wednesday, 17 Jan 2018
FOREIGN / PULA
PULA / FOREIGN
1 USD = Pula   9.7656
1 GBP = Pula   13.4590
1 EUR = Pula   11.9617
1 YEN = Pula   0.0882
1 ZAR = Pula   0.7938
1 Pula = USD   0.1024
1 Pula = GBP   0.0743
1 Pula = EUR   0.0836
1 Pula = YEN   11.34
1 Pula = ZAR   1.2597
Subscribe to our Newsletter
have a story? Send us a Tip
Banners
  • Previous
    Solo: A Star Wars Story
    Next
    Masa Centre
    ::: Friday 25 May - Thursday 31 May :::
    Solo: A Star Wars Story
    Deadpool 2
    Life of the Party
    Sherlock Gnomes
    Avengers: Infinity War
  • Previous
    Deadpool 2
    Next
    Riverwalk
    ::: Friday 25 May - Thursday 31 May :::
    Deadpool 2
    Solo: A Star Wars Story
    Sherlock Gnomes
    Avengers: Infinity War
  • Previous
    Life of the Party
    Next
    Gamecity
    ::: Friday 25 May - Thursday 31 May :::
    Life of the Party
    Solo: A Star Wars Story
    Deadpool 2
    Sherlock Gnomes
    Avengers: Infinity War
Selefu
BDP Chairman
Banners
Banners
istanbul escort