The Monitor :: Zims Have Spoken, Blocs Must Listen
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Last Updated
Friday 17 August 2018, 13:30 pm.
Banners
Zims Have Spoken, Blocs Must Listen

Zimbabweans seem skepitcal with the ‘sudden’ interest of the Southern African Development Community (SADC) in the unfolding political situation in their country.
By Monitor Editor Mon 20 Nov 2017, 17:55 pm (GMT +2)
The Monitor :: Zims Have Spoken, Blocs Must Listen








Many have taken to social media platforms like Twitter and Facebook, to show their displeasure with the bloc. On November 15, SADC issued a statement, which  was quickly attacked many Zimbabweans who criticised the bloc for its ‘long silence when the people of Zimbabwe were suffering’.

The SADC statement by South African President, Jacob Zuma, current chairperson of SADC read: “The Southern African Development Community (SADC) notes with great concern the unfolding political situation in the Republic of Zimbabwe. SADC calls for calm and restraint, and expresses hope that developments in Zimbabwe would not lead to unconstitutional changes of Government, as that would be contrary to both SADC and African Union principles.

SADC urges the Government of the Republic of Zimbabwe, and the Zimbabwe Defence Force to resolve the political impasse amicably, and further urges the Zimbabwe Defence Force to ensure that the maintenance of peace and security in the country is not compromised. SADC will continue to closely monitor the situation, and remains ready to assist where necessary to resolve the political impasse in keeping with established SADC Protocols and processes”. 

The statement led to many

Banners

Zimbabweans being suspicious of SADC’s intentions. There is not doubt that a majority of Zimbabweans at this present moment are speaking with one voice, and that is for President Robert Mugabe, who has ruled the country for 37 years to step down. The statement seems to suggest that the  bloc wants to protect Mugabe. Some of the tweets by Zimbabweans do not mince words, and show how disappointed they are with both the regional and continental bodies whose actions over the years were too little and now, too late.

  “South Africa, Zuma and Mbeki as well as SADC must leave Zimbabwe alone for now. Should we get to a point when we need you, we will advise and invite you. I hope SADC will not take any action that will see them fighting with the rest of the citizens of Zimbabwe. We have been suffering all along without your help, and now you want to come in because one of your members is out. Hands off Zimbabwe unless you want to fight with the rest of Zimbabwe” - Thomas Dube, November 16.

Subscribe to our Newsletter
Banners
Banners
Banners


Editorial
Mon 20 Nov 2017, 17:55 pm
Mon 13 Nov 2017, 15:49 pm
Mon 06 Nov 2017, 10:09 am
Mon 30 Oct 2017, 11:01 am
Mon 23 Oct 2017, 15:28 pm
Mon 09 Oct 2017, 11:26 am
Mon 25 Sep 2017, 11:17 am
Mon 11 Sep 2017, 11:52 am
Mon 04 Sep 2017, 11:41 am
Mon 28 Aug 2017, 11:49 am
Mon 14 Aug 2017, 11:02 am
Mon 07 Aug 2017, 10:37 am
Mon 31 Jul 2017, 11:20 am
Mon 24 Jul 2017, 11:39 am
Mon 10 Jul 2017, 11:19 am
Tue 04 Jul 2017, 16:07 pm
Mon 26 Jun 2017, 11:29 am
Mon 19 Jun 2017, 11:39 am
Mon 12 Jun 2017, 15:23 pm
Mon 05 Jun 2017, 17:05 pm
Mon 29 May 2017, 11:57 am
Mon 22 May 2017, 11:11 am
Mon 15 May 2017, 11:57 am
Mon 08 May 2017, 11:38 am
Tue 02 May 2017, 11:56 am
Banners
Banners
Exchange Rates
FOREIGN EXCHANGE: Wednesday, 17 Jan 2018
FOREIGN / PULA
PULA / FOREIGN
1 USD = Pula   9.7656
1 GBP = Pula   13.4590
1 EUR = Pula   11.9617
1 YEN = Pula   0.0882
1 ZAR = Pula   0.7938
1 Pula = USD   0.1024
1 Pula = GBP   0.0743
1 Pula = EUR   0.0836
1 Pula = YEN   11.34
1 Pula = ZAR   1.2597
Subscribe to our Newsletter
have a story? Send us a Tip
Banners
  • Previous
    Next
    Masa Centre
    ::: Friday 17 Aug - Friday 17 Aug :::
  • Previous
    Next
    Riverwalk
    ::: Friday 17 Aug - Friday 17 Aug :::
  • Previous
    The Meg
    Next
    Gamecity
    ::: Friday 10 Aug - Sunday 07 Aug :::
    The Meg
Selefu
Ga go tsenwe! Re beile Botsetse.
Banners
Banners
istanbul escort