Mmegi Online :: Zimbabwe: Army chief accused of 'treasonable conduct'
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Last Updated
Monday 20 August 2018, 14:43 pm.
Banners
Zimbabwe: Army chief accused of 'treasonable conduct'

Zimbabwe's ruling party has accused the country's army chief of "treasonable conduct" after he warned of a possible military intervention in politics.
By BBC.COM Tue 14 Nov 2017, 23:45 pm (GMT +2)
Mmegi Online :: Zimbabwe: Army chief accused of 'treasonable conduct'








General Constantino Chiwenga had challenged President Robert Mugabe after he sacked the vice-president.

Gen Chiwenga said the army was prepared to act to end purges within Mr Mugabe's Zanu-PF party.

The party said the general's comments were "calculated to disturb national peace... [and] incite insurrection".

In a statement, the party said it would never succumb to military threats, and that it "reaffirms the primacy of politics over the gun".

The statement was signed by SK Moyo, the information secretary, on party letterheaded paper.

Mr Mugabe sacked Vice-President Emmerson Mnangagwa last week, amid a row over succession.

Mr Mnangagwa had previously been seen as an heir to the 93-year-old president, but First Lady Grace Mugabe is now the clear front-runner.

On Tuesday, BBC correspondents reported that a few armoured vehicles had been seen on a main public road outside the capital city, Harare, having left one of the country's main military barracks, Inkomo.

It is not clear where they were heading but they were not seen on the streets of the city itself. One of the vehicles had broken down on the side of the road.

Gen

Banners

Chiwenga's warning of possible military intervention came on Monday at a news conference at the army's headquarters.

He said the "purging" within Zanu-PF was "clearly targeting members of the party with a liberation background", referring to the country's struggle for independence.

"We must remind those behind the current treacherous shenanigans that when it comes to matters of protecting our revolution, the military will not hesitate to step in," he said.

Mr Mnangagwa is one such veteran of the 1970s war which led to independence.

Gen Chiwenga gave his address surrounded by 90 senior army officers.

But the leader of Zanu-PF's youth wing, Kudzai Chipanga, said the general did not have the full support of the entire military.

"We will not sit and fold hands while threats are made against a legitimately-elected government," he warned.

The youth wing supports President Mugabe's wife, Grace, as his successor - something which the former vice president had opposed.

Mr Mnangagwa had told Mr Mugabe that Zanu-PF is "not personal property for you and your wife to do as you please" before he was forced into exile.

Subscribe to our Newsletter
Banners
Banners
Banners


World
Tue 14 Nov 2017, 23:45 pm
Mon 13 Nov 2017, 18:06 pm
Tue 07 Nov 2017, 17:02 pm
Wed 25 Oct 2017, 06:57 am
Mon 16 Oct 2017, 16:43 pm
Fri 13 Oct 2017, 14:05 pm
Thu 05 Oct 2017, 06:38 am
Wed 27 Sep 2017, 11:03 am
Thu 21 Sep 2017, 12:09 pm
Tue 05 Sep 2017, 13:18 pm
Wed 26 Jul 2017, 09:44 am
Fri 07 Jul 2017, 20:00 pm
Fri 23 Jun 2017, 10:44 am
Fri 16 Jun 2017, 10:17 am
Mon 05 Jun 2017, 11:34 am
Fri 02 Jun 2017, 11:41 am
Thu 18 May 2017, 09:44 am
Wed 10 May 2017, 09:19 am
Tue 09 May 2017, 10:09 am
Wed 26 Apr 2017, 14:59 pm
Fri 21 Apr 2017, 13:19 pm
Wed 19 Apr 2017, 17:30 pm
Tue 04 Apr 2017, 16:37 pm
Fri 31 Mar 2017, 11:11 am
Thu 30 Mar 2017, 10:05 am
Banners
Banners
Exchange Rates
FOREIGN EXCHANGE: Wednesday, 17 Jan 2018
FOREIGN / PULA
PULA / FOREIGN
1 USD = Pula   9.7656
1 GBP = Pula   13.4590
1 EUR = Pula   11.9617
1 YEN = Pula   0.0882
1 ZAR = Pula   0.7938
1 Pula = USD   0.1024
1 Pula = GBP   0.0743
1 Pula = EUR   0.0836
1 Pula = YEN   11.34
1 Pula = ZAR   1.2597
Subscribe to our Newsletter
have a story? Send us a Tip
Banners
  • Previous
    Next
    Masa Centre
    ::: Monday 20 Aug - Monday 20 Aug :::
  • Previous
    Next
    Riverwalk
    ::: Monday 20 Aug - Monday 20 Aug :::
  • Previous
    The Meg
    Next
    Gamecity
    ::: Friday 10 Aug - Sunday 07 Aug :::
    The Meg
Selefu
And who is about to pick up the fallen pieces?
Banners
Banners
istanbul escort