Mmegi Online :: Banana, mangoe farm commendable
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Last Updated
Thursday 21 June 2018, 13:46 pm.
Banners
Banana, mangoe farm commendable

Food production is regarded as one of the cornerstones of the security of any country and a determinant for political stability thereof.
By Mmegi Editor Tue 14 Nov 2017, 16:48 pm (GMT +2)
Mmegi Online :: Banana, mangoe farm commendable








Sustainable food production, in the form of crop cultivation and livestock rearing are a source of dignity for the citizenry and provide legitimacy for any government. 

It is against this backdrop that we commend a joint venture project between a South African national and a Motswana for the production of bananas and mangoes in Nxaraga in the Ngamiland.  The duo said during a press tour last week, which was graced by the Minister of Agriculture and Food Production, Patrick Ralotsia that the project cost them P10 million to set up.

They also said they had tried other crops such as maize and wheat, which they found were not suitable for the area. 

They finally settled for mangoes and bananas in the 500 hectare piece of land. What is most interesting about the joint venture is that the Motswana owns the land whilst the South African is the investor. 

This is the kind of joint ventures that Batswana should go for instead of selling their ploughing fields. Despite constant droughts that hit the area, the Ngamiland has a potential for projects such as this because of vast land and its proximity to the Okavango Delta. There is plenty of underground water that can be used for irrigation and production of food.

The biggest challenge

Banners

that still remains is the roaming of wildlife that destroys crops, spreads diseases such as Foot and Mouth, and kills humans. There is plenty of water in the Okavango Delta. 

The water could be used for food production, especially for crops such as rice and maize.  Being a dry country, efforts by the government to promote agriculture, particularly crop production are not bearing fruit because of droughts that visit almost every two years. The Okavango could be the breadbasket of the country going hand in hand with tourism.

There should be a way the movement of wildlife can be controlled to allow crop production in the wetlands.

We hope that the authorities will work on policies to allow commercial crop production to take place in the Okavango Delta alongside wildlife conservation.

It is our belief that National Parks are playing a critical role in wildlife conservation and therefore wildlife vis-à-vis tourism should not thrive at the expense of other sectors of the economy.  We should promote crop production in the Ngamiland and Okavango areas to boost our food security and reduce reliance on imports.

Today’s thought

“I do a lot of reading about food and the food industry, so I try to eat locally and go to the farmer’s market.”

 

– Nikki Reed

Subscribe to our Newsletter
Banners
Banners
Banners


Editorial
Tue 14 Nov 2017, 16:48 pm
Fri 10 Nov 2017, 15:20 pm
Wed 08 Nov 2017, 11:37 am
Tue 07 Nov 2017, 11:55 am
Fri 03 Nov 2017, 10:06 am
Thu 02 Nov 2017, 09:17 am
Wed 01 Nov 2017, 11:38 am
Tue 31 Oct 2017, 11:24 am
Fri 27 Oct 2017, 11:01 am
Thu 26 Oct 2017, 11:20 am
Wed 25 Oct 2017, 11:49 am
Tue 24 Oct 2017, 11:30 am
Fri 20 Oct 2017, 11:31 am
Thu 19 Oct 2017, 11:59 am
Wed 18 Oct 2017, 11:58 am
Tue 17 Oct 2017, 11:52 am
Fri 13 Oct 2017, 11:33 am
Thu 12 Oct 2017, 09:01 am
Wed 11 Oct 2017, 11:26 am
Tue 10 Oct 2017, 11:41 am
Fri 06 Oct 2017, 11:16 am
Thu 05 Oct 2017, 18:28 pm
Wed 04 Oct 2017, 17:18 pm
Fri 29 Sep 2017, 08:21 am
Thu 28 Sep 2017, 08:42 am
Banners
Banners
Exchange Rates
FOREIGN EXCHANGE: Wednesday, 17 Jan 2018
FOREIGN / PULA
PULA / FOREIGN
1 USD = Pula   9.7656
1 GBP = Pula   13.4590
1 EUR = Pula   11.9617
1 YEN = Pula   0.0882
1 ZAR = Pula   0.7938
1 Pula = USD   0.1024
1 Pula = GBP   0.0743
1 Pula = EUR   0.0836
1 Pula = YEN   11.34
1 Pula = ZAR   1.2597
Subscribe to our Newsletter
have a story? Send us a Tip
Banners
  • Previous
    Incredibles 2
    Next
    Masa Centre
    ::: Friday 15 Jun - Thursday 21 Jun :::
    Incredibles 2
    Hereditary
    Jurassic World: Fallen Kingdom
    Breaking In
    Deadpool 2
  • Previous
    Incredibles 2
    Next
    Riverwalk
    ::: Friday 15 Jun - Thursday 21 Jun :::
    Incredibles 2
    Jurassic World: Fallen Kingdom
    Breaking In
    Deadpool 2
  • Previous
    Next
    Gamecity
    ::: Thursday 21 Jun - Thursday 21 Jun :::
Selefu
Moshupa Manyana
Banners
Banners
istanbul escort