The Monitor :: We Need To Introspect As A Nation
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Last Updated
Friday 17 November 2017, 19:00 pm.
Banners
We Need To Introspect As A Nation

Of late, we have seen a number brawls on the political front, which seem to get attention in the media, and social media.
By Monitor Editor Mon 13 Nov 2017, 15:49 pm (GMT +2)
The Monitor :: We Need To Introspect As A Nation








The Botswana Movement for Democracy’s (BMD) infighting, which led to the formation of a new party, the Alliance for Progressives (AP), has been the talk of the country, with citizens giving their opinions through different platforms, especially the social media. Debate is healthy for a nation, as it can play a positive role in policy-making, and other important decisions that affect either the society or the nation as as whole. As much as public debate has heated up in the past few months about opposition parties, in particular the BMD, chieftainship misunderstanding seems to be growing in the country, and the very same nation hyped up about political squabbles seems not too bothered about what is happening in the tribal administration front. Over the years, a number of tribes in the country, had to stand up and defend what they say ‘is their right’ to be led by a rightful heir. Chiefs derive their power and authority from the community, hence it is extremely important for the chief to be someone who is endorsed by the community that he/she is going to lead. It is common knowledge that the colonial administration rendered chieftainship less important than it used to be, but tribal administration is still important to our country and it plays a very important role in our communities.   People in Mmadinare have expressed displeasure at the appointment of an individual who is supposed

Banners

to hold the fort for the heir to the throne until late next year. Mmadinare is not the only place experiencing in-fights as other communities have also been meeting at their different kgotlas to register their displeasure regarding different issues, which affect them, which in most cases is about appointments of dikgosi. Residents of Lerala also recently expressed a number of displeasures with regard to their chieftainship. Lerala and Mmadinare are not the only villages with chieftainship crisis, as over the years many chieftainships around the country have experienced a lot of challenges. The lack of interest in the chieftainship crisis to some people might seem like a none issue, since the country is run by a ‘modern’ government, but we have to be mindful that tribal administration remains part of the processes governing the country. Chiefs continue to play a major role in different communities, and most of them wear many different hats, which include; that of a parent to the community, counsellor, arbitrator, mediator, ‘judge’, just to mention but a few.

nd production methods, which boost food production in Botswana. Ralotsia explained that they encourage Batswana to lease their unproductive farms or go in to joint partnerships with foreign investors, adding that government is encouraging farmers not to sell their land but to lease. Ralotsia said since there is abundant water in the river farmers should utilise it to produce food.

Banners
Banners
Banners


Editorial
Mon 13 Nov 2017, 15:49 pm
Mon 06 Nov 2017, 10:09 am
Mon 30 Oct 2017, 11:01 am
Mon 23 Oct 2017, 15:28 pm
Mon 09 Oct 2017, 11:26 am
Mon 25 Sep 2017, 11:17 am
Mon 11 Sep 2017, 11:52 am
Mon 04 Sep 2017, 11:41 am
Mon 28 Aug 2017, 11:49 am
Mon 14 Aug 2017, 11:02 am
Mon 07 Aug 2017, 10:37 am
Mon 31 Jul 2017, 11:20 am
Mon 24 Jul 2017, 11:39 am
Mon 10 Jul 2017, 11:19 am
Tue 04 Jul 2017, 16:07 pm
Mon 26 Jun 2017, 11:29 am
Mon 19 Jun 2017, 11:39 am
Mon 12 Jun 2017, 15:23 pm
Mon 05 Jun 2017, 17:05 pm
Mon 29 May 2017, 11:57 am
Mon 22 May 2017, 11:11 am
Mon 15 May 2017, 11:57 am
Mon 08 May 2017, 11:38 am
Tue 02 May 2017, 11:56 am
Mon 24 Apr 2017, 11:07 am
Banners
Banners
Exchange Rates
FOREIGN EXCHANGE: Monday, 20 Nov 2017
FOREIGN / PULA
PULA / FOREIGN
1 USD = Pula   10.4932
1 GBP = Pula   13.8504
1 EUR = Pula   12.3153
1 YEN = Pula   0.0937
1 ZAR = Pula   0.7472
1 Pula = USD   0.0953
1 Pula = GBP   0.0722
1 Pula = EUR   0.0812
1 Pula = YEN   10.67
1 Pula = ZAR   1.3383
have a story? Send us a Tip
Banners
  • Previous
    Next
    Masa Centre
    ::: Tuesday 21 Nov - Tuesday 21 Nov :::
  • Previous
    Next
    Riverwalk
    ::: Tuesday 21 Nov - Tuesday 21 Nov :::
  • Previous
    Next
    Gamecity
    ::: Tuesday 21 Nov - Tuesday 21 Nov :::
Selefu
Mopako
Banners
Banners
istanbul escort