Mmegi Online :: Khama’s SONA much ado about nothing
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Last Updated
Friday 20 July 2018, 14:06 pm.
Banners
Khama’s SONA much ado about nothing

Parliament resumed on Monday with President Ian Khama delivering his last State of the Nation Address (SONA) that set the stage for meetings expected to end on December 15, 2017.
By Mmegi Editor Wed 08 Nov 2017, 11:37 am (GMT +2)
Mmegi Online :: Khama’s SONA much ado about nothing








Frankly, there is nothing to write home about following Khama’s SONA. Most of what the President said is a regurgitation of his past speeches and much like those, the last SONA will go down in the annals of history as one of the most uninspiring. Anyway, we cannot expect manna from Khama, which he failed to supply in his more than nine years at the helm of this wonderful Republic.

He is now left with four months to hand over the baton of power to his vice. If Khama was a chief executive officer of a private company, shareholders would have fired him for poor results. He is lucky that he is a politician and these species’ bar is held much too low. Voters in this country do not hold their leaders accountable, hence politicians get away with much worse than murder most of the time.

We tend to treat our political representatives as our bosses or demigods. The politicians in this country do as they please because the voters, who are supposed to be their bosses, are timid and docile.  That is why some of the politicians are perennial party hoppers, flip-flopping from one party to another with reckless abandon. We have Members of Parliament (MPs) in this session of the National Assembly who have represented more than three different parties in less than a decade.

They are not afraid to

Banners

defect to a different party because they know that voters will believe their concocted lies. Some of them will even defect from their parties because they do not like some leader. This is absurd and should not be acceptable. Some parliamentarians are serial absconders. When they campaigned for office, they promised voters that they will advocate for their welfare but are failing to do so.

 Some of them go to the August House to warm the chairs and not contribute to debates. Other honourables only mark themselves present and disappear after a few minutes in the House in order to claim a sitting allowance, an act much dishonourable. That is why sometimes the Speaker adjourns meetings because the House cannot form a quorum. This is embarrassing and we do not expect our legislators to behave like primary school pupils.

Our MPs should respect the office they serve and the voters that put them there. We cannot have MPs who always play truant when they should be busy with progressive legislation. Because of this truancy ,our scheming Executive members take advantage of this shortcoming to pass laws repressive to the people.

We expect our legislators to behave honourably and stop throwing water bottles at one another as it does not make the cut. It is simply dishonourable. 

Today’s thought 

“Act well your part, there all the honour lies.” 

 - Alexander Pope, English poet (1688–1744)

Subscribe to our Newsletter
Banners
Banners
Banners


Editorial
Wed 08 Nov 2017, 11:37 am
Tue 07 Nov 2017, 11:55 am
Fri 03 Nov 2017, 10:06 am
Thu 02 Nov 2017, 09:17 am
Wed 01 Nov 2017, 11:38 am
Tue 31 Oct 2017, 11:24 am
Fri 27 Oct 2017, 11:01 am
Thu 26 Oct 2017, 11:20 am
Wed 25 Oct 2017, 11:49 am
Tue 24 Oct 2017, 11:30 am
Fri 20 Oct 2017, 11:31 am
Thu 19 Oct 2017, 11:59 am
Wed 18 Oct 2017, 11:58 am
Tue 17 Oct 2017, 11:52 am
Fri 13 Oct 2017, 11:33 am
Thu 12 Oct 2017, 09:01 am
Wed 11 Oct 2017, 11:26 am
Tue 10 Oct 2017, 11:41 am
Fri 06 Oct 2017, 11:16 am
Thu 05 Oct 2017, 18:28 pm
Wed 04 Oct 2017, 17:18 pm
Fri 29 Sep 2017, 08:21 am
Thu 28 Sep 2017, 08:42 am
Wed 27 Sep 2017, 11:45 am
Tue 26 Sep 2017, 11:48 am
Banners
Banners
Exchange Rates
FOREIGN EXCHANGE: Wednesday, 17 Jan 2018
FOREIGN / PULA
PULA / FOREIGN
1 USD = Pula   9.7656
1 GBP = Pula   13.4590
1 EUR = Pula   11.9617
1 YEN = Pula   0.0882
1 ZAR = Pula   0.7938
1 Pula = USD   0.1024
1 Pula = GBP   0.0743
1 Pula = EUR   0.0836
1 Pula = YEN   11.34
1 Pula = ZAR   1.2597
Subscribe to our Newsletter
have a story? Send us a Tip
Banners
  • Previous
    Next
    Masa Centre
    ::: Saturday 21 Jul - Saturday 21 Jul :::
  • Previous
    Next
    Riverwalk
    ::: Saturday 21 Jul - Saturday 21 Jul :::
  • Previous
    Next
    Gamecity
    ::: Saturday 21 Jul - Saturday 21 Jul :::
Selefu
Chuchu chuchu
Banners
Banners
istanbul escort