The Monitor :: Kudus To The BPS
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Last Updated
Wednesday 17 October 2018, 15:48 pm.
Banners
Kudus To The BPS

Drugs are infiltrating the country at the speed of lighting and painfully seem to be predominant in the ages, which constitute our future leaders. Substance abuse is continuing to grow in our country, and drug leaders are targeting school going children.
By Monitor Editor Mon 30 Oct 2017, 11:01 am (GMT +2)
The Monitor :: Kudus To The BPS








Undoubtedly there are some elderly citizens who abuse alcohol and illicit drugs but the problem seem to affect young people a lot more. It cannot be disputed that productivity and economic growth go hand in hand, and obviously an individual who abuses alcohol and drugs cannot be productive either as an employee or an entrepreneur. Consumption of illicit drugs and/or alcohol can lead to a lot of negative effects in relation to productivity. An individual who abuses alcohol and/or illicit drugs may have increased absences, which will lead to loss of productivity.

The individual ultimately may end up facing termination of employment, which will of course have a negative bearing on the individual’s welfare and that of their family. This habit can also lead to other serious consequences such as fatalities and serious injuries. People who abuse alcohol and drugs often have impaired judgement and poor decision making, which obviously will lead to painful consequences.

Opportunists who want to make a quick buck have resorted to peddling drugs, and shamelessly some of them target young school children. Recently the police launched a campaign to clean the streets and the campaign seems to be bearing fruits. The drug operation by the Botswana Police Service (BPS), which started about a month ago, has led to about

Banners

75 drug related arrests.

Botswana Television (Btv) evening news has become the talk of town, as most of the arrests are captured on the national television station. BPS is indeed doing a good job in fighting the drug problem in the country. Information from the BPS suggests that drugs enter the country through South African boarders from countries such as Swaziland and sometimes Mozambique.

There is absolutely no excuse for any responsible citizen to sell illicit drugs in the country. Some of the so-called drug dealers often argue that they are trying to feed their families. How do you regard yourself as a responsible citizen when you gain wealth from a substance that destroys the lives of other people? The BPS should be provided with more resources to fight drug dealers and the law should be reviewed to come up with stiffer penalties for those who deal in drugs.

Batswana deserve to enjoy the peace and tranquility of their country, hence the need for the fight against substance abuse to be intensified.  Citizens also have a responsibility to assist the police in the fight against substance abuse. Let us all be responsible citizens and report suspicious activities to the police. We also have a responsibility to meaningfully contribute towards a crime free Botswana.

Subscribe to our Newsletter
Banners
Banners
Banners


Editorial
Mon 30 Oct 2017, 11:01 am
Mon 23 Oct 2017, 15:28 pm
Mon 09 Oct 2017, 11:26 am
Mon 25 Sep 2017, 11:17 am
Mon 11 Sep 2017, 11:52 am
Mon 04 Sep 2017, 11:41 am
Mon 28 Aug 2017, 11:49 am
Mon 14 Aug 2017, 11:02 am
Mon 07 Aug 2017, 10:37 am
Mon 31 Jul 2017, 11:20 am
Mon 24 Jul 2017, 11:39 am
Mon 10 Jul 2017, 11:19 am
Tue 04 Jul 2017, 16:07 pm
Mon 26 Jun 2017, 11:29 am
Mon 19 Jun 2017, 11:39 am
Mon 12 Jun 2017, 15:23 pm
Mon 05 Jun 2017, 17:05 pm
Mon 29 May 2017, 11:57 am
Mon 22 May 2017, 11:11 am
Mon 15 May 2017, 11:57 am
Mon 08 May 2017, 11:38 am
Tue 02 May 2017, 11:56 am
Mon 24 Apr 2017, 11:07 am
Mon 10 Apr 2017, 11:51 am
Mon 03 Apr 2017, 11:03 am
Banners
Banners
Subscribe to our Newsletter
have a story? Send us a Tip
Banners
  • Previous
    Baby Mamas
    Next
    Masa Centre
    ::: Wednesday 10 Oct - Thursday 18 Oct :::
    Baby Mamas
    The House with a Clock in Its Walls
    Venom
    Night School
    Smallfoot
  • Previous
    Venom
    Next
    Riverwalk
    ::: Thursday 11 Oct - Thursday 18 Oct :::
    Venom
    Baby Mamas
    Night School
    Smallfoot
    The House with a Clock in Its Walls
  • Previous
    The House with a Clock in Its Walls
    Next
    Gamecity
    ::: Thursday 11 Oct - Thursday 18 Oct :::
    The House with a Clock in Its Walls
    Venom
    The Nun
    Night School
    Smallfoot
    Johnny English Strikes Again
Selefu
BBC
Banners
Banners
istanbul escort