Mmegi Online :: Every drop counts
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Last Updated
Tuesday 13 November 2018, 16:21 pm.
Banners
Every drop counts

The drying up of Gaborone Dam a few years ago and the attendant unparalleled water crisis in the Greater Gaborone area have certainly taught authorities and consumers some harsh lessons.
By Mmegi Editor Fri 27 Oct 2017, 11:01 am (GMT +2)
Mmegi Online :: Every drop counts








However, these lessons are easy to forget, minimise or even euphemise in hindsight, especially as we become collectively blinded by the shimmering waters at the now 90% full Gaborone Dam. The water conservation methods we had all adopted, from recycling water within our homes to the better use of supplies, could become abandoned. The urgency of policy reforms to change the building code and force developers to install gutters and other rain collection systems could slow down.

Human nature being what it is, the moment the adrenaline associated with the ‘fight/flight’ response to a crisis abates, may return to normal even if that behaviour causes crisis.

What should not happen, however, is any suggestion of a material loosening of the water restrictions currently in place. Since November 2012, when Gaborone Dam began slipping past various response triggers, the Water Utilities Corporation (WUC) first introduced and then scaled up various restrictions. These prohibit use of portable water in watering of gardens, filling of swimming pools, watering of gardens and parks and sports fields, spraying of pavements, sidewalks and streets and others. Washing of vehicles with potable water using hose-pipes is prohibited, as is the use of automatic urinals. The restrictions also make it law that “all defective plumbing and pipe fittings which result in water wastage must be repaired within 24 hours of notice”.

Batswana simply have to live with the fact that this country is semi-arid and is

Banners

only projected to get drier in coming years. Water conservation and these restrictions should become a way of life, even as we have slowly adopted and become accustomed to them since 2012.

However, the WUC also has some lessons to learn, including the urgent need to accurately map all groundwater resources in the country. For far too long, the WUC and previously the Department of Water Affairs, neglected to map out and manage groundwater resources in certain areas, due to the perception that these were salinated beyond redemption and useful only for local farmers.

There is clearly a need for the accurate mapping, testing and management of all these resources to ensure that they provide backup for surface resources, not only for portable but also industrial and agricultural needs.

The WUC also needs to ensure that the recently approved P1.5 billion loan plugs the system losses it has incurred for years due to a deteriorating distribution network. In some places, it is estimated that the Corporation loses 500 millilitres of every litre it distributes, an unsustainable situation that flies in the face of the value of water in this country. The Corporation could do well to also ramp up its riparian discussions with crossborder parties to secure future supplies, the pace of which have noticeably been dampened by the abundant rains. Every drop really does count. 

Today’s thought 

“Plans are nothing; planning is everything.” 

– Dwight D. Eisenhower

Subscribe to our Newsletter
Banners
Banners
Banners


Editorial
Fri 27 Oct 2017, 11:01 am
Thu 26 Oct 2017, 11:20 am
Wed 25 Oct 2017, 11:49 am
Tue 24 Oct 2017, 11:30 am
Fri 20 Oct 2017, 11:31 am
Thu 19 Oct 2017, 11:59 am
Wed 18 Oct 2017, 11:58 am
Tue 17 Oct 2017, 11:52 am
Fri 13 Oct 2017, 11:33 am
Thu 12 Oct 2017, 09:01 am
Wed 11 Oct 2017, 11:26 am
Tue 10 Oct 2017, 11:41 am
Fri 06 Oct 2017, 11:16 am
Thu 05 Oct 2017, 18:28 pm
Wed 04 Oct 2017, 17:18 pm
Fri 29 Sep 2017, 08:21 am
Thu 28 Sep 2017, 08:42 am
Wed 27 Sep 2017, 11:45 am
Tue 26 Sep 2017, 11:48 am
Fri 22 Sep 2017, 11:33 am
Thu 21 Sep 2017, 11:46 am
Wed 20 Sep 2017, 11:53 am
Tue 19 Sep 2017, 11:58 am
Fri 15 Sep 2017, 11:10 am
Thu 14 Sep 2017, 11:16 am
Banners
Banners
Subscribe to our Newsletter
have a story? Send us a Tip
Banners
  • Previous
    Halloween
    Next
    Masa Centre
    ::: Wednesday 07 Nov - Thursday 15 Nov :::
    Halloween
    Peppermint
    The Nutcracker and the Four Realms
    Nobody's Fool
    Goosebumps 2: Haunted Halloween
  • Previous
    Peppermint
    Next
    Riverwalk
    ::: Wednesday 07 Nov - Thursday 15 Nov :::
    Peppermint
    Halloween
    The Nutcracker and the Four Realms
    Nobody's Fool
  • Previous
    The Nutcracker and the Four Realms
    Next
    Gamecity
    ::: Wednesday 07 Nov - Thursday 15 Nov :::
    The Nutcracker and the Four Realms
    Halloween
    Peppermint
    Nobody's Fool
    Goosebumps 2: Haunted Halloween
    Venom
Selefu
Mugabe
Banners
Banners
istanbul escort