Mmegi Online :: Sports persons should practice restraint
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Last Updated
Tuesday 13 November 2018, 16:21 pm.
Banners
Sports persons should practice restraint

Football is a game of emotions, and on Sunday, at the University of Botswana Stadium, Township Rollers and Sharps Shooting Stars were involved in a bruising encounter.
By Mmegi Editor Thu 26 Oct 2017, 11:20 am (GMT +2)
Mmegi Online :: Sports persons should practice restraint








At the end of the game, Rollers winger and former national team captain, Joel Mogorosi was nursing a fractured leg after being stretchered off in the 12th-minute of a physical match. Tempers regularly flared and the referee was kept busy, dishing six yellow cards and a red card to the injured Mogorosi, for dissent.

It was not the best advert for local football. The trend on the pitch followed off the field tensions, between the two clubs’ financiers, Jagdish Shah of Rollers and his Sharps counterpart, Sommerset Gobuiwang. The two parted ways acrimoniously at Rollers at the height of a damaging ownership wrangle, which later saw emotions spilled into the pitch with Mogorosi further stoking the fires with a Facebook post publicly critical of his opponents.

He went to the extent of mentioning killing his tackler, Gift Maworere as well as criticising the referee and Sharps coach, Keitumetse ‘Pio’ Paul.

Mogorosi’s coach, Nikola Kavazovic joined the melee, hitting out at Sharps’ approach, accusing the team of deliberately going out to injure his players.

Both Mogorosi and Kavazovic’s comments whipped up a frenzy and opened the floodgates, as the fans joined the heated argument on social media networks. It was a reflection of the undoubted influence the players and coaches hold in swaying the emotions of the supporters.

While we empathise with Mogorosi and wish him a speedy recovery, we would like to caution about athletes’ growing tendency of

Banners

venting their anger on social media networks. We saw it with Baboloki Thebe who was critical of the Botswana Athletics Association (BAA), after the mother body failed to take care of his injury. Understandably, Thebe was aggrieved and therefore found solace in posting on Facebook, there were other avenues available to resolve the matter. Similarly, while Mogorosi posted “in the heat of the moment” he should have exercised restraint.

He is a role model to multitudes and as a player for a team with mass support, Mogorosi’s Facebook post could easily spark an ugly war with far-reaching consequences for the game. We do not condone players butchering others on the football pitch, but we believe rushing to social media has the potential to create chaos, and drag the name of football into disrepute.  It also sends a wrong message that social media is the new centre for aggrieved players.

But this should not be the case as there are dispute resolution mechanisms in place. There is a code of conduct to be followed. Order needs to be maintained, and the game’s gatekeepers, should not allow the growing but unwelcome trend. In the same vein, we urge the Botswana Premier League to take drastic measures following Sunday’s incidents, and set an emphatic example that indiscipline will not be tolerated.

Today’s thought

"One man practicing sportsmanship is far better than a hundred teaching it."

 – Knute Rockne

Subscribe to our Newsletter
Banners
Banners
Banners


Editorial
Thu 26 Oct 2017, 11:20 am
Wed 25 Oct 2017, 11:49 am
Tue 24 Oct 2017, 11:30 am
Fri 20 Oct 2017, 11:31 am
Thu 19 Oct 2017, 11:59 am
Wed 18 Oct 2017, 11:58 am
Tue 17 Oct 2017, 11:52 am
Fri 13 Oct 2017, 11:33 am
Thu 12 Oct 2017, 09:01 am
Wed 11 Oct 2017, 11:26 am
Tue 10 Oct 2017, 11:41 am
Fri 06 Oct 2017, 11:16 am
Thu 05 Oct 2017, 18:28 pm
Wed 04 Oct 2017, 17:18 pm
Fri 29 Sep 2017, 08:21 am
Thu 28 Sep 2017, 08:42 am
Wed 27 Sep 2017, 11:45 am
Tue 26 Sep 2017, 11:48 am
Fri 22 Sep 2017, 11:33 am
Thu 21 Sep 2017, 11:46 am
Wed 20 Sep 2017, 11:53 am
Tue 19 Sep 2017, 11:58 am
Fri 15 Sep 2017, 11:10 am
Thu 14 Sep 2017, 11:16 am
Wed 13 Sep 2017, 11:22 am
Banners
Banners
Subscribe to our Newsletter
have a story? Send us a Tip
Banners
  • Previous
    Halloween
    Next
    Masa Centre
    ::: Wednesday 07 Nov - Thursday 15 Nov :::
    Halloween
    Peppermint
    The Nutcracker and the Four Realms
    Nobody's Fool
    Goosebumps 2: Haunted Halloween
  • Previous
    Peppermint
    Next
    Riverwalk
    ::: Wednesday 07 Nov - Thursday 15 Nov :::
    Peppermint
    Halloween
    The Nutcracker and the Four Realms
    Nobody's Fool
  • Previous
    The Nutcracker and the Four Realms
    Next
    Gamecity
    ::: Wednesday 07 Nov - Thursday 15 Nov :::
    The Nutcracker and the Four Realms
    Halloween
    Peppermint
    Nobody's Fool
    Goosebumps 2: Haunted Halloween
    Venom
Selefu
Mugabe
Banners
Banners
istanbul escort