Mmegi Online :: Mmegi will continue to report without fear or favour
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Last Updated
Monday 24 September 2018, 15:01 pm.
Banners
Mmegi will continue to report without fear or favour

It is in the public domain that Dikgang Publishing Company (DPC), the publisher of Mmegi and The Monitor newspapers is undertaking a rationalisation exercise intended to enable the company to realise operational efficiency and a sustainable cost structure.
By Mmegi Editor Fri 20 Oct 2017, 11:31 am (GMT +2)
Mmegi Online :: Mmegi will continue to report without fear or favour








Consultative engagements have been held between staff, management and representatives of the Board. Rationalisation came as a last resort because the wage bill had become too cumbersome for the company to carry. Over the years, our revenue has been declining drastically. The objective of this rationalisation process is to stabilise and grow the company. Morally, it is not a nice thing to do. Retrenchment is a painful exercise. As part of the process, effective January 2018, midweek editions will be discontinued. Instead of the traditional hard news copy, Mmegi readers will get the news on-line.

It is still our vision at DPC to be the leader in breaking news and stimulating debate on issues of national interest. We will stick to our mission to help build an informed citizenry who can make informed decisions and choices. This requires unbiased and accurate reporting of facts, figures and occurrences.

Mmegi is not only a brand but also a newspaper of record. It is a very important publication in the country. It is the paper that is always on top of the game and ahead of its competitors. Following this exercise, we will continue to cover Botswana in all its areas – politics, health, business, showbiz, environment, economy, innovation, religion, courts, infrastructure, education, sports and many other beats.

Our Friday edition will continue to offer our readers a story behind

Banners

the story. We will strive to offer the highest quality of journalism in Botswana; the best in the country. We will write premium content that will separate us from our peers every week. If you are thirsty for news and insightful analysis and features, Mmegi will still be there to slake your thirst with news of your choice. That is the brand journalism that has made Mmegi a household name over the decades. We will still be a home to finest journalists in the country.

Our readers should not wait for Friday and Monday to read Mmegi and its sister publication The Monitor. As we have already aforementioned, the midweek papers will be continued as online publications. We will strive to break news to our readers on our digital platforms as we have been doing over the years. Despite the current challenges, we will continue to report without fear nor favour, but responsibly.

Today’s thought

“Print media does much of society’s heavy journalistic lifting, from flooding the zone — covering every angle of a huge story — to the daily grind of attending the City Council meeting, just in case. This coverage creates benefits even for people who aren’t newspaper readers, because the work of print journalists is used by everyone from politicians to district attorneys to talk radio hosts to bloggers.” 

–  Clay Shirky

Subscribe to our Newsletter
Banners
Banners
Banners


Editorial
Fri 20 Oct 2017, 11:31 am
Thu 19 Oct 2017, 11:59 am
Wed 18 Oct 2017, 11:58 am
Tue 17 Oct 2017, 11:52 am
Fri 13 Oct 2017, 11:33 am
Thu 12 Oct 2017, 09:01 am
Wed 11 Oct 2017, 11:26 am
Tue 10 Oct 2017, 11:41 am
Fri 06 Oct 2017, 11:16 am
Thu 05 Oct 2017, 18:28 pm
Wed 04 Oct 2017, 17:18 pm
Fri 29 Sep 2017, 08:21 am
Thu 28 Sep 2017, 08:42 am
Wed 27 Sep 2017, 11:45 am
Tue 26 Sep 2017, 11:48 am
Fri 22 Sep 2017, 11:33 am
Thu 21 Sep 2017, 11:46 am
Wed 20 Sep 2017, 11:53 am
Tue 19 Sep 2017, 11:58 am
Fri 15 Sep 2017, 11:10 am
Thu 14 Sep 2017, 11:16 am
Wed 13 Sep 2017, 11:22 am
Tue 12 Sep 2017, 11:36 am
Fri 08 Sep 2017, 11:13 am
Thu 07 Sep 2017, 11:04 am
Banners
Banners
Exchange Rates
FOREIGN EXCHANGE: Wednesday, 17 Jan 2018
FOREIGN / PULA
PULA / FOREIGN
1 USD = Pula   9.7656
1 GBP = Pula   13.4590
1 EUR = Pula   11.9617
1 YEN = Pula   0.0882
1 ZAR = Pula   0.7938
1 Pula = USD   0.1024
1 Pula = GBP   0.0743
1 Pula = EUR   0.0836
1 Pula = YEN   11.34
1 Pula = ZAR   1.2597
Subscribe to our Newsletter
have a story? Send us a Tip
Banners
  • Previous
    Next
    Masa Centre
    ::: Monday 24 Sep - Monday 24 Sep :::
  • Previous
    Next
    Riverwalk
    ::: Monday 24 Sep - Monday 24 Sep :::
  • Previous
    The Meg
    Next
    Gamecity
    ::: Friday 10 Aug - Sunday 07 Aug :::
    The Meg
Selefu
BASOP!
Banners
Banners
istanbul escort