The Monitor :: Stop Monetising C-Sections
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Last Updated
Saturday 19 May 2018, 10:00 am.
Banners
Stop Monetising C-Sections

Private medical practitioners must stop promoting elective caesarean sections (c-section) delivery as the rate at which the procedure is performed has reached alarming proportions.
By Monitor Editor Mon 09 Oct 2017, 11:26 am (GMT +2)
The Monitor :: Stop Monetising C-Sections








Health authorities have expressed concern over the growing number of elective c-sections in the country in recent years, though statistics were not readily availed to show the extent of the trend. Today, as compared to the past, many women choose not to deliver naturally opting for the convenience of scheduled birth and to evade the pangs of labour. Infact, Minister of Health and Wellness, Dorcas Makgatho said doctors in private practice are in the forefront of this trend, as they tend to promote surgical birth over natural delivery.

As convenient as it sounds to walk into the operating theatre and have one’s young one “painlessly” brought to life, c-section deliveries have more pros than cons. It should be an option only if necessitated by medical reasons. Though elective c-section makes women feel a greater sense of control, knowing when their baby will be born, and can plan for family help, as well as reduce her stress about anticipation of labour, it poses possible pre-term delivery if due date calculation is inaccurate. Moreover, it presents increased maternal blood loss and

Banners

risk of needing a transfusion. Health experts say there are risks of complications from anesthesia such as pneumonia, allergic reactions and low blood pressure.  There are also possible complications with breast-feeding.

This also increases later pregnancies risks to the mother whether she delivers naturally or by caesarean.  Not only that-the procedure is expensive. In Botswana, the rise of surgical births is prominent in private than in public facilities. There is financial gain on the part of private practitioners and their facilities as they prescribe expensive hospital stays, as the profit margins are higher, making c-sections highly profitable compared to natural birth.

While patients’ personal choices may have some role to play, private hospitals should not ignore the risks involved, and they must let them (patients) know the pros and cons inorder to make informed choices. The World Health Organization has repeatedly warned against unnecessary c-sections because of increased risk to the mother, child, and future pregnancies, in both the short and long term.

The Ministry of Health and Wellness must step up and find ways to regulate this area.

Subscribe to our Newsletter
Banners
Banners
Banners


Editorial
Mon 09 Oct 2017, 11:26 am
Mon 25 Sep 2017, 11:17 am
Mon 11 Sep 2017, 11:52 am
Mon 04 Sep 2017, 11:41 am
Mon 28 Aug 2017, 11:49 am
Mon 14 Aug 2017, 11:02 am
Mon 07 Aug 2017, 10:37 am
Mon 31 Jul 2017, 11:20 am
Mon 24 Jul 2017, 11:39 am
Mon 10 Jul 2017, 11:19 am
Tue 04 Jul 2017, 16:07 pm
Mon 26 Jun 2017, 11:29 am
Mon 19 Jun 2017, 11:39 am
Mon 12 Jun 2017, 15:23 pm
Mon 05 Jun 2017, 17:05 pm
Mon 29 May 2017, 11:57 am
Mon 22 May 2017, 11:11 am
Mon 15 May 2017, 11:57 am
Mon 08 May 2017, 11:38 am
Tue 02 May 2017, 11:56 am
Mon 24 Apr 2017, 11:07 am
Mon 10 Apr 2017, 11:51 am
Mon 03 Apr 2017, 11:03 am
Mon 27 Mar 2017, 11:30 am
Mon 20 Mar 2017, 11:43 am
Banners
Banners
Exchange Rates
FOREIGN EXCHANGE: Wednesday, 17 Jan 2018
FOREIGN / PULA
PULA / FOREIGN
1 USD = Pula   9.7656
1 GBP = Pula   13.4590
1 EUR = Pula   11.9617
1 YEN = Pula   0.0882
1 ZAR = Pula   0.7938
1 Pula = USD   0.1024
1 Pula = GBP   0.0743
1 Pula = EUR   0.0836
1 Pula = YEN   11.34
1 Pula = ZAR   1.2597
Subscribe to our Newsletter
have a story? Send us a Tip
Banners
  • Previous
    Deadpool 2
    Next
    Masa Centre
    ::: Friday 18 May - Thursday 24 May :::
    Deadpool 2
    Life of the Party
    Sherlock Gnomes
    Avengers: Infinity War
  • Previous
    A Wrinkle in Time
    Next
    Riverwalk
    ::: Friday 18 May - Thursday 24 May :::
    A Wrinkle in Time
    Deadpool
    Sherlock Gnomes
    Avengers: Infinity War
  • Previous
    Life of the Party
    Next
    Gamecity
    ::: Friday 18 May - Thursday 24 May :::
    Life of the Party
    Deadpool 2
    Sherlock Gnomes
    Avengers: Infinity War
    I Can Only Imagine
Selefu
Here lies Motswaledi
Banners
Banners
istanbul escort