Mmegi Online :: Makgatho’s pledge commendable
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Last Updated
Thursday 21 September 2017, 16:02 pm.
Banners
Makgatho’s pledge commendable

A public declaration by the Health and Wellness minister, Dorcus Makgatho that she and her family have pledged to use the public health system is commendable.
By Mmegi Editor Wed 13 Sep 2017, 11:22 am (GMT +2)
Mmegi Online :: Makgatho’s pledge commendable








Knowing the challenges faced by our public health facilities, the minister’s pledge is an indication that she is indeed committed to improving the quality of our health facilities at a time everybody wants medical aid and not all can afford it.

Makgatho is the first ever minister in the country to declare such.

This is because there has always been an outcry about poor health care service in the country. Now with this pledge, Makgatho who has a proven record of being a workaholic from her past, Batswana can be sure that the minister is trying with all her might to improve the quality of health care in the country.

The minister also has to make sure that her family gets quality medical attention and that has everything to do with equipping facilities with medication, equipment and human resource to cater for Batswana.

Medical Aid has proven to be expensive for a lot of people and quality health care in the public system should come to the rescue of those who cannot afford it.

We hope that senior officials at the health ministry and indeed all health workers end up doing the same.

This can only be

Banners

achieved by them working in an environment that allows them to do their best.

To that end, the government has to be supportive of the workers.

We have had employees complain of late payments amongst other things. For Makgatho to live her dream of utilising public health facilities, she has to continue working hard for her workers.

We hope this comes as a challenge to other ministers and other people in high positions to instill public confidence by using public facilities. We challenge those in the Education and Local Government ministries and indeed all their senior officials to show us that they believe in our education by sending their children to public schools.

This will make all these people to work even harder to ensure that not just their families, but also the whole country enjoys quality services. We hope the Honourable minister Makgatho will sell her pledge to her colleagues.

We also urge the health workers to help her achieve this and restore public confidence in their ministry.

 

Today’s thought 

“Confidence doesn’t come out of nowhere. It’s a result of something... hours and days and weeks and years of constant work and dedication.” 

– Roger Staubach

Banners
Banners
Banners


Editorial
Wed 13 Sep 2017, 11:22 am
Tue 12 Sep 2017, 11:36 am
Fri 08 Sep 2017, 11:13 am
Thu 07 Sep 2017, 11:04 am
Wed 06 Sep 2017, 11:19 am
Tue 05 Sep 2017, 11:49 am
Fri 01 Sep 2017, 11:18 am
Thu 31 Aug 2017, 11:19 am
Wed 30 Aug 2017, 11:04 am
Tue 29 Aug 2017, 11:04 am
Fri 25 Aug 2017, 11:01 am
Thu 24 Aug 2017, 11:50 am
Wed 23 Aug 2017, 11:25 am
Tue 22 Aug 2017, 11:42 am
Fri 18 Aug 2017, 11:40 am
Thu 17 Aug 2017, 09:12 am
Wed 16 Aug 2017, 11:19 am
Tue 15 Aug 2017, 11:31 am
Fri 11 Aug 2017, 11:15 am
Thu 10 Aug 2017, 11:29 am
Wed 09 Aug 2017, 11:52 am
Tue 08 Aug 2017, 11:21 am
Fri 04 Aug 2017, 11:49 am
Thu 03 Aug 2017, 11:27 am
Wed 02 Aug 2017, 11:35 am
Banners
Banners
Exchange Rates
FOREIGN EXCHANGE: Thursday, 21 Sep 2017
FOREIGN / PULA
PULA / FOREIGN
1 USD = Pula   10.2249
1 GBP = Pula   13.7931
1 EUR = Pula   12.1507
1 YEN = Pula   0.0909
1 ZAR = Pula   0.7659
1 Pula = USD   0.0978
1 Pula = GBP   0.0725
1 Pula = EUR   0.0823
1 Pula = YEN   11
1 Pula = ZAR   1.3056
have a story? Send us a Tip
Banners
  • Previous
    American Assassin
    Next
    Masa Centre
    ::: Friday 15 Sep - Thursday 21 Sep :::
    American Assassin
    It
    The Dark Tower
    Logan Lucky
  • Previous
    American Assassin
    Next
    Riverwalk
    ::: Friday 15 Sep - Thursday 21 Sep :::
    American Assassin
    Home Again
    Logan Lucky
    The Dark Tower
  • Previous
    Home Again
    Next
    Gamecity
    ::: Friday 15 Sep - Thursday 21 Sep :::
    Home Again
    American Assassin
    The Dark Tower
    Logan Lucky
    The Son of Bigfoot
    Girls Trip
Selefu
Tshekedi
Banners
Banners