Mmegi Online :: Zika virus used to treat aggressive brain cancer
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Last Updated
Friday 24 November 2017, 17:23 pm.
Banners
Zika virus used to treat aggressive brain cancer

A harmful virus that can cause devastating brain damage in babies could offer up a surprising new treatment for adult brain cancer, according to US scientists.
By BBC.COM Tue 05 Sep 2017, 13:18 pm (GMT +2)
Mmegi Online :: Zika virus used to treat aggressive brain cancer








Until now, Zika has been seen only as a global health threat - not a remedy.

But latest research shows the virus can selectively infect and kill hard-to-treat cancerous cells in adult brains.

Zika injections shrank aggressive tumours in fully grown mice, yet left other brain cells unscathed.

Human trials are still a way off, but experts believe Zika virus could potentially be injected into the brain at the same time as surgery to remove life-threatening tumours, the Journal of Experimental Medicine reports.

The Zika treatment appears to work on human cell samples in the lab.

There are many different types of brain cancer. Glioblastomas are the most common in adults and one of the trickiest to treat.

They are fast growing and diffuse, meaning they spread through the brain, making it difficult to see where the tumour ends and the healthy tissue begins.

Radiotherapy, chemotherapy and surgery may not be enough to remove these invasive cancers.

But the latest research, in living mice and donated human brain tissue samples, shows Zika therapy can kill cells that tend to be resistant to current treatments.

It is thought that these glioblastoma stem cells continue to grow and divide, producing new tumour cells even after aggressive medical treatment.

Different, healthy stem cells are found in abundance in baby brains, which probably explains why regular Zika can be so damaging to infants, say the researchers.

Adult brains, however, have very few stem cells. This means Zika treatment should destroy only the cancer-causing brain stem cells without causing much collateral damage.

As an extra safety precaution, the team, from

Banners

Washington University School of Medicine and the University of California San Diego School of Medicine, have already begun modifying the virus to make it more tame than regular Zika.

Researcher Dr Michael Diamond said: "Once we add a few more changes, I think it's going to be impossible for the virus to overcome them and cause disease.

"It looks like there's a silver lining to Zika. This virus that targets cells that are very important for brain growth in babies, we could use that now to target growing tumours."

He hopes to begin human trials within 18 months.

Using viruses to fight cancer is not a new idea, but using Zika as the weapon of choice is.

UK scientists at the University of Cambridge are beginning similar trials with Zika.

Dr Catherine Pickworth, from Cancer Research UK, said: "This promising research shows that a modified version of the Zika virus can attack brain tumour cells in the lab.

"This could one day lead to new treatments for this particularly hard to treat type of cancer."

Zika

Zika is a virus people can catch if they are bitten by an infected mosquito

Most people will have few or no symptoms, but the disease can pose a serious threat to babies in the womb

Affected infants have been born with abnormally small heads and underdeveloped brains - a condition known as microcephaly

The infection has been linked to severe birth defects in almost 30 countries

Although Zika is no longer "an international medical emergency", the World Health Organization says it is closely monitoring the infection

Banners
Banners
Banners


World
Tue 05 Sep 2017, 13:18 pm
Wed 26 Jul 2017, 09:44 am
Fri 07 Jul 2017, 20:00 pm
Fri 23 Jun 2017, 10:44 am
Fri 16 Jun 2017, 10:17 am
Mon 05 Jun 2017, 11:34 am
Fri 02 Jun 2017, 11:41 am
Thu 18 May 2017, 09:44 am
Wed 10 May 2017, 09:19 am
Tue 09 May 2017, 10:09 am
Wed 26 Apr 2017, 14:59 pm
Fri 21 Apr 2017, 13:19 pm
Wed 19 Apr 2017, 17:30 pm
Tue 04 Apr 2017, 16:37 pm
Fri 31 Mar 2017, 11:11 am
Thu 30 Mar 2017, 10:05 am
Fri 17 Mar 2017, 16:10 pm
Thu 16 Mar 2017, 15:01 pm
Wed 15 Mar 2017, 14:52 pm
Mon 06 Mar 2017, 06:56 am
Tue 28 Feb 2017, 18:31 pm
Mon 20 Feb 2017, 14:16 pm
Tue 14 Feb 2017, 11:00 am
Mon 13 Feb 2017, 14:41 pm
Wed 08 Feb 2017, 16:22 pm
Banners
Banners
Exchange Rates
FOREIGN EXCHANGE: Friday, 24 Nov 2017
FOREIGN / PULA
PULA / FOREIGN
1 USD = Pula   10.4167
1 GBP = Pula   13.8504
1 EUR = Pula   12.3457
1 YEN = Pula   0.0935
1 ZAR = Pula   0.7492
1 Pula = USD   0.096
1 Pula = GBP   0.0722
1 Pula = EUR   0.081
1 Pula = YEN   10.7
1 Pula = ZAR   1.3348
have a story? Send us a Tip
Banners
  • Previous
    Next
    Masa Centre
    ::: Friday 24 Nov - Friday 24 Nov :::
  • Previous
    Next
    Riverwalk
    ::: Friday 24 Nov - Friday 24 Nov :::
  • Previous
    Next
    Gamecity
    ::: Friday 24 Nov - Friday 24 Nov :::
Selefu
Gatwe e rile...
Banners
Banners
istanbul escort