The Monitor :: Progress On BMD Mediation By UDC
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Last Updated
Thursday 21 September 2017, 16:02 pm.
Banners
Progress On BMD Mediation By UDC

Following a meeting of the National Executive Committee (NEC) of the Umbrella for Democratic Change (UDC) held in Francistown on August 12, 2017, which resolved that the UDC should engage the Botswana Movement for Democracy (BMD) factions and restore normalcy in the party, we wish to state that the leadership of the UDC is in the process of mediating between the two groups.
By Correspondent Mon 28 Aug 2017, 16:39 pm (GMT +2)
The Monitor :: Progress On BMD Mediation By UDC








Following numerous media enquiries on the progress made so far and the huge public interest in the matter, we would to share with the nation the latest developments.

On August 22, the NEC met with the Ndaba Gaolathe-led team and received their version of the genesis of the BMD conflicts.  

The meeting was characterised by comradely frankness and sincere engagement on the nature and extent of the conflict, to the extent that the NEC was presented with a full narration of what the group perceives to be the key areas of tension. We are satisfied that the meeting achieved the purpose for which it was convened.On September 4, the NEC will meet the Sidney Pilane-led team of the BMD.  

Like the meeting of August 22, the primary purpose of the meeting will be to accord the group an opportunity to present

Banners

its views on the root problems that have bedevilled the BMD. We have no doubt that the meeting will proceed smoothly as the team has accepted our intervention.

Once the NEC has concluded its meetings with the two teams, it will further engage them on available options for restoring stability within the BMD.  

The UDC is founded on the principle of unity of opposition parties and it’s in our strategic interest to ensure that this unity is prevalent within our member parties.

The NEC has appealed to the two BMD groupings to exercise patience and restraint to allow room for meaningful engagement and repprochement..

All focus should be on attaining organisational coherence for the BMD and the protection of its interests. We will continue to provide updates as and when there is meaningful progress on this issue.

Moeti Mohwasa

UDC Communications Head.

Banners
Banners
Banners


Opinion & Analysis
Mon 28 Aug 2017, 16:39 pm
Mon 28 Aug 2017, 16:21 pm
Mon 21 Aug 2017, 16:08 pm
Mon 14 Aug 2017, 16:02 pm
Mon 07 Aug 2017, 16:34 pm
Mon 31 Jul 2017, 16:19 pm
Mon 24 Jul 2017, 15:28 pm
Mon 24 Jul 2017, 15:19 pm
Wed 19 Jul 2017, 13:50 pm
Wed 19 Jul 2017, 11:20 am
Wed 19 Jul 2017, 11:15 am
Mon 10 Jul 2017, 15:16 pm
Tue 04 Jul 2017, 16:05 pm
Tue 04 Jul 2017, 16:02 pm
Mon 26 Jun 2017, 15:30 pm
Mon 26 Jun 2017, 15:29 pm
Mon 19 Jun 2017, 16:37 pm
Mon 19 Jun 2017, 16:33 pm
Mon 12 Jun 2017, 15:26 pm
Mon 05 Jun 2017, 16:53 pm
Mon 05 Jun 2017, 13:54 pm
Mon 29 May 2017, 15:40 pm
Mon 15 May 2017, 15:52 pm
Mon 08 May 2017, 15:34 pm
Tue 02 May 2017, 15:52 pm
Banners
Banners
Exchange Rates
FOREIGN EXCHANGE: Thursday, 21 Sep 2017
FOREIGN / PULA
PULA / FOREIGN
1 USD = Pula   10.2249
1 GBP = Pula   13.7931
1 EUR = Pula   12.1507
1 YEN = Pula   0.0909
1 ZAR = Pula   0.7659
1 Pula = USD   0.0978
1 Pula = GBP   0.0725
1 Pula = EUR   0.0823
1 Pula = YEN   11
1 Pula = ZAR   1.3056
have a story? Send us a Tip
Banners
  • Previous
    American Assassin
    Next
    Masa Centre
    ::: Friday 15 Sep - Thursday 21 Sep :::
    American Assassin
    It
    The Dark Tower
    Logan Lucky
  • Previous
    American Assassin
    Next
    Riverwalk
    ::: Friday 15 Sep - Thursday 21 Sep :::
    American Assassin
    Home Again
    Logan Lucky
    The Dark Tower
  • Previous
    Home Again
    Next
    Gamecity
    ::: Friday 15 Sep - Thursday 21 Sep :::
    Home Again
    American Assassin
    The Dark Tower
    Logan Lucky
    The Son of Bigfoot
    Girls Trip
Selefu
UDC
Banners
Banners