Mmegi Blogs :: Why read?
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Last Updated
Tuesday 20 November 2018, 13:46 pm.
Banners
Why read?

In interviews and when I am on panels at literary festivals I am often asked about the importance of reading, especially for writers. For me it seems crazy that a person would choose not to read, especially fiction.
By Lauri Kubuitsile Fri 25 Aug 2017, 16:09 pm (GMT +2)
Mmegi Blogs :: Why read?








From as soon as I learned to read I knew that books held thousands and thousands of lives that I could step into just by opening the covers. I have never understood a person who would choose to live a single life when they could live hundreds of different lives. And as for a writer who does not read - for me that is a person who cannot be taken seriously. Books are your school. You can attend as many writing workshops and MFA programmes as you like, but if you do not read, your writing will show it. It makes no sense to me.

I decided to ask some of my writing friends the question: “Why read?” Below are their beautiful answers.  “To develop a critical skeleton. As someone who struggles to read recreationally, preferring theory or critical opinion driven writing, I read because it keeps me thinking of multiple approaches to subjects. However, when I do sit with a casual book, it also adds to my conception of self and my library of imagery, metaphors, and expressions. It gives me the opportunity to discover how other people express things that I have felt or experienced but never had the words to use. That’s why, for me, reading is necessary.”

- Katlego K Kol-Kes, poet, performer, and writer “Reading is mind-food, and the only key to the encyclopaedia of life. One must read, the same way one eats nutrients. Without a nutritious diet, malnutrition sets in, and so it is with the mind; it deteriorates for lack of feeding.

Today’s healthy and successful lifestyle is in the written word; that’s our life manual for raising children, successful relationships, wellbeing, wealth creation etc. Your mind has limitless growth for success when you read, but when deprived of such feeding, it

Banners

only grows into a vegetable.

Reading is an acquired excellent habit that is easy to develop; start slowly and watch your interest grow.” - Andrew Sesinyi, writer “I’ve been to France under Louis the XVI; the Caribbean in the late 19th Century; India in the glory days of the Maharajas; America as it was “discovered” and Botswana before it was a Protectorate of the British Crown.

I have also been to the future. And yet I was born in 1976.  Why read?  “Because reading carries you to lands unknown in the past and worlds not yet seen in the future. In the present though, reading takes you to countries you may not be able to afford to go to and then you realise how we all love, laugh, hurt and ache. Reading shows you that the other may just not so much be another but a lot like you.

That someone somewhere has experienced the struggles you have which you assume are unique to you. I read because I seek to understand.”- Zukiswa Wanner, writer “Reading is especially imperative for writers for the simple reason that you can’t write if you don’t read. Writers must be readers and they must do so intensely… and extensively!”- Barolong Seboni, poet and writer “Reading is an escape that allows me to travel anywhere in the world and intimately know a people, culture, food and walk with the locals.

It is a great workout for the brain, entertaining and greatly increases knowledge.” - Caiphus Mangenela, writer “Read to understand yourself and others, to investigate human nature, to experience the full spectrum of human emotion, to develop empathy and compassion, to see different perspectives, to learn new things, to explore new places and to stay sane in an insane world.” - Cheryl Ntumy, writer.

Subscribe to our Newsletter
Banners
Banners
Banners


Its all I write
Fri 25 Aug 2017, 16:09 pm
Fri 18 Aug 2017, 15:40 pm
Fri 11 Aug 2017, 15:32 pm
Fri 04 Aug 2017, 14:55 pm
Fri 28 Jul 2017, 15:37 pm
Fri 21 Jul 2017, 15:22 pm
Fri 14 Jul 2017, 17:06 pm
Fri 07 Jul 2017, 17:46 pm
Fri 30 Jun 2017, 18:57 pm
Fri 23 Jun 2017, 14:43 pm
Fri 16 Jun 2017, 18:17 pm
Fri 09 Jun 2017, 16:52 pm
Fri 02 Jun 2017, 16:25 pm
Fri 26 May 2017, 15:47 pm
Fri 19 May 2017, 12:27 pm
Fri 12 May 2017, 11:55 am
Fri 05 May 2017, 14:32 pm
Fri 28 Apr 2017, 14:21 pm
Fri 21 Apr 2017, 17:33 pm
Fri 07 Apr 2017, 18:29 pm
Fri 31 Mar 2017, 16:17 pm
Fri 24 Mar 2017, 15:36 pm
Fri 17 Mar 2017, 16:20 pm
Fri 10 Mar 2017, 15:47 pm
Fri 03 Mar 2017, 15:53 pm
Banners
Banners
Subscribe to our Newsletter
have a story? Send us a Tip
Banners
  • Previous
    Next
    Masa Centre
    ::: Wednesday 21 Nov - Wednesday 21 Nov :::
  • Previous
    Next
    Riverwalk
    ::: Wednesday 21 Nov - Wednesday 21 Nov :::
  • Previous
    Next
    Gamecity
    ::: Wednesday 21 Nov - Wednesday 21 Nov :::
Selefu
Judges
Banners
Banners
istanbul escort