Mmegi Blogs :: Itís Like Herding Cats
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Last Updated
Wednesday 23 August 2017, 06:00 am.
Banners
Itís Like Herding Cats

I think that Iíve finally learned my lessonówriters cannot be organised. Itís much easier to herd cats than to get writers to a certain place, at a certain time, for a certain activity.
By Lauri Kubuitsile Fri 11 Aug 2017, 15:32 pm (GMT +2)
Mmegi Blogs :: Itís Like Herding Cats








Admittedly anyone who has worked with me knows I prefer the world be an organised place where when something is supposed to happen it happens. Perhaps this inflexibility is a flaw. If a meeting is scheduled for a certain time and I say I can attend, I attend, unless I’m nearly dead, and sometimes even then. If I say I’m going to do something, I do it. But I’ve found that these traits are not so common among writers, I might be a bit of an oddball. Maybe my oddball perspective is the problem here, I don’t know.

For some years I was on the executive of the Writers Association of Botswana (WABO).  It’s always been clear to me that the writers we have in Botswana are mostly inexperienced and not well-versed on the ins and outs of publishing and writing. This has hindered them from having very much solid success.

So at WABO one of the important aspects for me was education. The executive held workshops in Gaborone inviting various resource people who spoke on different aspects of writing and publishing. Surprisingly, despite the fact that I get nearly daily emails and messages asking very basic publishing questions, few writers could get themselves to these workshops. This was quite disappointing.

After leaving WABO, I was told one of the problems was money, and that many very interested writers could not travel to Gaborone for these workshops. So I decided I should perhaps start a club for writers in Mahalapye. It would be closer for writers in the area.

It took some time to get started, but I finally did it.

I tried to get the word out all over: in this column, fliers around Mahalapye, on social media. I had people contacting me, even coming to my house, saying that for sure they wanted be part of the club.

Banners

I was hopeful.

At the first meeting, we had six people; none of them were people who had contacted me before the meeting promising that they would attend. The second meeting we had an attendance of zero not counting me.

I thought, fair enough, if writers have no use for a club, I’m fine with that. I was only offering help and I have all sorts of things to do on a Saturday afternoon. So I thought it would die a natural death and that would be the end of it.

Almost as soon as I made that decision, people started contacting me asking when the next meeting was.

I told them there was no next meeting. They begged me please to give it another go. People really needed this club. They would come. They would bring their friends.

I said okay fine. No problem. I will try it once more. If people are there, we continue, but if no one comes, then it’s over.

So I pitch up at the venue. I play exactly one full Sit and Go poker tournament on my phone, taking 30 minutes, and not a single person appears. So I go back home.

Honestly, I have no problem with this situation. In general, I have hermit-tendencies and prefer not to do such things. I just felt I should make an effort especially since I said I would.

So, there is still the column that hopefully goes some way to educate writers about how to get on in this business.

I hope it helps to bridge the gap in knowledge, helps new writers to avoid some common mistakes, and guides them to find ways to navigate this sometimes dangerous and often demoralising writing world. But I think I’m done now with trying to organise writers. I’ve tried, and I’ve failed. Time to move on to easier things.

Banners
Banners
Banners


Its all I write
Fri 11 Aug 2017, 15:32 pm
Fri 04 Aug 2017, 14:55 pm
Fri 28 Jul 2017, 15:37 pm
Fri 21 Jul 2017, 15:22 pm
Fri 14 Jul 2017, 17:06 pm
Fri 07 Jul 2017, 17:46 pm
Fri 30 Jun 2017, 18:57 pm
Fri 23 Jun 2017, 14:43 pm
Fri 16 Jun 2017, 18:17 pm
Fri 09 Jun 2017, 16:52 pm
Fri 02 Jun 2017, 16:25 pm
Fri 26 May 2017, 15:47 pm
Fri 19 May 2017, 12:27 pm
Fri 12 May 2017, 11:55 am
Fri 05 May 2017, 14:32 pm
Fri 28 Apr 2017, 14:21 pm
Fri 21 Apr 2017, 17:33 pm
Fri 07 Apr 2017, 18:29 pm
Fri 31 Mar 2017, 16:17 pm
Fri 24 Mar 2017, 15:36 pm
Fri 17 Mar 2017, 16:20 pm
Fri 10 Mar 2017, 15:47 pm
Fri 03 Mar 2017, 15:53 pm
Fri 24 Feb 2017, 16:57 pm
Fri 17 Feb 2017, 11:28 am
Banners
Banners
Exchange Rates
FOREIGN EXCHANGE: Wednesday, 23 Aug 2017
FOREIGN / PULA
PULA / FOREIGN
1 USD = Pula   10.2249
1 GBP = Pula   13.1062
1 EUR = Pula   12.0192
1 YEN = Pula   0.0935
1 ZAR = Pula   0.7728
1 Pula = USD   0.0978
1 Pula = GBP   0.0763
1 Pula = EUR   0.0832
1 Pula = YEN   10.7
1 Pula = ZAR   1.294
have a story? Send us a Tip
Banners
  • Previous
    The Hitman
    Next
    Masa Centre
    ::: Friday 18 Aug - Thursday 24 Aug :::
    The Hitman's Bodyguard
    Annabelle: Creation
    Detroit
    The Son of Bigfoot
    Girls Trip
  • Previous
    Detroit
    Next
    Riverwalk
    ::: Friday 18 Aug - Thursday 24 Aug :::
    Detroit
    The Hitman's Bodyguard
    The Son of Bigfoot
    Baby Driver
    Girls Trip
  • Previous
    Annabelle: Creation
    Next
    Gamecity
    ::: Friday 18 Aug - Thursday 24 Aug :::
    Annabelle: Creation
    The Hitman's Bodyguard
    Detroit
    The Son of Bigfoot
    Snatched
    Girls Trip
Selefu
The Bishop Scandal
Banners
Banners