The Monitor :: Young Actors Showcase Storytelling Talent
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Last Updated
Tuesday 25 June 2019, 16:19 pm.
Banners
Young Actors Showcase Storytelling Talent

The Maitisong Theatre hall was fully packed last Friday as viewers witnessed Form Two students being assessed on acting and storytelling.
By Oleosi Kgosi Mon 31 Jul 2017, 18:00 pm (GMT +2)
The Monitor :: Young Actors Showcase Storytelling Talent








The Maru-a-Pula theatre students presented eight stories of which they performed.  The stories were: The Hidden Princess, Tree Of Love, Pig Party, ‘Dimo’, The Return, Slender Boy, Be Careful What You Wish For as well as Aladdin. The stories were a range of folk tales and had elements of humour, heartbreak, fiction and dance. There were eight groups that performed for the eight pieces respectively. 

The students are the ones who formulated the plays for themselves.   The assessment was mainly carried out to help theatre students explore and build up on their ability of storytelling look realistic. The students were assessed based on the criteria they were able to put themselves in the character’s shoes and display what the character is all about.  The teachers also looked at the proper usage of props on stage and the cooperation of characters on stage. 

The students were urged to rehearse thoroughly and avoid unnecessary moments on

Banners

stage, which invite disturbance and distraction on the play. The crowd was very responsive, applauding the students on their ability to project their voices well while acting and interacting with the audience during performance. 

The students were also encouraged to treat theatre as a lifestyle and to always practice being in character at least once a day since this would help them improve their craft. One of the students, Katso Magapa highlighted that the theatre project assists them to learn from their mistakes and build on their strengths and development. 

“We are able to act in front of people and this was very difficult for us when we started, he said. “We also did our best as we are very passionate about acting and also ensure that we pass our project assessment.”  

He added that they did not have enough time to rehearse on their plays as they only began three weeks ago.

 

Subscribe to our Newsletter
Banners
Banners
Banners


Lifestyle
Mon 31 Jul 2017, 18:00 pm
Mon 24 Jul 2017, 18:00 pm
Mon 24 Jul 2017, 14:49 pm
Wed 19 Jul 2017, 18:00 pm
Wed 19 Jul 2017, 13:36 pm
Mon 10 Jul 2017, 18:00 pm
Mon 10 Jul 2017, 15:09 pm
Tue 04 Jul 2017, 17:00 pm
Tue 04 Jul 2017, 17:00 pm
Mon 26 Jun 2017, 18:00 pm
Mon 19 Jun 2017, 18:00 pm
Mon 12 Jun 2017, 15:18 pm
Mon 12 Jun 2017, 15:16 pm
Mon 05 Jun 2017, 16:16 pm
Mon 29 May 2017, 18:00 pm
Mon 29 May 2017, 15:31 pm
Mon 22 May 2017, 18:00 pm
Mon 22 May 2017, 14:59 pm
Mon 15 May 2017, 18:00 pm
Mon 15 May 2017, 15:24 pm
Mon 08 May 2017, 18:00 pm
Mon 08 May 2017, 15:16 pm
Tue 02 May 2017, 18:00 pm
Tue 02 May 2017, 15:38 pm
Mon 24 Apr 2017, 18:00 pm
Banners
Banners
Subscribe to our Newsletter
have a story? Send us a Tip
Banners
  • Previous
    Toy Story 4
    Next
    Masa Centre
    ::: Friday 21 Jun - Thursday 27 Jun :::
    Toy Story 4
    Booksmart
    Men in Black: International
    X-Men: Dark Phoenix
  • Previous
    X-Men: Dark Phoenix
    Next
    Riverwalk
    ::: Monday 17 Jun - Saturday 17 Jun :::
    X-Men: Dark Phoenix
    Men in Black: International
    Toy Story 4
    John Wick: Chapter 3 - Parabellum
    X-Men: Dark Phoenix
  • Previous
    Booksmart
    Next
    Gamecity
    ::: Friday 21 Jun - Thursday 27 Jun :::
    Booksmart
    Toy Story 4
    Men in Black: International
Selefu
Exodus
Banners

gramstalker

Banners