The Monitor :: Use Of Social Media As A Marketing Tool
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Last Updated
Friday 25 May 2018, 14:11 pm.
Banners
Use Of Social Media As A Marketing Tool

Last week social media was very busy, thanks to a Facebook post by a local journalist who promised readers dirt on opposition leaders. The post by the journalist read: ďFor the longest time we have exposed the BDP and its leaders.
By Monitor Editor Mon 24 Jul 2017, 11:39 am (GMT +2)
The Monitor :: Use Of Social Media As A Marketing Tool








We are now going to expose opposition leaders. Batswana are going to be shocked and disappointed. I want to weep for my people. I want to weep for my country. Perhaps I should add to answer those who question the timing: For the longest time sources have been forthcoming with BDP rot. Now sources are coming out with opposition rot. We rely on sources and their timing”.

The statement received many likes, shares, and started an interesting and eye opening debate. Some felt the journalist was in the wrong, while others did not see anything wrong with the post. In short those who felt that the journalist was wrong, basically, said it was unethical for him to share the post, and viewed his post as a threat, while those who did not find anything wrong with the post, felt it was a promise.

While social media has been around for quite sometime now, there seem to be a lot of confusion surrounding the use of social media, or how print media should utilise social media to

Banners

their advantage. Print media houses are in business, and would like to realise profit, just like any other business, and as such are always looking for innovative ways to sell their product (s), and Facebook is one of the many platforms used for such purposes.

Social media marketing encourages online interaction between customers and businesses. This interaction, will not only promote the product, and tease potential buyers into waiting for the next edition with baited breath, it will also start a debate, which can help the media house to improve their services.

It is common knowledge, that some of the Facebook commentators, are just there for likes, and never really, offer constructive criticism, but there are some whose comments can assist media houses in taking stock.

We all know the importance of balancing stories, and verifying information we get from our sources, and one of the biggest challenges with social media, is the pressure to break a story before anybody else, which in some cases may lead to people peddling unfounded allegations about certain individuals.

Subscribe to our Newsletter
Banners
Banners
Banners


Editorial
Mon 24 Jul 2017, 11:39 am
Mon 10 Jul 2017, 11:19 am
Tue 04 Jul 2017, 16:07 pm
Mon 26 Jun 2017, 11:29 am
Mon 19 Jun 2017, 11:39 am
Mon 12 Jun 2017, 15:23 pm
Mon 05 Jun 2017, 17:05 pm
Mon 29 May 2017, 11:57 am
Mon 22 May 2017, 11:11 am
Mon 15 May 2017, 11:57 am
Mon 08 May 2017, 11:38 am
Tue 02 May 2017, 11:56 am
Mon 24 Apr 2017, 11:07 am
Mon 10 Apr 2017, 11:51 am
Mon 03 Apr 2017, 11:03 am
Mon 27 Mar 2017, 11:30 am
Mon 20 Mar 2017, 11:43 am
Mon 13 Mar 2017, 11:37 am
Mon 06 Mar 2017, 11:34 am
Mon 27 Feb 2017, 12:10 pm
Mon 20 Feb 2017, 11:36 am
Mon 13 Feb 2017, 16:12 pm
Mon 06 Feb 2017, 11:13 am
Mon 30 Jan 2017, 13:48 pm
Mon 23 Jan 2017, 11:26 am
Banners
Banners
Exchange Rates
FOREIGN EXCHANGE: Wednesday, 17 Jan 2018
FOREIGN / PULA
PULA / FOREIGN
1 USD = Pula   9.7656
1 GBP = Pula   13.4590
1 EUR = Pula   11.9617
1 YEN = Pula   0.0882
1 ZAR = Pula   0.7938
1 Pula = USD   0.1024
1 Pula = GBP   0.0743
1 Pula = EUR   0.0836
1 Pula = YEN   11.34
1 Pula = ZAR   1.2597
Subscribe to our Newsletter
have a story? Send us a Tip
Banners
  • Previous
    Solo: A Star Wars Story
    Next
    Masa Centre
    ::: Friday 25 May - Thursday 31 May :::
    Solo: A Star Wars Story
    Deadpool 2
    Life of the Party
    Sherlock Gnomes
    Avengers: Infinity War
  • Previous
    Deadpool 2
    Next
    Riverwalk
    ::: Friday 25 May - Thursday 31 May :::
    Deadpool 2
    Solo: A Star Wars Story
    Sherlock Gnomes
    Avengers: Infinity War
  • Previous
    Life of the Party
    Next
    Gamecity
    ::: Friday 25 May - Thursday 31 May :::
    Life of the Party
    Solo: A Star Wars Story
    Deadpool 2
    Sherlock Gnomes
    Avengers: Infinity War
Selefu
BDP Chairman
Banners
Banners
istanbul escort