Mmegi Blogs :: Itís time to evaluate the Presidentís Day Competitions
Banners
Banners
Banners
Banners
Last Updated
Friday 21 September 2018, 15:09 pm.
Banners
Itís time to evaluate the Presidentís Day Competitions

Some years ago when the Presidentís Day Competitions were just starting out I sat in a meeting with a variety of artists from various fields to discuss some policy on the arts that seems to have ended up in the ďarts policy dustbinĒ.
By Lauri Kubuitsile Fri 21 Jul 2017, 15:22 pm (GMT +2)
Mmegi Blogs :: Itís time to evaluate the Presidentís Day Competitions








What I remember, though, from that meeting was a woman saying that the President’s Day Competitions would not grow the arts in any way. She said that it was just the paying out of money to people, nothing more. She felt the government was going down the wrong track.

At the time I disagreed with her. In every field within the arts, money is an issue. An artist, be the person a painter, a writer, a singer or a poet, either has to hustle incessantly or they must have a day job. The constant fight to survive is the biggest barrier to producing good art. I knew from my personal experience as a writer that money for an artist means time, time to devote to your art, and that can only be a good thing. It’s what would allow our artists to up their game, to gain in professionalism, to educate themselves, and  to have sustainable success inside and outside our borders. At the time I believed in the President’s Day Competitions and I was hopeful that it was the beginning of everything. I think now I was wrong.

I think it’s time to step back and take a serious look at the objectives of these competitions, the amount of money that is spent, and the outcome. Is it worth it? Have past winners shown growth in their field? Are the judging criteria correct so as to choose the artists with real potential or are the criteria based on alternative objectives?

I ask these questions because I wonder after all of these years: where are these artists? What you find is that they appear for the competitions and then seem to disappear until the next year’s competitions. Have they made any headway in making their art a more sustainable project?

Banners

Have they gained in professionalism? How many of them have had success outside of our borders? Art is global and without making that leap, how can these winners know where they stand? Is it okay to win the President’s Day Competitions each year and show nothing else of significance on your CV?

Don’t get me wrong, I think it’s very important to have nation-wide competitions in the arts so that we know where we are and to reward excellence. But I wonder if the time and energy spent on these competitions is worth it. Has the arts industry in the country shown growth or improvement as a result of the competitions over these last ten or so years?

I think artists should be asking these hard questions. I think it’s time for assessment.

There was talk once of setting up an Arts Council, I’m not sure where that idea disappeared to, but I think it needs to be resurrected. An Arts Council with a board made of practicing, accomplished artists from each sector, with that so important distance from government, I believe is a much better way to manage the minimal money the government has for the arts.

I realise that the President’s Day Competitions make the government appear as if they have a stake in the arts, but if you’re pouring money into a project that results in no real improvement except to prepare the artist to win the next year’s competition, it is nothing more than another scheme that grows dependency instead of independence, and independence is what the arts need to be vibrant and sustainable.

For the next few columns I want to take a look at some arts councils around the world and how we might pick and choose from their successes and avoid their failures.

Subscribe to our Newsletter
Banners
Banners
Banners


Its all I write
Fri 21 Jul 2017, 15:22 pm
Fri 14 Jul 2017, 17:06 pm
Fri 07 Jul 2017, 17:46 pm
Fri 30 Jun 2017, 18:57 pm
Fri 23 Jun 2017, 14:43 pm
Fri 16 Jun 2017, 18:17 pm
Fri 09 Jun 2017, 16:52 pm
Fri 02 Jun 2017, 16:25 pm
Fri 26 May 2017, 15:47 pm
Fri 19 May 2017, 12:27 pm
Fri 12 May 2017, 11:55 am
Fri 05 May 2017, 14:32 pm
Fri 28 Apr 2017, 14:21 pm
Fri 21 Apr 2017, 17:33 pm
Fri 07 Apr 2017, 18:29 pm
Fri 31 Mar 2017, 16:17 pm
Fri 24 Mar 2017, 15:36 pm
Fri 17 Mar 2017, 16:20 pm
Fri 10 Mar 2017, 15:47 pm
Fri 03 Mar 2017, 15:53 pm
Fri 24 Feb 2017, 16:57 pm
Fri 17 Feb 2017, 11:28 am
Fri 10 Feb 2017, 11:34 am
Fri 03 Feb 2017, 17:06 pm
Fri 27 Jan 2017, 16:06 pm
Banners
Banners
Exchange Rates
FOREIGN EXCHANGE: Wednesday, 17 Jan 2018
FOREIGN / PULA
PULA / FOREIGN
1 USD = Pula   9.7656
1 GBP = Pula   13.4590
1 EUR = Pula   11.9617
1 YEN = Pula   0.0882
1 ZAR = Pula   0.7938
1 Pula = USD   0.1024
1 Pula = GBP   0.0743
1 Pula = EUR   0.0836
1 Pula = YEN   11.34
1 Pula = ZAR   1.2597
Subscribe to our Newsletter
have a story? Send us a Tip
Banners
  • Previous
    Next
    Masa Centre
    ::: Sunday 23 Sep - Sunday 23 Sep :::
  • Previous
    Next
    Riverwalk
    ::: Sunday 23 Sep - Sunday 23 Sep :::
  • Previous
    The Meg
    Next
    Gamecity
    ::: Friday 10 Aug - Sunday 07 Aug :::
    The Meg
Selefu
Maruping go a boelwa.
Banners
Banners
istanbul escort